We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An oasis during a challenging time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jesse H. Jones Rotary House International
Ranked #82 of 504 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“An oasis during a challenging time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2012

My husband and I stayed in a kitchenette suite for 3 weeks in November while he was recovering from brain surgery. The hotel is owned by MD Anderson and managed by Marriott so it was a perfect blend of medical care and hospitality. The hotel is only for MD Anderson patients and their families, and the staff goes out of their way to try to make you feel at home. It is located across the street from the hospital/clinic and is connected by a skybridge so it doesn't get more convenient than that. And the price is comparable to (or less than) other hotels in the area.

The rooms furnishings are starting to look a little bit worn but I understand there is a renovation scheduled for the near future. However everything was impeccably clean. The hotel amenities include everything you would expect in a 4 or 5 star hotel (ie - pool, health club, business center, onsite restaurant, gift shop, etc.) but what sets this hotel apart is how it seamlessly interweaves with the MD Anderson complex. There is a guest relations office just off the lobby where you can get medical information, patient schedules, or even just movies to watch in your room. There is also an onsite lab for bloodwork so you don't have to go all the way to the hospital for a blood draw. And everything is handicapped-accessible from the rooms to the layout of the tables in the restaurant. And there are several quiet areas where you can go to just sit peacefully for a while. Or you can participate in the daily activities such as bingo or movie night if you want to be around people and socialize. They have truly thought of everything to make life easier for both the patients and the caregivers.

I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who will be undergoing any kind of treatment at MD Anderson. Being able to stay here made our lives significantly easier during a very challenging time. And the fact that you can stay someplace where nobody gives you a second glance if you are in a wheelchair with a big scar on your head easily earns this hotel a 5th star.

Room Tip: If you are going to be there for more than a couple of days it is well worth paying a little extra t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JH1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    38
    9
    8
    3
See reviews for
71
32
18
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mineral Bluff, Georgia
Level Contributor
243 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2012

We stayed there for 4 nights recently. We were very pleased with the hotel. It is clean, well lit, very well managed, and reasonably priced. It is adjacent to and physically connected to the MD Anderson Cancer Center, and could not be more convenient. There is a fine restaurant and gift shops, as well as several very convenient eateries. Staff are very helpful and friendly, and parking is plentiful, with valet parking available at the front door. The rooms and beds are exceptionally comfortable, and our room had a small refrigerator as well. If you need to stay at MD Anderson, even for a night, this should be your first choice.

Room Tip: There are 3 elevators so it does not matter which floor you stay on. The restaurant and connection t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thibodaux, Louisiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

The stress of being a cancer patient or caregiver can be quite frightening, confusing, and exhausting. The massive property of MD Anderson, in Houston's Medical Center, is often difficult for "newbies" to navigate. Rotary House, a Marriot Hotel, offers covenient and comfortable lodging for individuals and families who are involved in the treatment process. Some of the valuable amenities and services I've accessed are: On-site lab for bloodwork, etc.; Restaurant and Deli; Shuttle bus; Gymn; Office Machines for guest use; Kitchenettes; Concierge services; Optional valet parking; and, a lounge area with entertainment and other activities. Although a little pricey, it is well worth the extra expense to be greeted by professional staff who are warm and welcoming. The skywalk to the clinics and hospital provides security and comfort. After numerous stays at this hotel, I highly recommend it to anyone undergoing testing or treatment at MD Anderson or the Texas Medical Center.

Room Tip: After numerous trips, I've never had any significant problems with my room. Minor problems were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CBT48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

We learned about this hotel which is owned by MD Anderson and managed by Marriott, Int. in February, 2011. I had been diagnosed with lymphoma and unable to find treatment in Michigan because of an another health issue. While looking for somewhere to stay during the week we would be in Houston for testing, consultations with a lymphoma specialist, and staging of my cancer, I learned about the Rotary House online.

We have been extremely appreciative of the staff. In fact, while waiting to speak to someone at the front desk, my husband, an RN observed a lady faint. As he approached to assist her employees from everywhere swooped in and did everything appropriate. When he told the lady at the desk how impressed he was she told him "we are not just hotel employees, we are also trained to respond to emergencies and provide first aid and CPR if needed. Our customers are patients and their families". Each of th 7 times we have traveled from Michigan to MD Anderson for re-staging of my lymphoma we discuss looking for perhaps a less expensive hotel remember that quick response.

Their staff speak many languages and multi-cultural. People come from all over the country and all over the world. The hotel is connected to the hospital by a skywalk that is enclosed. Their is a restaurant with several outlets on the way to the hospital, a gift shop, ice cream and coffee shop, room service,etc. A free shuttle will take guests to many places within a 2 mile radius such as places to eat & shop, museums and the zoo.

Staff in the Patient Guest Relations office speak many languages and help patients with many things such as informational packets, orientation, a free video lending library, books for learning about your illness to borrow as well as to pass the time. They assist guests who come without someone, and suggest things to do in the time you are not at hospital appointments,

There is a room with many computers and a copier and fax machine without charge, a lounge to enjoy movies and popcorn or watch television or even play the piano. There are activities and entertainment in the lobby, and even a place to have your blood drawn in the afternoon and evening. We always request a room with a microwave, toaster and refrigerator. While I am having several hours of testing my husband takes the shuttle to a grocery store for items to make in our room.

After making reservations for our last visit in September, I received an email confirmation and a list of other things I could request such as extra hangars, food items in the room after check-in, etc.

Even though we didn't want to be here, the Rotary House staff made us feel welcome.

Room Tip: Rooms with a small kitchen are very helpful and you save money by fixing some of your own meals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kathi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012

On behalf of my parents, I'd like to thank the Rotary House for providing a comfortable, convenient, and safe stay for my parents while they visited me at MD Anderson. Originally, they had made reservations at a place I didn't feel would be good for them, so I did some research and came across Rotary. Overall, the staff treated them well (except for one rude waiter, who was dealt with); their room was clean; they didn't have to drive around in the confusing Med Center. My only concern is that it was hard to find a shuttle driver who was willing to drive them to Bldg G, where I was recovering. My parents are in their 70's and it was a difficult walk from Bldg A. More of the shuttle service employees need to be more sensitive and courteous (how would they want their parents to be treated?), like the one driver. Anyway, I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is visiting a loved one in the hospital. It's a beautiful and uplifting environment.

Room Tip: If you are visiting a loved one who s staying at MD Anderson, be sure to request the family discount...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gitiim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

If you are in need of a hotel in the Houston medical center, this is the one. Extremely friendly staff, very clean. Especially suitable for MD Anderson visitors, you never need to go outside to reach your department, parking is plentiful

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank britex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

The Rotary House, as it is usually referred to, is located across the street from the main building of M.D. Anderson. You can walk across a skybridge to the various buildings. It has a full-service restaurant with some adjacent quick-serve places that cater mostly to medical center employees.

Amenities include indoor pool, good quality fitness center and medical library. Very useful is the free shuttle that goes to Rice Village (restaurants, shopping) and other nearby stores like Target, drug and grocery stores.

If you or your companions have some downtime Hermann Park is a short walk away (walking, running, zoo, golf course, amphitheater, natural history museum with IMAX theater). Also near the park is The Children's Museum of Houston and Rice University campus. Other sites certainly worth a visit include NASA's Johnson Space Center, Museum of Fine Arts Houston, The Menil Collection and University of St. Thomas Houston.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank FosterMascot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Medical Center
Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites
Medical Center
Houston Marriott Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jesse H. Jones Rotary House International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jesse H. Jones Rotary House International

Property: Jesse H. Jones Rotary House International
Address: 1600 Holcombe Blvd, Houston, TX 77030-4012
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Medical Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Houston
#27 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#98 Business Hotel in Houston
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jesse H. Jones Rotary House International 3.5*
Number of rooms: 322
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott so you can book your Jesse H. Jones Rotary House International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jesse h. Jones Rotary House International Hotel Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing