We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jesse H. Jones Rotary House International
Ranked #78 of 506 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Dauphin Island, AL
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location!”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We've spent 3 weeks here over a period of 3 visits. This hotel is very clean, centrally located to the medical centers, and has easy access to several nice restaurants. The pool and its tranquil atmosphere is the best we've ever experienced in any hotel. The gym is superior with extra amenities for guests. Live entertainment in the lobby can't be topped. This is a very accommodating hotel. If we were to return, we wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: The suites with the kitchen are very convenient and saves on eating out as much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    40
    9
    8
    3
See reviews for
71
35
18
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denton, Texas, Usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We have stayed at this property many times, and always appreciate the proximity to MDA most of all. It's nice to be able to just walk 'home' when you're done with a long day of testing/apptmts! They also have a terrific pool/workout facility and cozy bar/restaurant on-site. We won't stay anywhere else now when we go to MDA.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

As the title said, there are no other substitute for the convenience of staying in the Rotary House if you're a patient of MDAndeson cancer center. The convenience of staying in the middle of the connected fully covered bridge to Main Hospital and May Clinic is unbelievable helpful. The cost is actually much cheaper than Marriott, Hilton or Wynham. The hotel is beautiful, very nice lobby, patient services, business center with computers and printer, Mayfair room lounge to relax and watch movies, heated indoor pool, hot tub, nice gym with cold towel, water and fruit basket. There is even lab in the hotel to take blood test, etc. There is complimentary shuttle to shopping restaurants, and zoo and museum within 2 miles radius. Staff is courteous and accommodating..As we need to extend our stay, they do meet our need. As long as you're (or relative) is an MDAnderson patient with MRN they will fit you in to the best that they could. The hotel restaurant (Oak Restaurant) is very convenience and serving variety of food and changing its buffet every night.. Besides they have plenty of outlets (pizza, pasta, sandwich, salads,bar, coffee bar, ice-cream, yogurt and gift shop). We survived our 3 week stay with Rotary House for hundreds of trip back and forth from the clinic and main hospital. Without Rotary house, the experience with definitely much more painful. We hope that you don't have to come to MDAnderson as a patient or relative, but if you do please check out this hotel.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank TirelessDragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fulshear, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

After a long day at MDA the Rotary House is a great place to eat, relax, and rest.. The Crosswalk makes it so convenient and easy to walk to MDA regardless of the weather.. The food is good and affordable . The staff provides great service. A life saver for us!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celebrity-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed at another hotel for previous trips to MD Anderson, but decided that when my husband had surgery, we'd stay at the Rotary House because of the convenience to Anderson. Because of complications, we stayed there 2 months and the staff was very accommodating and understanding...they rearranged other reservations so we wouldn't have to pack up and move to other rooms. From the special dinners they made for my husband, having the lab in the lobby to draw blood, having bed side commodes and wheelchairs available, wonderful outdoor area to walk, to the skywalks to hospital and clinics, the Rotary House is the place to stay while at MD Anderson.

On the negative side is the coldness of the entire hotel, and we were there from June to August. Also, the food at the restaurant is a bit pricey and the menu doesn't change. Another thing that was aggravating is that the little convenient type store closes early on Fridays, all day Saturday,and opens late on Sun. This store is extremely handy for quick bites and small items...I think this store should stay open 24 hrs.

We thought about getting a temporary apartment around the medical facility, but a suite at the Rotary House is much better. I cannot begin to tell you how nice is was to be able to leave the hospital, walk over to the hotel(feeling safe and secure), grab a shower, have food and drink in our fridge, and try to unwind for a minute. Also, the extra room is great when the patient is released from the hospital.

Overall, I would say that staying at the Rotary House is the best place for patients and family members while getting treatment at MD Anderson. Whether you're young, old, or somewhere in the middle, staying here is safe and gives you piece of mind during very stressful situations.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NCCajun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I recently accompanied a family member to their appointment at the MD Anderson Clinic. We stayed at the Rotary House, which is managed by Marriott. It is wonderful for location , as you do not have to leave the building to go to the clinics. Restaurants, shops, entertainment, and outdoor seating area's surround the hotel right in the middle of the medical center area.
We were however, very disappointed with the rooms. Beds were horrible, bedspreads were stained and torn, sheets were worn, paint peeling, bathrooms worn, etc. Everything was very clean, but very dated. You need to decide if being do close to the medical facilities is more important than staying in a room that makes you feel better and not worse, as this one did.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank srosenb567_aol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This is a well maintained hotel situated in the heart of the hospital district. The staff is well accustomed to meeting patients of all kinds and their caretakers. They are never too impatient to answer a question, and they remain professional at all times. The lobby is cheerful, and there are often activities and singing, or little musical concerts there. There is a nice business center with ample computers and printers in an office setting. There is a large television room. The rooms are spacious, and if one needs a kitchenette, such is available. The restaurant serves the best breakfast buffet I've ever seen, and they accommodate special diets. There's a little pizza/deli type shop just before the walkway to MD Anderson. There's adequate parking. The walkways go to both the Main Building and Mays Clinic, and there's a shuttle bus to other hospitals. The bus will also take one to restaurants, shops, and pharmacies within a 2-mile radius of the hotel at no charge (It's polite to tip the driver). There is a charge for valet and self parking, but both the room rates and the parking rates are reasonable. I've staid here many times, and it is good for both patients and caretakers. The hotel gives one a printout of appointments at MD Anderson, and there's a nice patient information room including books and DVDs as well as medical information available there.

Room Tip: Have never heard noise here. I believe they are remodeling, so the cheerful atmosphere will be main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Strong1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Medical Center
Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites
Medical Center
Houston Marriott Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jesse H. Jones Rotary House International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jesse H. Jones Rotary House International

Property: Jesse H. Jones Rotary House International
Address: 1600 Holcombe Blvd, Houston, TX 77030-4012
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Medical Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Houston
#27 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#98 Business Hotel in Houston
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jesse H. Jones Rotary House International 3.5*
Number of rooms: 322
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott so you can book your Jesse H. Jones Rotary House International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jesse h. Jones Rotary House International Hotel Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing