We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Houston - Greenway Plaza
Ranked #44 of 511 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
san francisco, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Service!”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The doubletree by hilton is has outstanding service! They recently finished renovating so everything is new and clean. I had my rehearsal dinner there on the 20th floor and everything went perfectly. The view is amazing and the location is central to everything in Houston. Great hotel to stay and to have events.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Judi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkHouston, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Houston - Greenway Plaza, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Great to hear you appreciate the Great Service!

See you back soon.

Mark Yakoubek
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    417
    249
    148
    72
    33
See reviews for
139
125
51
497
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, United States
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Very disorganized team. I don't think I will ever choose this hotel again. I booked the reservation well in advance. Looks like they were overbooked but did not even bother to let me know ahead of time. They made me run around and moved me to a one star hotel without proper facilities. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone or stay in this hotel ever again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Ramesh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkHouston, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Houston - Greenway Plaza, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor after your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback as it assists us on improving our service and quality.

I am sorry for the experience you had. As we manage sold-out nights we do our best to not inconvenience the guest. In your case we obviously failed and for that I am sorry.

I hope you have a chance to experience our hotel again in the future.

Sincerely,

Mark Yakoubek
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clara, California
Level 6 Contributor
408 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This hotel seems to be managed by people that take your business for granted and the front desk staff's apethetic attitude and lack of hospitality seems to reflect this. Stayed her for several nights and while the rooms are adequate, they are nothing special and some of my colleagues rooms were not serviced properly by housekeeping (unmade bed in one case and no bath towels in another). There are lots of good choices of hotels around the Galleria. Take your business where you will be warmly welcomed and appreciated.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkHouston, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Houston - Greenway Plaza, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback. The tired property awakens a little more each day as our multi million dollar renovation comes to a close. Our service standards are always a focus and a reminder like yours helps us keep the attention where it should be.

Best Wishes-

Mark Yakoubek
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

It used to be a Ramada Renaissance Hotel and it is now a Hilton brand hotel. I have stayed here many times and I really enjoy it (still); the rooms are spacious- comfortable- quiet. And the climate control works perfectly which is a great thing as the temperatures can rise pretty high.
Hotelstaff is friendly and helpful (as always).
There were some refurbishings going on in the lobby but hey it is for the better I guess.
I just love the location: first in the basement there is a huge food court . 10 minutes walk from the hotel across the highway there is a shopping centre with a fantastic Kroger supermarket and also 10 minutes walk away there is an Edwards 24 movie theatre complex.Not to forget the Galleria malls for the shopping lovers. All I need is there…
All I need is there

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terrencets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkHouston, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Houston - Greenway Plaza, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Great to hear that we met and surpased all you needs.

We look forward to seeing you back with us soon.

Mark Yakoubek
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The hotel is beautiful, the staff is courteous, but the stay was bad. I had three main problems and one minor. First, the hotel is currently under renovation on the main floor and the walls are paper thin. You could hear drills and hammers all the way to our room on the 15th floor during the day. At night, we listened to a mom spank/abuse her kids because they did not want to take a shower on one side and midnight calls to Sydney, day time in Australia, by a man calling his family on the other side. It was amazing how loud they sounded. My second problem involved getting paid for services honored. I purchased a package that included breakfast for each day of the stay for all members of my party. I never was able to get the lobby staff to give me our breakfast "cards" to indicate a free meal. It was as if the hotel staff had no idea what options/packages are offered online for this hotel. The staff was nice, but very disorganized. I gave up trying to get a "free" breakfast and went to eat some place cheaper nearby. Lastly, ALL my linen and towels were stained and the replacements were the same. A minor inconvenience was the cost for WIFI connection. I am not an inexperienced traveler, but paying for WIFI seemed archaic when so many places offer it for free now. I will end with positives: I am positive I will never go back; the hotel is clean; the overnight parking rate is not unreasonable for self-parking; the staff was friendly and courteous.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RNGretchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkHouston, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Houston - Greenway Plaza, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
We appreciate your feedback for without honest comments like yours, we cannot improve.

I hope you have a chance to stay with us again.

Mark Yakoubek
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Doubletree has done a great job remodeling the rooms. Modern and clean with plenty of outlets for charging, 60in HD TV's and pillows.

Bathroom was a bit small, but that's standard in US Hotels.

They are still working on remodeling the lobby, restaurant and Starbucks.

Great hotel and location, close to Galleria.

BTW - Outdoor pool is great for laps.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank trext2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkHouston, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Houston - Greenway Plaza, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for your comments. My team will appreciate the feedback.

Hope to see you back soon.

Mark Yakoubek
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, United States
1 review
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I had an excellent stay the made my weekend wonderful. I would love to go back if i had any complaints it would be the taxi service. i am an out of town visitor and i had to use the taxi to get to the movie theatre. the man got lost and still charged me for driving in circles. they should make sure there are better drivers available but thats not the hotel's fault. overall it was a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Brandon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkHouston, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Houston - Greenway Plaza, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Brandon,

Thank you for the feedback.

We look forward to your return.

Mark Yakoubek
Rooms Director
Doubletree Greenway Plaza-Houston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Greenway/ Upper Kirby
Courtyard Houston-West University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Modern B&B
#72 of 511 in Houston
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Houston - Greenway Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Houston - Greenway Plaza

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Houston - Greenway Plaza
Address: 6 Greenway Plz, Houston, TX 77046-0601 (Formerly Renaissance Houston Hotel Greenway Plaza)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#44 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#86 Business Hotel in Houston
#94 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Houston - Greenway Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel in Houston, TX, offers spacious, club-style guest rooms, all with floor-to-ceiling windows and impressive views of downtown Houston and River Oaks. All of our rooms have modern amenities and feature plush furnishings, sumptuous bedding, WiFi, a walk-in closet and luxury bathrooms with a separate shower and granite vanities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Houston - Greenway Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Houston
Houston Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing