We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Work in process”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Houston - Greenway Plaza
Ranked #38 of 504 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
92 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Work in process”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

I have stayed at this hotel previously, because my company's Houston office is in Greenway Plaza. In the past, I have been disappointed in hotel (was not a hilton product previously), because it was in need of renovation. Fortunately, that renovation is in process. The room I stayed in was renovated and was nice. While the work is in progress a restaurant and bar are closed. One restaurant is open, which may not be appealing to guests. However, the location was unbeatable for Greenway.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is renovated. Older rooms are very 80s.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cajun_traveler405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkHouston, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Houston - Greenway Plaza, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
We appreciate your feedback. Now that the guest room renovation is complete, our focus is on wrapping up the public area work.

I hope you are back soon to see the finished product.

Mark Yakoubek
Rooms Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    388
    240
    143
    68
    31
See reviews for
128
119
49
476
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
686 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Rooms are awesome, staff is friendly but it is connected to Joel Osteens church and it complicates the parking and the routing during critical evening tmes. The hotel is under renovation so it is difficult to judge their Public rooms. The bar has a very small, limited wine list but the bartenders are first rate......Its a conundrum.

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krandy21784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkHouston, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Houston - Greenway Plaza, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I hope you have a chance to come back and stay with us soon when renovations are complete. The finished product will be fabulous.

Mark Yakoubek
Rooms Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

I stayed here Memorial Day and was pretty disappointed. There was a lot of construction around the building due to renovations which had their restaurant closed. Also the valet was very slow. I drive a stick shift and half the men working valet couldn't drive a stick. Once they made me park my own car and hand them the keys because no one was there to park the car. But I still had to pay 27 dollars a night for this service. The bedrooms were nice but the bathrooms were extremely small. Overall it was an okay stay. The location was convenient. Lots of restaurants and the galleria mall was only 3 miles away. Once the renovations are done I'm sure it will be nice but I don't think I will be staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkHouston, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Houston - Greenway Plaza, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you Monica - we appreciate the honest feedback. I am sorry that our on-going renovations and inexperienced valet staff negatively impacted your stay. As renovations wrap up (and I train my valet how to drive a stick) - I hope you will consider staying with us again.

Sincerely,
Mark Yakoubek
Rooms Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Texas
Level Contributor
96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel which is in the midst of a major renovation. Our room was new and fresh as was the hotel room itself. They gave us a room overlooking Highway 59 but no noise inside the room. Starbucks inside which is nice. Like other Hilton experiences, great check in service and warm chocolate chip cookie upon arrival. We ate dinner in the only restaurant on site. It was ok--the server was terrific, the food better than average hotel fare.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mammo516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkHouston, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Houston - Greenway Plaza, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Mark Yakoubek
Rooms Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Every part of the bathroom was is bad shape...dirty toilet, dirty shower plus it didn't drain, and the towel were stained. I felt like I was staying in a roadside motel. This was one of the worst Hilton properties I've stayed in.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Alejandro L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkHouston, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Houston - Greenway Plaza, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
I am sorry for the issues you had with our Housekeeping department. We take these comments very seriously and will work with our staff to improve.

Thank you for your feedback.

Mark Yakoubek
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

The doubletree by hilton is has outstanding service! They recently finished renovating so everything is new and clean. I had my rehearsal dinner there on the 20th floor and everything went perfectly. The view is amazing and the location is central to everything in Houston. Great hotel to stay and to have events.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Judi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkHouston, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Houston - Greenway Plaza, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Great to hear you appreciate the Great Service!

See you back soon.

Mark Yakoubek
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, United States
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Very disorganized team. I don't think I will ever choose this hotel again. I booked the reservation well in advance. Looks like they were overbooked but did not even bother to let me know ahead of time. They made me run around and moved me to a one star hotel without proper facilities. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone or stay in this hotel ever again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Ramesh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkHouston, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Houston - Greenway Plaza, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor after your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback as it assists us on improving our service and quality.

I am sorry for the experience you had. As we manage sold-out nights we do our best to not inconvenience the guest. In your case we obviously failed and for that I am sorry.

I hope you have a chance to experience our hotel again in the future.

Sincerely,

Mark Yakoubek
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Great Uptown
HYATT house Houston/Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Great Uptown
Hampton Inn Houston - Near The Galleria
Greenway/ Upper Kirby
Courtyard Houston-West University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Houston - Greenway Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Houston - Greenway Plaza

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Houston - Greenway Plaza
Address: 6 Greenway Plz, Houston, TX 77046-0601 (Formerly Renaissance Houston Hotel Greenway Plaza)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#44 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#86 Business Hotel in Houston
#94 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Houston - Greenway Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel in Houston, TX, offers spacious, club-style guest rooms, all with floor-to-ceiling windows and impressive views of downtown Houston and River Oaks. All of our rooms have modern amenities and feature plush furnishings, sumptuous bedding, WiFi, a walk-in closet and luxury bathrooms with a separate shower and granite vanities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Houston - Greenway Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Houston
Houston Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing