We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value option in west Houston / energy corridor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Houston Energy Corridor
Ranked #22 of 511 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
NY
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“great value option in west Houston / energy corridor”
Reviewed 10 December 2011

As long as you your dealings keep you west of the 610 loop, this is a great option - near the new City Centre complex, between routes 8 and 6, near the major oil companies, and surrounded by various dining options, though very limited entertainment or culture in the area. Very clean - new feel - ample parking (free) - and priced right.
Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Higher = better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mooshai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    142
    42
    14
    0
See reviews for
95
60
36
265
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
730 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2011

There is a downside to Tripadvisor that shows its face occasionally - a self fulfilling prophecy, here's how it works.......................

An average hotel / service / (whatever) gets some good reviews and the Manager responds to the reviews with kind words to the reviewer and more follow, the hotel climbs the popularity ladder and then people start to choose it because its near the top. To get in on the 'love fest' action they then also write good reviews and get fawned on by the management etc etc etc even though its in relaity no better than other similar products.

Suprisingly the one "I don't get it" review gets no management response - so this perfectly adequate hotel becomes the 4th best in Houston - really ????? This is a sub-brand chain hotel in office central, how can that be ?

I have stayed here quite a few times as well as the Courtyard Marriot just across the way - I like the HGI slightly more, the Courtyard is marginally less nice overall but it is 194 in the ranking which would make this HGI just above that so here's and honest review of this hotel - stayed here 3 nights this week.

Check-in - friendly enough but nothing special no welcome back etc, interestingly some colleagues didn't get the free breakfast coupons that come with our company rate here - arguements ensued and end result they didn't get them apparently because they had booked through an agent ...........just as I had and received them - get it sorted guys !

Rooms - nice enough but a bit dated, really think these chains should have central air con, hate the noisy wall / window units

Cleanliness - had a good look round as others have waxed lyrical, clean enough I suppose but lots of corners not vacumed, same in bathroom so pretty average.

Bed - really like these adjustable ones

Toiletries replaced sometimes

Wireless - really slow in higher rooms, spoke to reception to see if anything could be done and the answer was its working ok

Food - absolutley average, really nothing great to write home about, usually choose to eat out for that reason

Breakfast - didn't bother to use my vouchers as last time cooked was very greasy so has put me off

Check-in staff general - always felt I was breaking in on some gossip as I passed and it went quiet a couple of times, no friendly hello's etc - pretty poor really.

So, all in all a really average hotel that thinks its one of the top ones in Houston and clearly isn't - can we have some more honest and realistic reviews on here please to stop this kind of thing from happening and maybe some consideration of what can actually be done better by management so they actually try.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OmanRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freezeone1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Houston Energy Corridor, responded to this review, 4 December 2011
Dear OmanRob,
Your thoughtul critique of your perceptions while a recent guest of ours indicates your experiene as a seasoned traveler. As such, they provide valuable insight into just how effective we are in preparing for your arrival and in our service delivery. I assure you we will use your remarks and those from our other high valued guests to validate the progress we are making. We do appreciate your decision to stay with us and welcome your return visit. We'll make every effort to earn your trust.

Best regards,
Kenneth F. Friesen CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Very clean, very comfortable, great price . . . I will stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvtodiveVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freezeone1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Houston Energy Corridor, responded to this review, 4 December 2011
Dear luvtodive:
Many thanks for your recent stay. We'd love to have you back soon on a return visit to Houston.

At your Service,

Kenneth F. Friesen CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I had read the other reviews when selecting this hotel, but once I got there, I couldn't figure out what the big deal was. Sure, it was clean, and yes, it was quiet, but the food wasn't all that great. As far as toiletries go, just average. Service was fine. When they couldn't book me into the room I had requested, I received a free breakfast voucher. Overall, it was fine, but I wouldn't go out of my way to stay here and probably won't again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mtngirlnv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freezeone1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Houston Energy Corridor, responded to this review, 4 December 2011
Dear Mynhitlv,
Thank you for your comments regarding your perception of your experience while a recent guest. We value all feedback from our guests as it helps our team assess the progress they are making to deliver truly remarkable service. Your observations suggest that there are certain areas that we need to focus on even harder. We'll take the challenge. Thanks again...you're always welcome at our hotel.
Respectfully,
Kenneth F. Friesen CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collegeville, PA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Hotels always good on their websites, but this hotel exceeded our expectations.
1) Set back from the main road....it felt very private and peaceful.
2) Outdoor area/parking lot always very well lit
3) Clean...and I mean really clean....bathroom, linens, rugs, furnishings....immaculate for this very picky traveler.
4) Beautiful lobby and decor......I even took pictures of it. Warm, welcoming, big fireplace...
5) Staff deserves 10 Gold Stars...everyone very kind, warm, helpful. Hilton better hold onto this group of stellar employees.
6) Super hot (as in temp.) coffee....from convenient caraffes in the hall at 6 a.m during the week. (We were on 7th floor). Excellent coffee from the Buffet Breakfast.
7) Fresh, tasty and convenient Buffet Breakfast....made to order omeletes, sausage, bacon, bisquits w/ gravey, fresh fruits. every kind of bread/muffin/toast you can imagine. Beautiful dining area.
8) Free Shuttle........Vallerie helped me out in a pinch and drove me to my designation (and picked me up) with a simple phone call.
9) Pantry Pavillion....24/7 pantry if you need any last minute items (I needed pistachios and chocolate).
10) Fresh baked and wrapped cookies for guests.
11) Large desk area w/ perfect Internet connection.

Room Tip: We had the King Suite.....please note...the bedroom does not have a door, it is a seperate room, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank QueenKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freezeone1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Houston Energy Corridor, responded to this review, 14 October 2011
Dear QueenKathy,
So you caught the vision of our commitment to service excellence. So thrilled you chose our property and for sharing your experiences with us. Your feedback is very heartening as it fuels our passion to strive for excellence, one guest experience at a time. Thanks for the patronage and for your most kind props.

Best regards,
Kenneth Friesen, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm City, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
337 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Wow-I really enjoyed this Hilton Garden Inn because the rooms, bar, food, and service was impeccable. LaLa was a big help and provided excellent customer service. This was another business trip for me and I would recommend it to any business traveller or vacationer.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwopilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freezeone1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Houston Energy Corridor, responded to this review, 21 September 2011
Dear Lex682,
So pleased to hear of your positive experience with us at the HGI Energy Corridor. We look forward to your return with open arms. Your comments were warming and well received by the team.
Respectfully,
Kenneth F. Friesen CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Handy for Westlake with very friendly pick-up service from Westlake. For those without hire car, the hotel has a bar and restaurant serving nice food.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuckyLooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freezeone1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Houston Energy Corridor, responded to this review, 21 September 2011
Dear LuckyLooch,
Sure do appreciate the props regarding convenience of location to Westlake. Many of our guests have commented on the ease of our transporation back and forth. We appreciate your patronage and look forward to your return.
Best regards,
Kenneth F. Friesen CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston - Energy Corridor
6.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Houston NW America Plaza
1.5 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Houston Energy Corridor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Houston - I-10W, Energy Cor
1.0 mi away
Omni Houston Hotel Westside
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Houston I-10 West/Energy Corridor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Houston Energy Corridor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Houston Energy Corridor

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Houston Energy Corridor
Address: 12245 Katy Fwy, Houston, TX 77079-1502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Houston
#30 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#55 Family Hotel in Houston
#56 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Houston Energy Corridor 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hilton Garden Inn Houston Energy Corridor hotel. Located on Houston's Westside in the Energy Corridor, the hotel is near shops, restaurants, and leading businesses. Many prominent oil, engineering, hi-tech and healthcare companies are minutes from the hotel including BP, ConocoPhillips, and Shell Oil. Enjoy easy access to Interstate 10 (Katy Freeway) and the Sam Houston Tollway. The hotel offers guests a complimentary shuttle service within a five-mile radius. Stay connected throughout your visit to Houston with complimentary high-speed internet access in all rooms and public areas of the hotel. Enjoy a thoughtful service at the hotel with our complimentary fitness center, swimming pool, and 24-hour Business Center. Relax with delicious cuisine at the restaurant or pick up a treat from the 24-hour Pavilion Pantry® to enjoy in the comfort of your guest room or suite. The hotel boasts more than 3000 sq. ft. of function space, ideal for various meetings and events from business conferences to cocktail parties and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Houston Energy Corridor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Houston Energy Corridor Hotel Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing