We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, but thin walls” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aloft Houston by the Galleria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aloft Houston by the Galleria
Ranked #172 of 501 Hotels in Houston
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, but thin walls”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

Started out on a rough note, as we couldn't find the entrance, because there isn't a proper one. Have to drive into the parking garage, which wasn't intuitive. The hotel itself is nice and I was somewhat fascinated by the room design. But we could easily hear the TV next door. As all alofts are supposed to be the same (consistency), I have no desire to stay at one again if this is the type of construction used.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nosajio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    114
    68
    20
    15
See reviews for
48
64
24
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012 via mobile

Loved the modern design and clean rooms. Friendly staff all around. This location would be great with an outdoor pool, free parking, and in room coffee that wasn't as weak as tea. Comfortable sleep, great rates. We recommend and would stay again.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank writemeariver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

Stayed here for a Friday night. Self, overnight parking in the garage is $15 per car. Valet is more (think they quoted $22). Wished they didn't charge for parking, or made the fee lower. It's Houston, after all...land's a plenty. The downstairs bar was crowded--there were a few parties happening that night. Overall, the room is clean and spacious. Though they gave us a handicap room--wished the guy at the front desk could've given us the heads up at check-in, rather than letting us figure it out when we got to the room. I would've preferred a non-handicap room. Overall, I would say my experience here was average...not great. Probably would not stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wonderful17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
80 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

Stayed during the peak season OTC, so payed 350 USD per night. Compared to other hotels in the area at the same time, Aloft offered little value for money.

The cons first:
Little choice of breakfast, and nowhere near to find breakfast either. I big disappointment if you like me, tend to think of breakfast as the important start of the day.
The house car turned up 30 minutes late at the day of departure, so caused unnecessary stress that day.
Poor quality on the towels, and one day they had removed all the dirty towels and forgotten to supply new ones. I had to use all the towels every day, since there always occured a gigantic leak of water onto the floor whenever I showered.
Very noisy, you hear everything whenever people pass your room. There is a 2 cm gap underneath the entrance door, so I also understand why.

The pros:
Friendly staff
House car, used it a lot to get around in the area.
Cool bar
Nice work out area
Free wifi
Free printing service.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dantealexander, General Manager at Aloft Houston by the Galleria, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Dear Peak Season OTC Guest,

Aloft is a fun new way to stay & play. We offer a 24 hour food service in Re:Fuel and a savvy selection of made to order breakfast sandwiches only minutes away by complimentary shuttle Houston's Galleria and the heart of Houston’s tech rich businesses all within three miles.

Even though painful, we sincerely appreciate you commenting on your experience with us during your attendance during Houston's Peak OTC week, you are a valued guest and your comments are taken very seriously. I am personally hopeful that you will call me directly and give us an opportunity to influence your memory of us more positively in future. Our hotel is in the business of delivering positive hospitality experiences and its comments such as yours that make us better.

A sincere thank you and may we look forward to serving you again in future.

A New Twist in Travel, Dante Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

The hotel is nice and clean. However, one of the front desk staff (Nathan) was very rude and unprofessional. Hence, the cleanness of the hotel did not matter as the front desk clerk ruined my experience. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex1976Houston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dantealexander, General Manager at Aloft Houston by the Galleria, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Thank you for telling us about your experience while at our hotel. As the new General Manager of this hip hotel in the heart of Houston’s Galleria, I slumped into my chair as I read about your experience with us. Please accept my most sincere apology and that of the team of hospitality professionals here at the Aloft Houston Galleria for the memory you have of us. Should you have an opportunity to travel to Houston’s Galleria Area again in the future, I hope you will allow us the chance to create a new favorable memory...a memory that will cause you to smile as you reflect on your prior experience with us.

A sincere thank you and we look forward to serving you again in future.

A New Twist in Travel, Dante Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Houston hotels

Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

The hotel looks very eclectic and the staff was great very friendly and clean. This was my first time and I was there for only one day but will be returning in the future or maybe visiting their location here in Dallas which I heard was very exciting to enjoy the ammenities. At this time I am giving it a 3 until I can be there to enjoy and see more of the hotel and the surrondings.

Room Tip: Looking for a place to mingle this would be it but make sure to bring your wallet $$$. Request a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, LA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012 via mobile

We stayed one night as our usual hotel (Derek) was looking tired based on reading reviews and we wanted to try something different. We found Aloft coming up as a very attractive at $85 though the parking was extra which we were not aware of at booking. The hotel is a couple of blocks from the Galleria and near lots of high end stores. The staff were friendly - our first room smelled musty so they gave us a different room which was perfect. There are no tubs, only showers - a work desk - a bench seat - bed - side tables - flat screen - iron - adapter to plug almost any device into the tv as long as you have the right cable. It was comfortable and quiet but has a couple of quirks in the room setup:
1. Big gaps under room entry doors mean noise transfer - as you walk down the hall you can hear conversations clearly in the rooms as you pass.
2. We were in an inside corner room so if our blinds were open we had views to the elevator lobby and vice versa.

The lobby area had food for sale at slightly marked up but still reasonable prices. The bar and bar staff were also nice. I would stay here again at this price and found the staff to be biggest plus - more friendly and personable than your average W scene from my experience.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank nolatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Great Uptown
Hyatt Place Houston/Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Great Uptown
Hilton Garden Inn Houston Galleria Area
Great Uptown
HYATT house Houston/Galleria
Great Uptown
Courtyard Houston by The Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Houston by the Galleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Houston by the Galleria

Property: Aloft Houston by the Galleria
Address: 5415 Westheimer Rd, Houston, TX 77056-5301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 501 Hotels in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aloft Houston by the Galleria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appealing to on-the-go and in-the-know travelers, the Aloft rooms at Aloft Houston by the Galleria are equally carefree and bold. Nine-foot ceilings and extra-large windows create a bright, airy environment full of natural light. You’ll face the windows—not the walls—as you drift to sleep in our ultra-comfortable platform bed topped with plush bedding. Choose a 285-square-foot king room for one big bed, or grab a little more breathing room in the 315-square-foot rooms with two queen beds. Business or pleasure, work or play, each loft-like space keeps you connected. Your always-available in-room “office” includes an ergonomic workspace, plus complimentary wired and wireless High Speed Internet Access. You have your own entertainment center thanks to plug & play, our one-stop connectivity station. Leave your chargers at home: it juices up all your electronics—laptop, cell phone, MP3 player, and more—and connects them to a wall-mounted 42” flat-screen TV. A flip of the switch gives you high-def screening of your favorite flicks (or tomorrow’s presentation). In the sleek stylish bathroom, details are designed to stimulate your senses. Natural light illuminates the walk-in shower through a full-length frosted glass panel, which faces the guest room for a free flow of light with plenty of privacy. The eco-friendly dispenser doles out super-sudsy bath amenities specially created for Aloft Hotels by Bliss® Spa. Every Aloft room is attuned to you: whether you’re settling in or zipping out the door, you’ll find a host of helpful standard amenities to customize your experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Aloft Houston by the Galleria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Houston By The Galleria Hotel Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing