We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Completely uninspired, zero personality” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE
Ranked #3 of 501 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Completely uninspired, zero personality”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Stayed here for New Year's Eve because I wanted to be able to celebrate somewhere within walking distance of the hotel. From now on I will just hire a car service. The most lifeless lobby was followed up by the most drab "suite" that I have ever seen. The valets were unprofessional and even rude and although the front desk people were polite, getting anything done at the hotel was next to impossible. I would not stay there for free if they offered, and that is no joke, I truly wouldn't. Note to management: put some paintings up, maybe a mirror or two. Give your hotel some life. Train your people from the ground up to treat the guests with respect and courtesy, not as if they are doing a favor every time something is asked of them.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ryan_F100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SorellaGM, General Manager at Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Ouch! Sometimes feedback is painful to read, and such is the case here.

Everyone that works with me at this hotel takes great pride in the hotel, taking care of our guests, and doing our work well. We are all very sorry we missed the mark during your stay and will work as a team to improve. We hope you give us another chance, we think we have a great personality!

Thank you.

Ryan Gullion
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    622
    219
    67
    18
    17
See reviews for
128
248
36
377
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Clean, contemporary decor. I particularly appreciate the healthy breakfast options. Prices are hefty for a quasi-suburban location with surrounding construction, even being adjacent to bars & restaurants. For the price you might stay uptown for the same restaurant/shopping convenience and enjoy a sharper level of service. We did not have service problems, except for one. Our shower ran short of hot water after 3 minutes. The desk responded with the generic "engineer will look into it", when it was obvious in her face that was not the first time she heard this problem. There was no correction, and no compensation offered for the daily chill. It is not that the problem ruined our entire stay, but quite honestly running out of hot water is not expected for a hotel of that price range, and I would have expected a genuine if not effective response. Perhaps they were waiting on me to complain each of the 5 days I was there, or make some grand compensation demand, but I prefer to minimize unpleasant conversations during my vacation. So all in all, it is a nice hotel, but I believe the service is not sharp and I think they began pricing themselves in a category in which they will not compete well.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmorri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SorellaGM, General Manager at Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We will be sure to look further into the issues you mentioned and look forward to your return.

Ryan Gullion
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Let me first say if you are reading this review, you must want to stay on the west side of Houston. If you don't want to stay on the west side, or not sure what that means, I a native and ill tell you. West side of Houston is mostly comprised of neighborhoods and few Businesses located off of Beltway 8 and I-10 freeways. If your place of business is in this area, this is the best hotel to stay with. Mainly thses reasons
-Rooms are a size, well updated and very clean, wifi I think is free.
- this is located in the best area for variety of restaurants you can walk to. And with traffic in Houston being what it's is, this is a Huge plus. You can find anything from wine bars, sports bars, high end steak or seafood restaurants, or small cafe with salads and sandwiches. All is represented here at Town and Country Center.
-plenty of Garage parking.
-movie theater is also in town and county center and you can access from the garage or walkway outside.
-if you are missing a tie or need some shoes? Yes there is ample shopping here too. Also missing your toothbrush? There is a Walgreens within walking distance too.

I was here for 2 weeks while my husband was at a conference in the hotel as well meetings in Houston. If I ever need to stay on the Westside, this is my hotel of choice!

Room Tip: Try asking for a room not on the freeway side, you get a better view of Houston on the opposite side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Southernqt72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

Hotel Sorella is a new contemporary hotel in a modern shopping center that has the feel of a European village, with cobblestone streets and many varied restaurants and stores. Nearby, there is a spectacular gym facility that is available to hotel guests. The hotel attracts a young clientele.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeHealy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

I have stayed here previously but just wanted to state again how much I like the property, great rooms, friendly staff and fantastic location at City Centre - within walking distance of many great shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sjr_1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SorellaGM, General Manager at Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words. We are ecstatic that you feel that way about us! Please come back and see us soon.

Ryan Gullion
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

Rooms were fine, spacious and clean. Had to wait for quite a while for cooked breakfast the first morning so decided to have the continental for the rest of the stay, which is included. Had a friend over for coffee, we gave up after waiting 20 mins and nothing turned up!
Pool was closed and the "gym" very small. The area where the hotel is situated is very nice, many restaurants close by. We were there during the NBA all-star weekend so the room rates were quite high and not really worth it. Our friends found it difficult to find us by car so agree with previous person, better directions needed.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sussi13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SorellaGM, General Manager at Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback. I have shared it with our team and we are all working, every day, to improve. We do hope you give us another chance when your travels bring you to Houston. Feel free to let me know if you do so I can make sure you have a great stay.

Sincerely,

Ryan Gullion
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

Upon doing my research for a great place to stay in Houston this establishment was getting great reviews not only online but also by friends. We decided to stay here for my birthday weekend in mid October without our children. Upon finding the valet area we were greeted by a valet attendant who was fast and friendly. Once we got arrived to the floor to check-in, the front desk attendant was short with us and seemed more concerned with getting payment than welcoming us to the hotel. Please understand I have stayed in many 5 star hotels from The Ritz Carlton to Mandarin Oriental, also some 4 star hotels and received a better welcome then I did here. After getting pushed through payment, them giving us our key, we headed to our room. The walk to the room was a little dark but I will say the room was impeccable. Everything was well appointed and the bed was amazing. The construction right outside our window was less than desirable and I wondered why we weren't given a different room that was not facing that eye sore or noise after we requested one. There were a few more times we encountered hotel staff but none of them greeted us nor did they seem interested in us being at their hotel. I value great customer service and it goes a long way with me. The price we paid for the room was way over priced for the service we received and the construction we had to deal with outside our window.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TxTravelingTeacher1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SorellaGM, General Manager at Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your recent stay. We are excited the construction across the street is proceeding quickly with little or no impact upon our guests.

We also know once this is completed, it will create a very vibrant environment for our guests.

I have shared your check in experience with the appropriate individuals and appreciate you sharing this observation with us. We look forward to your return.

Ryan Gullion
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
The Lancaster
The Lancaster
#1 of 501 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,326 reviews
Hotel ZaZa Houston
#5 of 501 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,593 reviews
Great Uptown
Hotel Granduca Houston
Hotel Granduca Houston
#2 of 501 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#4 of 501 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Downtown
Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE

Property: Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE
Address: 800 Sorella Ct, North Building, Houston, TX 77024-1488
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 501 Hotels in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE 4*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near Houston's Energy corridor and the Westchase district, in West Houston's CITYCENTRE development, Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE is a sophisticated modern boutique hotel. Ideally located, and within steps of sophisticated retailers, dining, entertainment and nightlife and nearby outdoor adventure in the form of jogging trails, biking paths, parks and recreation. Hotel Sorella offers 266 guest-rooms, suites and Penthouse suites. Hotel Sorella offers luxury and sophistication and is the perfect choice for for a romantic getaway, a short or extended business trip, or a group or conference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing