We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a hidden treasure this is”

Contemporary Arts Museum Houston
Ranked #73 of 298 things to do in Houston
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Contemporary Arts Museum Houston is a non-collecting institution dedicated to presenting the best and most exciting international, national, and regional art. Through dynamic exhibitions accompanied by scholarly publications and accessible educational programs, the Museum reaches out to local, regional, national, and international audiences of various ages. CAMH is always fresh, always free.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
130 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“What a hidden treasure this is”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

A little jewel in Houston, a city where one gets used to everything being "Texas Size", this small museum is an oasis of intimate size that exhibits the most modern art movements in the Southwest US. Often daring and unorthodox, the artistic offer challenges the viewer to experience new currents in art, the unexpected, the non status quo. Free of charge, it's really worth a visit. Right in the museum district of Houston, it is a pleasure to discover the buoyant energy that permeates in Houston beyond the classics. Not to miss.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marc_An_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    24
    13
    6
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Quirky & Contemporary”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Fascinating exhibitions, not so grand nor so immediate. I enjoy seeing the variety of works whenever I get a chance. A must see if one is in the museum district and is interested in seeing unexpected art.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank enlit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harker Heights, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Free museum”
Reviewed 16 May 2013

This museum is very interesting. It was not my taste but I did enjoy the teenage art pieces on the bottom floor. It was nice to see talent at young ages. The museum is however free so visit and decide for yourself.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank colormel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klein, Texas
Level Contributor
84 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Like the little girl with the curl”
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Sometimes it is awesome! Other times awful. But I guess that's art, right? Usually can find something of interest though. It changes fairly often.

Helpful?
Thank Beckyloutx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
189 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Unwelcoming staff”
Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

This place is nice because its free and nice building/neighborhood. Small gallery so it doesn't take long. I was looking at an installation that appeared to be hands on and I got in trouble and I asked about the art and was told they can't tell me. Some things there you are supposed to touch so pardon me for not knowing the difference. If you are going to have things that are so random and otherwise stupid you should at least be able to explain what the hell I'm looking at. They follow you all around and make it an uncomfortable atmosphere. I would recommend you go but it's really only a quick stop.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mwar1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Contemporary Arts Museum Houston also viewed

 

Been to Contemporary Arts Museum Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing