We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly Pleasant Property...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites North
Ranked #349 of 511 Hotels in Houston
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
“Perfectly Pleasant Property...”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Nice reception by the manager, I took his suggestion for a non-upgraded room for more peace and quiet. Breakfast downstairs included basic eggs and bacon, tea, coffee, cereal, etc. Perfectly fine for a quick trip. I was hesitant to give 5 stars for a basic property, but for its price group, I really can't ask for more. :-)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LGAflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    15
    12
    8
    9
See reviews for
13
13
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
houston
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We got this as a reward night for a last-minute booking. No real complaints. Room was great, didn't hear any hall noise unless you were in the bathroom right next to it. Met all our needs...comfy bed, clean room, good hot breakfast, safe feeling. Gated parking lot was nice since on feeder road to I-45.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilson4intx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I was stuck in Houston during a very large event week and did not have a hotel booked. Not knowing the area or the chain I booked a week at this location. I asked to see a room because as soon as I was trying to check in the lobby and the other "guests" seemed seedy. When I asked to see a room before checking in the man behind the desk told I might as well get my bags because I was going to be paying for the night anyway. He then gave me a room key and number, when I went to the room to look it had someone in it! I went to the counter again and told him, he got angry with me like I did something wrong. The barb wire fencing around the place tells you this is not a safe place, it took a call to the corporate office to get my money back because he charged me for all the nights immediately. This is not clean nor is it safe.

Room Tip: The best tip I could give you would be to chose another hotel or sleep in your car!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angela b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Houston hotels

Plano, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We had to leave in a hurry and I booked this hotel based upon other tripadvisor recommendations and it was a good choice. The hotel is right off I 45 and we didn't hear road traffic from the highway. Room was clean, bed was comfortable and breakfast was more than adequate! We enjoyed our stay and the price was very reasonable.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank homeocsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Real Eggs for Breakfast, Clean room and great mattress! Oh,, and don't forget the staff. Great People. Had an issue with shower not getting hot enough. Maintenance had it fixed promptly.

Easy access off I 45 with several restaurants nearby. Stayed at several other hotels in Houston until I found this one

I highly recommend. Great value for the money. Will be headed back that way soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itchin2know
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nomie2g
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Depending on what you're looking for this hotel is ok. It isn't far from the airport. Close to many restaurants and supermarket. The room is larger than most hotel rooms. Has a fridge and microwave. I slept very well on the mattress. The area isn't the best. But the hotel is very quiet. I did not like the low hung shower head in the bathroom. Also, water pressure was super low. The front desk check-in was fairly fast. But don't look for service with a smile. Not the friendliest bunch.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nomie2g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2009

Right when I check in, I ask for a free upgrade to a suite with whirlpool tub. They say no problem. So far, so good. I also notice that the parking lot is gated and opens when activated using a guest key, another plus! Then I get the the room. It's AWESOME! You walk-in to a 'living room' with a sofa and tv, which then transitions to a bedroom with a giant tub in it. This was all great, except the door handle didn't work properly, and the staff couldn't fix it, so they moved me back to my old room. No big deal. In the 'regular' room, there's still a ton of space, with a loveseat, chair, desk (with executive chair), beautiful dresser, a 47" LCD, and a king size bed. We were able to set up our pack'n'play for our infant and put it between the desk and the dresser, it did not really use up any useful space at all. We got all settled in, then I started noticing things.

First, I noticed that the tertiary lock (the one above the deadbolt) was improvised. It appears that the door is a bit sunk-in and does not align properly in it's frame, so the builders used 4 nuts as a spacer so the lock lined up properly with the frame and could operate (although I don't know how well it would prevent a forced entry). Really, this was the only flaw in the room, so no big deal.

Then I went back to the car to get a few things and tried getting back into the hotel using my room key. The door on the second floor would not open. I tried and tried, but the key would not open the back door to the hotel. So I went downstairs and tried that back door. It worked. So I took the elevator up to the second floor where my room is and thought nothing of it. Later that night when my wife and I came back to the hotel from dinner, we used the key to get into the gated parking lot, but it wouldn't work! I went inside and told the concierge about the problem, and he said not to let the key near a cell phone because it could get scrambled up and stop working!

So he re-programmed our keys and we got in the gate just fine. But then going up to the second floor back door still wouldn't work, we had to go back down to the first floor and get in that way. We opened up the elevator and my wife tripped getting in! We didn't notice before, but now figured out that the tile job in the elevator was not finished. They did not finish up by laying the transition pieces, so the straight edge of the tile is just sticking out ready to trip anyone that doesn't watch where they're stepping. The elevator also makes weird noises which can be unnerving. The keycard problems kept happening for the next day, until we finally told them to give us new cards. Then the problem went away (although we figured out the card reader to the second floor back door did not work - it wasn't the keycard's problem). Lastly, the ice maker on the second floor did not work.

All in all, the room was above average, there is free wifi (but no wired internet access), a community computer with a printer, a great lounge area, outstanding breakfast buffet, 30 channels (no dvd player), microwave + 5.0 cu/ft refrigerator in the room, and the service was outstanding. My only problems were with the details - Choice Hotels needs to invest a little more money in fixing up this place and then it'll get 4 stars from me (5 stars could not be achieved because it's kind of in the ghetto). There was nothing the people working there could have done to alleviate these problems.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mtrodrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMQuality, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites North, responded to this review, 14 November 2010
Dear Guests,

First and foremost, we would like to thank you and your family for being our valued guests and also for taking time out to give us this review as we value all of our guests comments and opinions. Since your stay, we have completed our Renovations as well as added a few more ammenities to better serve you such as our complimentary shuttle to and from the airport as well as a complimentary full hot breakfast every morning. I hope you keep us in mind when you make it back to houston as my staff and I are always here and eager to serve you.

gm.tx854
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Quality Suites North
#275 of 511 in Houston
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westchase
Candlewood Suites Houston Westchase
Comfort Suites
#314 of 511 in Houston
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites North

Property: Quality Inn & Suites North
Address: 10155 North Fwy, Houston, TX 77037-1262
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #349 of 511 Hotels in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our location has recently gone through a major renovation. We offer hot complimentary breakfast in the morning and you can also enjoy the new mattress and LCD screen television in each room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing