We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A convenient place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sleep Inn & Suites Hwy 290 / NW Freeway
Ranked #223 of 506 Hotels in Houston
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
182 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A convenient place to stay”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Right on the feeder. close to many places to eat. The rooms were very clean neat and organized. Nice flat screen TV. Bed were nice with the comforters.room appeared to be recently updated. Would gladly stay here again. Enjoyed the small workout area. Staff we're out going and easy to deal with and they took care of all problems or questions that I had. Check in was quick and easy. Parking lot was well lit and seems safe.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    8
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
8
3
2
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gatlinburg, TN
Level Contributor
321 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

I was put up here by an airline also, due to a cancled flight. i arrived late and was checked in effortlessly. the clerk was very friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable, clean and well furnished. I had a good nights sleep. However, I did not need an alarm clock the next morning. That is when I find out that the hotel property adjoins that of a kennel. At 7 in the morning, must have been when the workers showed up, the dogw go crazy with all the barking and howelling. I was on the third floor and it was bad up there. When I went down for teh breakfast, it was actually quiter down ther than it was in my room.

Room Tip: One facing the street would be better than one facing the dogs out back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foxtrot-BandB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

king suite, one night.
check in was effortless. the desk clerk was helpful and friendly.
the room was clean and fresh.
parking is convenient.

problems:
1. the heater did not work. I informed the desk clerk and asked that it be fixed. we were not offered a different room. when we returned around midnight, there was no heat. I discussed this with the desk clerk on duty at that time he offered a different room. I declined since my 90 year old father was taking a shower and it would have been difficult for him to pack up and move at late hour. I think we should have been offered a different room when I first notified them about the lack of heat since maintenace people are not available at night (per the desk clerk) and it was clear there was no one to fix the heater.

2. no pillows, sheets or blankets in the room for the sofa bed. it took 2 trips to the front desk at midnight to get the bedding. the sofa bed was very uncomfortable.

I understand that things happen, however when we checked out I left my email address with the desk clerk and asked that the manager contact me about my concerns. he didn't.

the price of the room was raised about $50.00 that night (we were told by the desk clerk) because of the NBA playoffs and I think it would be reasonable to adjust the rate a little because of the lack of heat on a cold night.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drewaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sleepinn290, Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Hwy 290 / NW Freeway, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
Thank you for your review and sharing your expierce with us. We love getting feedback from our guests regardless if its positive or negative in order to improve our service. I want to apologize for the mixed expiernce you had at our hotel during your stay. We expect nothing but excellent stay for our guests as well as our staffs workmanship in order to make it happen. I will certainly look into this matter and will be providing you with an email from me right away. I really hope you can give us another chance to show you our hospitality at its finest.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
75 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

My company has a negotiated rate with a "better known" hotel across the freeway, but it doesn't include breakfast, so this was actually a better deal. New construction is always nice, and the rooms, common areas and corridors smell clean and are well appointed.

The WiFi didn't hold in the breakfast room but I didn't try it in my room. Breakfast could have been better stocked (no yogurt, cereal and juices were scraping bottom) but I didn't go hungry with the whimsical Texas waffle and bacon (mmmm, meat candy)....

Location is great, there are several restaurants right in front of the hotel. When you're away from home, it's nice to be able to kick back at a sports bar and walk back to the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeamW4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sleepinn290, Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Hwy 290 / NW Freeway, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
Thank you for taking time out and letting us know how your expiernce was at Sleep Inn & Suites. We are very glad you gave us a chance over your normal accomodations. We will definitely improve on our breakfast in order to keep it refilled. We hope to see you soon.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

My hubby and I stayed here one night with our 3 children. We had missed our connection flight back home and there was no other flights until the following evening. The airline put us in this hotel. They have an hourly airport shuttle. The pools were nice. The complimentary breakfast was a plus. The hotel allowed us to stay a little longer than check-out time due to our flight not being until the evening. Staff was nice and friendly. I would recommend for a night our two, but not any longer than that.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BikiniWearingMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Iam from Orange County, Ca. I absolutely, love this place. Most importantly the rooms are clean, and is very quiet. The front desk employees are very professional. Next time I come to visit Houston, I know where to stay. Thank you, for and have and outstanding hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Florroja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Hwy 290 / NW Freeway, responded to this review, 1 October 2012
Thank you for your review Florroja! I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad to know that you would stay with us again in the future and it would be our pleasure to accommodate you again! Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altamonte Springs, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2012

I travel to Houston Northwest area 5-10 days a month on business. Over the last year I have stayed at about 7 different hotels for at least a week a piece in the Houston Northwest area. My opinion is that the Sleep Inn offers the most comfortable experience for the rate of any other options in the area.

The hotels in the immediate region catering to average business traveler average around $90-$180 nightly for a standard room. The Sleep Inn usually comes in around $100.

The hotel staff is very friendly, and extremely accommodating to visitors. Excellent customer service.

In my opinion it has the most comfortable, well decorated and functional room of any of the business traveler options in the area. All of the rooms are immaculate, and have a very tasteful and modern decor. Much more so then some of the highest end hotel options in the area. It is very impressive.

The rooms come with a long, functional desk with high speed internet cable on the left and a 32'' flat screen TV on the right. The set up for this is fantastic, as I can work on my computer plugged into the internet, and if I want run an HDMI cable from the computer to the TV to export the image I easily can. This sounds simple, but in practice this is the only hotel room in the area that has such a practical and functional set up.

Other features: Very comfortable bed, gorgeous bathroom with marble counter tops, microwave and refrigerator in a nook so I can put some groceries there for the week, very quiet and peaceful at all times.

Cons: The internet, while reasonably fast for a hotel, does seem to get a bit inconsistent with it's speed. Still on the higher end of the hotel internet spectrum, though. Also my room in the most recent stay did not have a bath tub but a standing shower, which is a minor quibble (and maybe preferable to some).

Overall: Far exceeds expectations. Great room, especially in the context of the price. I have stayed here on two separate week long trips, and not been disappointed.

Room Tip: Get a room on opposite side of the highway if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Hwy 290 / NW Freeway, responded to this review, 1 October 2012
Thank you, thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel and for being such a loyal customer for the past year. We apprecaite that you continue to choose Sleep Inn & Suites as
your home in Houston. Also let me apologize about the quality of the Internet Service at our hotel during you stay with us. I assure you we will work on quality of our Wired and Wireless Internet Connection. Again, Thank you for staying with us.!

Please come back soon to see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Hwy. 290/NW
Comfort Inn Hwy. 290/NW
#187 of 506 in Houston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.1 mi away
Towneplace Suites Houston Brookhollow
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston Northwest-Brookhollow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Houston
Quality Inn & Suites Houston
#353 of 506 in Houston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Houston - Brookhollow
2.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Hwy 290 NW
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites Hwy 290 / NW Freeway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites Hwy 290 / NW Freeway

Property: Sleep Inn & Suites Hwy 290 / NW Freeway
Address: 5451 Northwest Central Drive, Houston, TX 77092
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #223 of 506 Hotels in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn & Suites Hwy 290 / NW Freeway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites Hwy 290 / NW Freeway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing