We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY nice - Great location -- clean and comfy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sleep Inn & Suites Hwy 290 / NW Freeway
Ranked #230 of 508 Hotels in Houston
College Station, Texas
1 review
“VERY nice - Great location -- clean and comfy”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Being longtime Choice Hotel privilege members, we normally stay at Comfort Suites, but on this occasion ended up booking the Sleep Inn thinking -- "it's only one night." Right away I was impressed with the look/feel/cleanliness and a late night clerk whose first language is English. It's a great location, near several great restaurants -- including our favorite, Papadeaux. Room was clean and comfortable, with a great bed. Breakfast was slightly inadequate, but that's typical of continental breakfasts at any choice hotel. Certainly did not notice any moth ball smells. Wouldn't hesitate to book this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Greg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    8
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
8
3
2
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Battle Creek, Michigan
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Beware!!! Do not stay here unless you love the smell of strong moth balls. We were booked for five nights but left at 6 am the next morning. appeared fairly clean but had very strong moth balls at the check in desk, lobby and elevators! I have asthma and it about killed me. I contacted Choice Hotels but I have Not heard from the choice hotels yet and that was on the15th of May- still waiting. THeir form email says they will contact you within 72 hrs. No customer service -night clerk very rude and un caring. Cancelled reservation an went to Hampton Inn. Will contact Houston code compliance as I'm sure it is against all codes to use moth balls as an air freshener(that is what the desk clerk said the moth balls were for) Moth balls are poison!.Stay away!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank headvase_1799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sleepinn290, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Hwy 290 / NW Freeway, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. I would like to assure you that we do not use moth balls in our hotel as air freshener. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. I have tried to get in touch with you but do not have your contact information on file. Please contact me at gm.txd02@choicehotels.com so we can make this right for you.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
228 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

I would stay here again, the location is good. Several restaurants and watering holes you can walk to. It's not a Marriott but it was sufficient for business stay. Room clean and comfortable.
Front desk was helpful and professional.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TCBinKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
129 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This hotel was ideally located from my family's home. I was able to walk there and visit them. The rooms were very clean, service was prompt and friendly. Breakfast was free and reasonable. Wifi was in and out but enough to check email and stay in touch.
It even had a very small exercise room.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Attar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Pedro Belize
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Be very careful when you book an online reservation with this hotel. Having a layover at IAH (in 6 weeks), I made an online reservation at this hotel, thinking it was the Sleep in by the airport. I realized I had booked at the wrong Sleep Inn within 10 minutes and immediately called the hotel directly to cancel or transfer my reservation to the airport Sleep Inn. I was informed this was a non-refundable reservation and there was nothing they could do at the hotel to cancel, nor change it in any way. They then offered me the number for Choice customer service for help. I called Choice and they told me that the only one who could cancel the reservation was the individual hotel where it was made. Never have I seen a more obvious runaround.

I would like to think that the cancellation policy is not intended for people who make an honest mistake and seek to rectify it within minutes. However, considering that neither Choice nor this individual Sleep Inn claim to to able to help me, I'm starting to think this happens much more often than one would think, and the hotels are cashing in on it quite nicely. Shame on them!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank belizesnowbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I stayed at this Sleep Inn for one night. Most of Houston was sold out that night, but this hotel still had rooms for an affordable price. This hotel seems to be brand new! The first thing I noticed was the front desk staff should be standing up while helping guests. If I, the tired and worn guest, has to stand up while waiting to checking in, you should too. I feel it is unprofessional. The room was very clean and the bathroom was spotless. I did like the layout of the room. The work desk and TV are on the same table. Plenty of lighting. The walls were dirty and needed to be deep cleaned. I believe they use the paint that easily reflects marks and damages. Bed and linens were wonderful and provided a great sleep, true to the hotel's name. The pool needed to be vacuumed badly as the floor was very dirty with leaves and sand. Other than that, the pool area was nice and relaxing All exterior locks worked. Plenty of parking. Also, there are many restaurants nearby within walking distance and a movie theater behind the hotel. The breakfast was cleaned up at least 15 minutes before the official closing time which is unfortunate and untrue to the signage. This is probably the best hotel for the money in the area and I would stay here again (wish I extended my stay)!

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms are away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hippo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Stayed at the Sleep Inn Hwy 290 for three nights on business. Overall the experience was fine but I wouldn't go out of my way to stay here again when in the area.

The number of television stations is very limited - including no NBC network. None of the few cable channels are in HD which defeats the purpose of having a nice flat screen television.

There was mildew in my bathroom on the ceiling and around the exhaust vent. The towels, while clean, were definitely showing their age and need to be replaced. Two lightbulbs in my room did not function.

The hotel is in a busy location and within easy walking distance of several restaurants and a Cinemark Tinseltown theater. The hotel is very close to the freeway so ask for a room on the north side of the hotel for less road noise.

The free breakfast was ok and included standard options. The staff were nice and courteous.

Room Tip: Rooms on north side are away from freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meangreenfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Hwy. 290/NW
Comfort Inn Hwy. 290/NW
#207 of 508 in Houston
78 reviews
0.1 mi away
Towneplace Suites Houston Brookhollow
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Houston-Brookhollow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Courtyard Houston NW/290 Corridor
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston Northwest-Brookhollow
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Houston
Quality Inn & Suites Houston
#352 of 508 in Houston
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites Hwy 290 / NW Freeway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites Hwy 290 / NW Freeway

Property: Sleep Inn & Suites Hwy 290 / NW Freeway
Address: 5451 Northwest Central Drive, Houston, TX 77092
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #230 of 508 Hotels in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn & Suites Hwy 290 / NW Freeway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites Hwy 290 / NW Freeway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing