We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here!”
Review of Hobby Airport Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hobby Airport Inn
Ranked #435 of 508 Hotels in Houston
Carlyss, LA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Do not stay here!”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Security lock on the door was broken. Wall mounted lamp wouldn't turn off so I had to unscrew the bulb. Mold and mildew growing on shower curtain and shower ceiling. Carpet was so stained I refused to walk without shoes. I will not ever stay at this motel again or recommend anyone else stay there. Gross!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeHobbyMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Hobby Airport Inn, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
We appreciate you giving your feedback about your experience. Our Hotel is constantly seeking for ways to enhance the positive experiences of our guests and your valuable feedback will assist us to correct our shortcomings. We apologize for the very unlikely stay.

The details you’ve mentioned regarding security locks and the maintenance and upkeep of the room facilities will be immediately attended by our staff as your security and safety is very important to us. We hope for another opportunity the serve you with our even better services and accommodations and have a more positive perception of our hotel should you decide to stay with us again in the future.

Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    19
    23
    24
    77
See reviews for
37
32
22
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I enjoyed staying here, got to sleep on a comfortable bed and watch some good television. The breakfast was a delight because of the waffles. Best part was the nice front desk staff, they made sure my stay was a success and it was. My room was spotless everyday, the housekeepers were hilarious. I guess carpets need improving but thats about it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johannna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeHobbyMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Hobby Airport Inn, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
It is indeed very enlightening to know that you had a great experience at our Hotel during your business trip. We are very proud to know that our staff made your stay most comfortable and satisfying with their efficiency and helpfulness. We will also consider your comment regarding carpeting in your room for a more likely stay in the future. We value your opinion and business. It was a pleasure to serve you, we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2014

My wife and I recently stayed here twice during a two-week span during overnight layovers in Houston. We didn't need a fancy hotel- just something basic and inexpensive for the night and we booked a stay here through Kayak in large part because it has a free airport shuttle. After arriving in Houston we realized that this hotel was not near the airport we flew in to (it is near Hobby Airport whereas most airlines other than Southwest fly primarily into George Bush Intercontinental) and needless to say the free airport shuttle does not drive all the way across the city. The lady at the front desk was very helpful as we tried to make transportation arrangements, though, and other than this mix-up we were very happy with our stay (although it is definitely a dingy motel- you get what you pay for).
Since we had booked through Kayak we could not cancel our second reservation and rented a car to drive across the city to get to the hotel. Absolutely not worth it- we should have just cut our losses. They put us in two different rooms that had clearly not even been cleaned by housekeeping (sheets not on bed, trash on floors) before finally giving us a room that at least appeared clean- until we pulled the sheets on the bed back to find that they were visibly dirty. It then took a couple more hours to locate a clean room during which time we were given keys to several rooms so we could go "check" to see if they were clean. Ultimately took about 4 hours just to get a clean room. And the next morning we found out the car next to ours in the parking lot had its window busted out during the night. We are pretty easy travelers to please, but our list of places we will never stay again is now one long- this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeHobbyMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Hobby Airport Inn, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
We are dedicated to deliver the highest level of service to our guests, your input will help us correct and improve our services to better achieve our primary goal. Your feedback is indeed of great importance to us. Our aim is for you to have a stay that is comfortable for you and your family. We apologize for the inconvenience wherein you have to choose for a room that will suit your family. Your comments regarding the cleanliness and upkeep of our accommodations – especially the rooms and beds will be immediately forwarded and updated to our staff to ensure that you’ll have a more likely stay in the future.

Thank you for giving us the insight into how we can better serve our guests in the future.
Rest assured the comments you made will be addressed in order for us to improve our services; we hope you give us a chance to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
0.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Houston Hobby Airport
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Houston Lobby
Econo Lodge Houston Lobby
#318 of 508 in Houston
29 reviews
1.3 mi away
Super 8 Houston Hobby Airport North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Motel 6 Houston - Hobby TX
Motel 6 Houston - Hobby TX
#380 of 508 in Houston
49 reviews
0.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn-Houston/Hobby Airport
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Houston Hobby Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hobby Airport Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hobby Airport Inn

Property: Hobby Airport Inn
Address: 8800 Airport Blvd, Houston, TX 77061-3400 (Formerly America's Best Value Inn Houston / Hobby Airport)
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #435 of 508 Hotels in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hobby Airport Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hobby Airport Inn & Suites is located in the heart of Houston-TX on famous Airport Blvd. We strive to give you the best value combined with the best location. Hotel features an outdoor pool and all rooms include expanded cable TV and free Wi-Fi. Rooms at hotel are furnished with a microwave and a refrigerator. We are just one mile from the Hobby Airport and we provide free shuttle to airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hobby Airport Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing