We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“VERY nice accommodations for the price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown
Ranked #11 of 501 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
orlando
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“VERY nice accommodations for the price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Our room, a king suite, was roomy and exceptionally clean. It was also quite elegant for a hotel at this price level. The complimentary breakfast was more than expected as was the cocktail hour offerings...also complimentary. The staff was friendly and professional. When we arrived there were two large buses of teens checking in. The bellman, Thomas, was managing the incoming traffic, helping everyone in the lobby with their luggage, directing people at the elevator, and still managed to deliver us and our luggage to our room promptly. Good location and pretty easy to get to off I10. Valet parking is a little pricey, but typical of busy downtown locations in other cities.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    772
    220
    52
    26
    14
See reviews for
291
143
24
496
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
MessyCaos
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

I generally like Embassy Suites for business travel because they have a pretty good complimentary breakfast and a cocktail hour. Among the Embassy locations I've been to, this one is certainly the nicest. The hotel is pretty new (<2 yr). Modern decor, a large breakfast selection relative to other ES hotels, and great downtown location within walking distance to several restaurants.

Staff is very, very courteous. Would gladly return for either business or personal stay.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank MessyCaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

I stayed at this hotel for one week in a corner room with a great view to the Toyota Centre and city. The room was extremely clean and very spacious, especially the bathroom. The breakfast was good and breakfast staff were very flexible as on my checkout day I had it before 6am and still got served as normal. Although the staff at the entrance wasn't that friendly as we asked for directions to restaurants/bars and they didn't seem in the mood to help. Twice. Location-wise, the hotel is very good with walking distance to restaurants. Car parking is expensive and hotel does not have its own private parking as the Hilton next to it, for instance. Anyway, I'd recommend this hotel to anyone travelling on business.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angelomonteiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sulphur, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Location is super for access to downtown business, close to several restaurants, close to George R. Brown Convention Center, and close to Minute Maid Park. The front desk staff were fairly inexperienced. The housekeeping was very good. The bartender was super nice, but the bar appeared that it was an afterthought in the design of the hotel. The temperature control in the room was the worst part of staying their several days a week for a couple of weeks. You could set the thermostat on 65F, but the temperature would only get down to 70F at best.

Room Tip: All the rooms were quiet. I would chose the east side of the building to stay away from the afterno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

I traveled to Houston back in February with friends, and enjoyed our stay at the Embassy Suites Houston Downtown. The location is perfect as it's a short drive to the bars via cab, or near the stadiums if you are there for a game. One thing to note that Houston Downtown(the city) is a ghost town during the weekends which shocked me, but the local bars and hangout spots are 10-15 minute cab drive away.

The hotel was clean, comfortable and the pull out couch was incredibly useful. Free happy hour, gym access, free buffet breakfast with the room were just a few perks that made this stay enjoyable, convenient and worth the trip.

If here for the weekend with friends/family or here for business it's a great spot.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MDC-BIZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

I chose the hotel because of its proximity to the convention center. And we are pleasantly surprised by the level of service and comforts offered by the hotel: large room size, excellent breakfast, cleanness and tasteful deco. Valet parking is not cheap. Overall we enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank 889annez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

This hotel is new, I think completed in 2013. Stayed one night. Great Location and price. I love staying at Embassy suites. They were out of standard queen beds so they gave me an ADA room. The bathrooms in the ADA (handicap) rooms don't offer individuals privacy. I was with my wife and 2 kids, both old enough (8&10) to understand about privacy. The bathroom doors slide but you can not lock them (this is ok with me). The problem? When the doors are "closed", you have a 1-2 inch gap on each side of the door. This allows anyone outside the bathroom to have a GREAT view of the shower and on the opposite side, you have a view of the toilet. Sometimes the bathroom is the only place where I can be alone a for a minutes :)

When I checked out, I showed pictures to the front desk staff, he was surprised and immediately called someone to the assist me. They informed me and the employee, that it is a bad design. The idea was to provide anyone in a wheel chair, a way to exit the bathroom in case the door is stuck or jammed. They could just push open the door. But I wish they had mentioned this to me. I would have asked for one king and use the pullout sofa for the kids.

The breakfast was great as usual, except for the layout. In most Embassy Suites, the bagels, cereal, forks, fruit are usually in a location that you could walk up and get your food. This location had them in the serving line. This was the same line people would wait for omelettes. It took me 15-20 minutes to get a bagel, cream cheese, cereal and fruit. Plus bowls and plates were scarce.

I would give 5 stars but the bathroom privacy issue and long wait for basic non cooked food each took one star away.

Would I stay here again, yes but I would make sure I get the room I wanted. By the way, The Hilton is a hop, skip and jump away from this place. Literally across the street.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ATM1876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
The Lancaster
The Lancaster
#1 of 501 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,326 reviews
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#4 of 501 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Houston
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel Houston
Magnolia Hotel Houston
#20 of 501 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown
Address: 1515 Dallas St, Houston, TX 77010-7137
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Houston
#3 Green Hotel in Houston
#6 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#7 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're an all-suite, urban high-rise hotel overlooking Discovery Green and adjacent to the Houston Rockets' Toyota Center. The hotel is conveniently just steps away from the George R. Brown Convention Center, Houston Astros’ Minute Maid Park and the Houston Pavilions shopping and entertainment complex.We offer free cooked-to-order breakfast, free WiFi and free evening cocktails at our nightly reception with your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Houston Downtown Hotel Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing