We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel, Parking cost way to much”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown
Ranked #11 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Frisco, United States
1 review
“Beautiful Hotel, Parking cost way to much”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

I loved the hotel, the service and people were awesome but the parking was over priced. $20-$30 dollars per night, that adds up! The Holiday inn down the street had free breakfast and free parking, we had friends that stayed there and it was very nice as well.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    852
    232
    55
    30
    15
See reviews for
330
156
24
536
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

I was in Houston for my friend's wedding in July. My husband and I decided to stay at this hotel because it was about 1 mile away from the reception venue and it has great reviews. If I visit Houston again, I will not stay here for the following reasons.

1. On my first evening being there, things already went wrong. After checking in, we dropped off our luggage in the room and immediately went down to the dinning for their complimentry drinks and snacks. We proceeded on getting our snacks but couldn't figure out where people got their cocktails. There were no signage. Apparently, the bar was hidden on the other side of the dinning room. After figuring that out, we stood in line for a good 10 minutes. Came our turn, the bartender refused to serve us because it was 7:30pm which was the cut off time. I couldn't believe it. They should've let me know before I stood in line. Technically, we were there before the cut off time. It wasn't my fault that they only had one person attending bar for a large crowd. Also, there were only 2 other people behind me. If she wanted to, she could have served us. That was just poor customer service.

To think this hotel is part of the Hilton group...

2. After finishing our snack, we went back to our room to rest. To our amazed, we found spots of bloods on the bed sheets when we pulled off the comforter. I immediately called the front desk for room service. We waited for 30 minutes and no one showed up. At this time, I was tired and sleepy from the early flight. So I called the front desked again and 10 minutes later 2 maids came. I showed them the blood stain and they had the audacity to ask me if the sheet was cleaned. I was appalled at their question. Obviously, they did not change the sheet before I checked in.

3. High parking fee. I thought this was a rip off for being in Texas where land is not an issued. I understand if this was DC.

4. This last one is more of me rather than the hotel's fault. Since we frequent places along Bellaire Rd, we rather find another hotel in the area instead of driving 30-40 minutes 1 way everyday and would hit traffic depending on the time of day.

If it weren't for these issues, it can be a really nice hotel. But I still question their cleaniest because it was apparent that they don't alway change the bedsheets between customers.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank starlit2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gold river
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Front desk staff excellent, suites very clean and comfortable. Parking for $30.00 per night, plus tax, plus gratuity was the only drawback. parking lot next door charges $5:50 per day 4am-6.00 pm. At 6:00 pm, all street parking is free, until 7am the next morning The Hilton next door charges $20.00 per day, Hayat $15.00 per day self parking. If they drop it a bit down, they would double their business.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
2 Thank adiugri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
League city, United States
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Once again embassy suites stood up to their brand, awesome hotel chain, very clean and spacious rooms, the managers reception is like no other. The morning breakfast is like wow cooked to order breakfast as well. Oh yeah they do recognize and honor the veterans as well as active duty military, would not stay any where else, if there is not embassy suites I will not travel there.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Bobby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

I would absolutely return. Check in went smoothly, all employees were very friendly during my visit. Hotel appears relatively new and everything is very clean, nothing worn down. Rooms are a great size, with the standard two room set up for an Embassy Suites room, King bed in one room, small living area in the other room with a fold out. Bathroom was a nice size. Could use a little more counter or shelf space. However, there is a counter with a bar type sink in the living area inclusive of a small fridge and microwave. Nice size table in that room too. Room was very quite with a heavy door. Two flat screen TVs, the one in the living area was probably a 42" and the one in the bedroom a little smaller. Large selection of channels and good pictures, but not a good working guide for channel and show selection. Bed was very comfortable, as were the selection of pillows. Buffet breakfast comes with the room and it pretty much has anything you need: cereals, pastries, area to be served eggs, bacon, etc., and an area that they will cook what you want. I tried the restaurant one evening and wasn't impressed with the meal. Good location and felt safe walking even in the evening.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelinsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I love this hotel! The staff is very helpful and the hotel is gorgeous, with spacious rooms. I just started a new workout program, and the gym was equipped with more than I needed. The location is a little further from my office than other hotels, but I will stay here from now on, because it's a cut above the other places I've stayed in the area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Our park view room on the 16th floor overlooked the park, the convention center, and Minute Maid field. Overall, the decor of the room and hallways is a bit garish. We really enjoyed the breakfast room. Only two hiccups: (1) our early check-out statement was mixed up with another room (privacy issue); and, (2) the valet service attempted to cover up an error on their part in retrieving our car.

Room Tip: upper floors are better ... park view is great ... corner suite is not needed
See more room tips
Green Features: if there were any towel rods in the bathroom, we might have been more inclined to retain our towels for multiple uses
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Downtown
The Lancaster
The Lancaster
#1 of 517 in Houston
1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#5 of 517 in Houston
456 reviews
Downtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Houston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown
Address: 1515 Dallas St, Houston, TX 77010-7137
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Houston
#3 Green Hotel in Houston
#6 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#7 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're an all-suite, urban high-rise hotel overlooking Discovery Green and adjacent to the Houston Rockets' Toyota Center. The hotel is conveniently just steps away from the George R. Brown Convention Center, Houston Astros’ Minute Maid Park and the Houston Pavilions shopping and entertainment complex.We offer free cooked-to-order breakfast, free WiFi and free evening cocktails at our nightly reception with your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Houston Downtown Hotel Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing