We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pretty good food”
Review of Samba Grille - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Samba Grille
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Texas & Smith
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
142 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“pretty good food”
Reviewed 20 June 2012

wait staff was so friendly and polite and I really value that as much as I do the food. Nothing spoils a meal more than a rude waitstaff

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank MelanieMcDo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    5
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Katy
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beware of the service”
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Eleven of us ate here after the theater on Saturday, June 16th. Even though we had reservations and the restaurant was almost empty, our table was not ready and it took almost 15 minutes for the staff to arrange our seating. It only got worse from there on! We had arrived at 4:15 and even though we were always ready to order when the wait staff attended our table we didn’t receive our food until 1 ½ hours later and finally received our checks at around 7:00 which included waiting 30 minutes for our checks after requesting them on four different occasions. On a positive note, if you don’t have anything better to do with your time the food was very good.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leroy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level Contributor
100 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice dinner spot downtown”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Had dinner there with some business colleagued. We arrived at 8:30 and the place was empty but we enjoyed the quiet. Had crab cakes and snapper which were both excellent. Server very attentive and understanding of special needs in our party. Would return on my next trip to Houston.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank xanthoxylum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lobster salad entree”
Reviewed 8 February 2012


Place was packed for dinner, was seated at bar. My server was attractive but not very observant and seemed clueless in terms of knowing the dinner menu. Understandable since she was a bartender but the other bartenders did not appear as challenged. Started with crab cake at 16$, very
Average. My entree was the butter poached lobster salad 22$ with a side of grilled scallops. The lobster was minced up and lost in some concoction. No respect for ingredients! Would have been better to simply use a few pieces of butter poached lobster as garnish so that the lobster flavor and texture could come out otherwise why bother to poach it in butter. Thankfully, the seared jumbo scallops saved the night. Camelized on the outside and the inside was hot but not over cooked. Great location but I would rather go to the Reef.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jalaska2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
“great new place”
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Great new place. Perfect for entertaining guests. I loved the arpas!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jamie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Samba Grille also viewed

 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing