We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and Wonderful Service from Oscar!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Valentino Vinbar Houston
Ranked #3,713 of 8,287 Restaurants in Houston
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Westheimer
Satellite Beach, Florida
2 reviews
“Great Food and Wonderful Service from Oscar!”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

A wonderful restaurant in a great hotel location. Oscar, our waiter, is the best!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Saluck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    8
    1
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Martini Bar Excellence”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

This place is in a trendy hotel but it has the feel of a stand alone Martini Bar. The place is usually busiest at Happy Hour time but goes pretty late as well. Plenty of people watching opportunities here. It is a very interesting place.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Monte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

The wait staff was very helpful and considerate when we first arrived. They were always available to be of assistance with any special needs. Thank you all.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mirna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great!”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

The food was fast and hot, the drinks were expensive, but that is to be expected of a hotel bar.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank cutetexasstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice for cocktails and dinner, good for breakfast and lunch.”
Reviewed 29 January 2012

For those of us who attend conferences at the Hotel Derek, we're a bit of a captive audience at Valentino's. Fortunately, it's got a lot going for it.

For breakfast, there's a buffet, which is your best bet for getting in and out quickly. (I've had times when a special order took more than 30 minutes, because the kitchen was backed up with room service).

Lunch is a pretty straightforward affair, with a choice of sandwiches and salads. The burger is good, the grilled chicken sandwich was tasty, and their salads are what you want for lunch. I'm a fan of the herbed butter they bring with your bread basked.

Dinner is where Valentino's shines. The lights get turned down, and the mood changes. With a range of small plates, and more traditional dinner fare, there is something for everyone. I still recall an ahi sashimi appetizer I had on my first visit, and the delicious cocktail I got with it. Things pick up beginning at happy hour, and soon there's a crowd mingling and rubbing elbows. There is even live music many evenings.

I especially like the versatility of the menu. One evening when I wasn't very hungry, I got a side plate of pasta and a plate of delicious grilled asparagus. A perfect meal, and at a great price.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leslieinsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Valentino Vinbar Houston also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Valentino Vinbar Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing