We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A double bed in a small room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Houston IAH Airport
Ranked #290 of 518 Hotels in Houston
Reviewed 31 May 2014

United Airlines (being 4 hours late in a flight from EWR to IAH) put us up in this hotel after we missed the last flight to Austin that day. At that point, we had been awake almost 24 hours having started out in Paris (United's CDG to EWR flight was one and a half hours late). The hotel is rundown and is very basic. Someone had stolen the door lock into the bathroom and the coffee maker did not work. There was no tub, but there was a good shower. Maybe the non-comp rooms were better.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saraa001, Guest Relations Manager at Red Roof Inn Houston IAH Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the IAH Houston Airport, TX Red Roof. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations.

Thank you for sharing your concerns, and I hope you will give us the opportunity to better serve you at Red Roof the next time your travel plans require lodging.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

153 - 159 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Very close to IAH and convenient to all roads and freeways. Has great WiFi at no charge, rooms are very clean and if you're not a big breakfast eater they have what you need to start the morning off right. Nice plaza directly behind with numerous choices for lunch and dinner. Room rates are very reasonable and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ryen7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saraa001, Guest Relations Manager at Red Roof Inn Houston IAH Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

I am happy you enjoyed our complimentary wireless internet, Thank you for staying with us I was happy to read that found your room to be clean and with a pleasant smell. I hope we will get the honor of welcoming you back next time you visit Houston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We had a very early flight out of Houston so we stayed at this Inn. Not only was the rate reasonable the hotel was clean, staff was friendly and helpful. Also as a bonus we parked our car in their lot for a very nominal fee.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gramps3421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saraa001, Guest Relations Manager at Red Roof Inn Houston IAH Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing you in your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This hotel is horrible.

My family and I stayed at the hotel in late April 2014. Thankfully, we only stayed one night.

First off, the woman at the front desk was clueless, and could barely speak English. Also, she appeared over worked, and couldn't seem to handle the work load she was responsible for.

Also, don't expect WIFi at this hotel, it was broken the entire time we were there. No, it wasn't just me, many guests were complaining. I asked the front desk girl, and she said the WiFi hasn't been working recently, and she wasn't sure when it would be fixed.

The pool was also small and dirty looking.

Also, the room was pretty spartan and dirty. I went to the lobby before going to bed to ask for an extra pillow, and I was told "We don't give extra pillows to guests" Really ???

Also, the rooms are very loud. We were kept awake all night long by the road traffic. Apparently there isn't any insulation in the walls.

We checked out at 6:30 AM, and the so called "continental breakfast" wasn't even available yet.

We utilized the on premise parking, and the hotel agreed to pick us up at the airport when we returned.

After an enjoyable trip to Cozumel, we arrive back to Houston, and attempt to contact the Hotel. I was told "the shuttle is on the way". After about 45 minutes, and 3 more phone calls to the hotel, the shuttle finally arrived. Keep in mind, while we were waiting, all of the other hotel shuttles must have passed us 3 or 4 times (just nobody from Red Roof). In summary, Don't depend on their shuttle, its slow and unreliable.

Overall, our stay was bad, and the customer service terrible to non existent.

Do yourself a favor, and book a different hotel near the airport. I will never stay at another Red Roof again!

Room Tip: Here's a room tip....stay at a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anton5052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My husband, son and I stayed here last year before an international flight and had a very pleasant experience. Not so much this year.

Upon check-in we were met by staff that carried the aire of not really caring about their customers, they just wanted the shift to end so they could do what they wanted to do, not what their duties entailed. Staff spoke poor english, had little knowledge of the services offered by the hotel (extended parking, wi-fi, shuttle service, breakfast service), and were above all fairly rude.

Wi-fi is a joke. You must go to the lobby by the front desk to access it anymore.

The room was very disgusting. The floor felt as if it had either not beed cleaned in a long time or it had too much solution applied at the last cleaning. It was just very tacky and left me feeling very dirty. Add to that the fact that you get three pillows that are about 12x12 inches square and it really adds insult to the room injury.

The a/c hardly functioned and when it did it was excessively noisy. To make matters worse the exterior window pane on the double paned windows was broken thus killing the energy efficiency.

The continental breakfast was not available in the morning. It appears that they do not start service until after 6:30 on the weekends. In other words if you have an early morning flight booked on the weekend you can count this place out for breakfast.

When we returned from out trip we had to wait close to 45 minutes for the shuttle to arrive to pick us up from the airport. I have to assume the shuttle runs pick-ups only every 30 minutes, as they do drop-offs. It was very frustrating after a long day of travel with a tired and grumpy 2 y.o. to have to stand out in the muggy, smoke filled heat of the pick-up area watching the area hotels shuttles come and go non-stop.

While we enjoyed our stay here last year the experiences this year have soured our taste for the hotel and we will not return next year.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank menwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zohra C, Manager at Red Roof Inn Houston IAH Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Hello

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the IAH Houston Airport, TX Red Roof. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please accept my sincerest apologies.

At Red Roof, we strive to provide every customer with superior service; therefore your feedback is very important to us. I want you to know that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem that occurred during your stay to prevent any future occurrence.

We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Stayed here after a cancelled flight - a few days have passed and I am still surprised that a large airline would put people in this place.

Check-in staff were rude and appealingly clueless, little improved in the room, which could be best described as a bad dream. The room was fairly clean although small and hopelessly smelly, and not to the mention the noise it appeared to be under direct flight paths.

The hotel is clearly cheap and with that a huge variety of different persons further lowered the already lacking substance, with the sounds of people coming and going almost all night and little sound insulation made this stay poor.

I really do think skipping this hotel would be a good idea - perhaps try upgrading to a tent, as I am sure it would be better.

Room Tip: Don't even bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zohra C, Manager at Red Roof Inn Houston IAH Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Hello

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the IAH Houston Airport, TX Red Roof. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please accept my sincerest apologies.

you mentioned in your review (Stayed here after a cancelled flight and a few days have passed and I am still surprised that a large airline would put people in this place).since you were here you know we are surrounding with 15 different hotels with a walking distance if you were really unhappy with the service you should pick a different hotel or talk to airline to put you a different hotel but you decided to stay with us for few days.i understand your frustration about
flight been cancelled but you need to understand that its not the hotel fault that the airline over booked us and we have to deal with all the guest that are mad and frustrated and they take it out on us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

United Air booked us in this hotel because of a missed connection. Reception area had an old and bad, musty smell. Room was absolutely disgusting. I was concerned about laying my head down on the pillow. Pillows smelled and bedding only had a worn out sheet with a blanket. Why would United Air put their customers in a hotel like this? I would never stay here or any of this chain again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Bonnie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zohra C, Manager at Red Roof Inn Houston IAH Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Hello

I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please accept my sincerest apologies. if you were not satisfied with your room then why didn't you let us know that night we could offer you a different room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Houston
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Houston Bush IAH South
0.1 mi away
Sheraton North Houston at George Bush Intercontinental
3.4 mi away
Ramada Houston Intercontinental Airport East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Houston-Bush Intercontinental Airport
0.1 mi away
Doubletree Houston Intercontinental Airport
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Bush Intercontinental Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Houston IAH Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Houston IAH Airport

Address: 15675 John F Kennedy Blvd, Houston, TX 77032-2313 (Formerly Oxford Inn IAH)
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #290 of 518 Hotels in Houston
Price Range: £46 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Houston IAH Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located two miles from George Bush Intercontinental Airport (IAH), Red Roof Houston-IAH Airport welcomes you! Our comfortable inn offers a complimentary continental breakfast, fitness room, business center, guest laundry, outdoor pool and a free airport shuttle. We are close to Deer Brook Mall, Greenspoint Mall, and Splashtown. Visiting on business? Red Roof Houston IAH Airport is near Halliburton, GE, Humble Civic Center, and the Greenspoint Business District. If you enjoy sports, we’re convenient to Reliant Park, Toyota Center, Minute Maid Park, and the Sam Houston Race Park. Nature lover? Check out Galveston Beach, Cityview Park, or Thomas R. Wussow Park. If you enjoy museums, check our Mercer Arboretum and Botanic Gardens, the Museum of Natural Science, or the NASA/Space Center. Red Roof Houston IAH Airport is about ½ hour away from downtown Houston, the University of Houston, Amtrak, and the bus station. We have a number of great restaurants nearby for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Red Roof Inn, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof Inn Houston IAH Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Houston Iah Airport Hotel Houston
Sleep Inn Houston
Houston Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing