We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Was once a good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn and Suites Houston Medical Center - Reliant Park
Ranked #39 of 504 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Was once a good hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

I have stayed at this hotel several times. It was always good but recently there has been a management change or an ownership change and the level of comfort here is way down.

I checked in and the front desk staff was rude and almost to the point of being obnoxious. It seemed that everyone at the hotel was mad at each other and taking it out on the customer. I found out that there is a new manager, so that could be the problem.

The usual Hampton experience is good, but this hotel has gone wrong in some manner. I would suggest going to the Marriott if you are going to the medical center and avoid this hotel until they straighten the management/operation of the hotel out.

I certainly will NEVER stay here again.

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralphie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAYRAR367, Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Houston Medical Center - Reliant Park, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Ralphie G,

I'm so sorry for your poor experience on your recent stay at our hotel. Please be assured I will be discussing your comments with our management team to work on immediate improvements. We take pride in providing the best in lodging and service so our lapses during your stay are being taken very seriously. I would be delighted to be of assistance in this matter if you would like to contact me at your earliest convinience at mayra.rascon@hilton.com or 713-797-0040 Ext 4908. Again, on behalf of the staff and management - I offer our apologies.

Always at your service,

Mayra Rascon
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    192
    69
    34
    20
See reviews for
237
110
57
217
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockwall, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We needed a comfortable hotel near the Reliant Center. I found the Hampton while driving in the area during a trip in January and thought I would give it a try on my next trip. I'm very pleased that I did. Hotel has gated parking and a very nice reception area. The staff were very friendly and knowledgeable of the area. Our room was very clean and comfortable. Very good wifi with a computer desk area. The bedding was wonderfully fresh with the best pillows that I can remember. The free breakfast was much better and more varied than most hotels with sausage, scrambled eggs, waffles, mixed fresh fruit, hot oatmeal and cereal. Also had excellent coffee. There is a Lubys cafeteria on the adjacent property for those who do not want to drive to dinner.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne6396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAYRAR367, Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Houston Medical Center - Reliant Park, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Wayne6396,

Thank you very much for your 5 star rating and for taking your value time to share it online, we're thrilled to know that our great staff along with our friendly service and amenities meet your expectations, we will more than happy to see you again on your trip to the area. Please feel free to contact me direct if I can be at your assistance.

Always at your service,

Mayra Rascon
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

I did not have my typical Hampton Inn experience staying at this location.
Pros:
They offer a shuttle starting at 6:15 am to TMC and it is available all day and into the evening. The shuttle will also take you to restaurants in a 3 mile radius for dinner during the week. This is nice considering the only places to eat in walking distance is Luby's and Subway.
The shuttle drivers are some of the best I have experienced - they are nice, they help you with your bags, they do not drive crazy, and they know where they are going.
The woman managing the breakfast is good. She makes a beautiful display of fruit salad with fresh fruit. Granted the timer on the waffle maker does not work but that is not her fault.
The shower though older works well and does not leak out all over the floor.

Cons:
When I got to the hotel Joe told me my reservation was for 1 night 2 days prior but the email I had confirmed my reservation was starting the day I arrived for 4 nights. This has never happened to me.
Joe decided to answer multiple calls that called in after I arrived at the front desk instead of deal with the issue above. He did not suggest they had a room available for me. When Doug came to the front desk, I talked with him and he was helpful.
The hotel is 2 miles away from TMC in an asphalt jungle. It is not a nice area to walk around in. The hotels off of Fannin are in walking distance of the hospitals and a running/walking trail.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Noa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Briny Breezes, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Hampton Inns are reliably clean with friendly, helpful employees & a great breakfast buffet. The hot food is hot & there is a huge variety. We've stayed in several Hampton Inns along the east coast, Houston, TX; San Diego, CA & Tampa, FL with no complaints.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Brenda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAYRAR367, Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Houston Medical Center - Reliant Park, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Brenda D,

As a pride employee of the Hilton chain I would like to thank you for your loyalty to our brand, is very exited to hear that or "Hamptonality" goes from coast to coast and that you enjoy our services and amenities, here at Houston are looking forward to see you again on your next trip to the area. Please feel free to contact me direct if I can be at your assitance at 713-797-0040 or mayra.rascon@hilton.com

Always at your service,

Mayra Rascon
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I have become very fond of the Hampton Inn & Suites hotels and this one is no exception. Comfortable rooms and a really good breakfast, with helpful staff and a reliable shuttle service covering both the Reliant Center and the local amenities. Happy hour in the lobby each evening was very sociable and a good way to break the monotony of business travel. Good wifi connection too. Watch out for the elevator though - at peak times you will have to show a lot of patience. (take the stairs!)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Stayed here while doing tests at M.D.Anderson. Helpful staff, clean room, good value, and shuttle to the door at the Hospital. Could not ask for more. Full kitchen suite with couch/bed if needed. Breakfast was excellent and very varied. Lubys next door! Always stay at Hamptons and this is a good one. B.Alexander

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAYRAR367, Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Houston Medical Center - Reliant Park, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Barbara A,

Thank you so much for this fantastic review, we're happy to know that our lovely hotel was great for your needs I will be sure to pass your comments around with the staff here, one more time THANKS!

Always at your service,

Mayra A. Rascon
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at this Hampton Inn while in Houston visiting our son, a student at Rice U. The hotel is very conveniently located to Rice, the Medical Center and Reliant Stadium. All hotel staff members we came into contact with were pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was terrific and included many choices, including fresh fruit and waffles and eggs/meat. Our room was clean, fresh, comfortable and well maintained. Rooms tend to book up during the week and can be a little expensive. But, if you are able to book in advance there's a good chance you'll save some money and be happy with the rate.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Footloose39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAYRAR367, Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Houston Medical Center - Reliant Park, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Footlose39,

Thanks you very much for taking few minutes of your valued time to share your comments with this fantastic online community, we're thrilled to know that we meet your needs and that our great "On the House" breakfast had everything that you expect. We're looking forward to serve you again on the near future, please feel free to contact me direct if I can be at your assistance at Mayra.Rascon@hilton.com

Always at your service,

Mayra Rascon
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Medical Center
Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Suites
#201 of 504 in Houston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites Houston Medical Center - Reliant Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites Houston Medical Center - Reliant Park

Property: Hampton Inn and Suites Houston Medical Center - Reliant Park
Address: 1715 Old Spanish Trl, Houston, TX 77054-1909
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#34 Family Hotel in Houston
#36 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn and Suites Houston Medical Center - Reliant Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel’s central location makes it an excellent choice for guests visiting the nearby business parks, medical center, and famous sporting grounds. Whether you’re traveling on business or on vacation with loved ones, you’ll enjoy free in-room internet access, a fitness center and pool, and Hampton’s free hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites Houston Medical Center - Reliant Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Houston Medical Center - Reliant Park Hotel Houston
Hampton Inn Houston
Houston Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing