We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Think again...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Derek Houston Galleria
Ranked #110 of 508 Hotels in Houston
GreenLeadersSilver level
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Think again...”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Went here for a 5 year anniversary "staycation". Hotel was nice upon arrival. Had to wait a few minutes to be checked in. Was on the 14th floor with an east (downtown) view. The view was alright with a lot of construction to view. I paid good money for this "4 star" hotel. I booked online through the hotel website and added champagne and chocolate covered strawberries. Got to my room and they weren't there. Had to call the front desk to remind them then it took them an hour to bring them up (total mood killer). Valet parking is $30.00/per night (ridiculous for the average nightly rate for room). I have stayed at the St. Regis before and don't remember paying for valet, just a tip, and there was ice in a bucket for the mini bar when we got to our room at st. Regis.

I did not let these incidents ruin my evening. I brought everything up when I checked out and the girl who checked me out did not care at all or offer anything to try and make me happy.

I would not stay at Hotel Derek again. Plenty of other 4 and 5 star hotels in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmittauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    420
    307
    213
    113
    105
See reviews for
119
346
72
441
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Good hotel, friendly staff.
Close the the Galleria mall.
The hotel has a nice and modern feel.

Unfortunately I got a room with a connecting door (which I hate) despite asking in my reservation for a room without one.
Also they only have valet-parking.

Otherwise a great stay at a good price.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Airportinhabitant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn G, General Manager at Hotel Derek Houston Galleria, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Greatly appreciate your feedback on your recent stay with us. We do offer a self-parking along with valet-parking. Come back and visit us soon.

Live Well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Global
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I really liked the feel of the hotel, staff are friendly, quick check in and out. The cow theme and the art work through out the hotel makes stand out from the competition and gives the hotel a vibrancy that energizes you all be it perhaps on a sub conscious level.
The room was clean and bed comfortable. The shower head leaked a little but that is my only real grumble on the room.
Car parking was a little time consuming, you need to call in advance to ensure you don't have to wait, however they do advise you of this.
Breakfast was good, all though thinly staffed as it was a buffet. Generally a relaxed feel to the hotel.
Well located to walk to several restaurants and shopping in the Gallareia and surrounding strip malls.
Good value

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelleroffortune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn G, General Manager at Hotel Derek Houston Galleria, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
We definitely want you to feel like you are part of Texas when visiting Hotel Derek. Glad you had a great time with us. Can’t wait to have you back.

Live Well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

After spending 3 nights in Derek hotel last week, I have to admit that I am quite puzzled by some of negative reviews. Because Derek truly is a GREAT hotel, with cool design throughout, excellent service
(the consierge in particular) and that special feeling that you are staying in the most happening place in town. Rooms are very cosy yet stylish. Location is very good - just across the road from huge Galeria shopping mall. Furthermore, within 3 mile radius there are couple of very nice residential areas with excellent shops and restaurants (free hotel shuttle provided). Looking forward to revisit Derek in the near figurevery helpful and that special feeling that you are staying

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank hefnerjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn G, General Manager at Hotel Derek Houston Galleria, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you for the truly amazing feedback on your recent stay with us at Hotel Derek! Glad that you took advantage of our complimentary shuttle - hope you enjoyed the very hip and happening Galleria area. Look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Live Well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a recent conference; worked with the hotel on conference arrangements. The staff was courteous and friendly, service was excellent, and the hotel was extremely flexible when working within our budget. My room was nicely appointed, all appliances worked well, bell service was prompt and friendly. Food service for the conference was excellent. All in all a great value for our event. The hotel is located right in the middle of the best shopping in Houston, so it was easy for spouses and guests to be entertained throughout the conference.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn G, General Manager at Hotel Derek Houston Galleria, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you for commenting on Hotel Derek’s convenient location; there is absolutely no shortage of great entertainment in the Galleria area. Glad the spouses were able to enjoy their time in Houston as well.

Live Well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Plata, Argentina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This is a nice hotel, rooms are comfortable and clean. The restaurant is very good, but service from hotel staff sometimes was not that good. Great location, near the Galleria and other shops. A van was available to take guests to places near the hotel, that was very useful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoniaPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Derek 10/10-10/2, three nights. The following is a summary of the multitude of problems at this establishment.
1) The bar is advertised as being open until 2am in the guest services books. (see photo). It advertises that they serve food until 1:30am. They closed at midnight. The night manager, Mary Mitchell was uncaring when I pointed out the error to them. She said the time change happened a year ago. She seem 'put-out' at having to talk to me. The conference events manager Jenny Durham Hung called up the conference organizer and asked that my supervisor talk to me. She tried to intimidate me by threatening my integrity with my colleagues. The hotel did comp me one night, however, I consider their action of calling the conference organizer & asking that my supervisor talk to me - - - a cheap under-handed move. I pointed out an error to them in their own printed guest services. As the customer - I was correct.
3) We had two keys to the room. My husband's key didn't work.
4) They did not ask if I had a car with me when I checked in. My room key was not programmed to work with the parking garage system and I was unable to exit the 1st night. A valet attendant wanted me to pay him cash and he would use his key pass to open up the automated arm.
5) When I got the room keys programmed to work with the parking garage system then one of them didn't work to enter our hotel room anymore.
6) The television in the room went to a blue screen and said "signal lost" every 5 minutes so you could not watch a program and understand the storyline.
7) The lobby area reeks of perfume. It is disgusting and over-powering. You can hardly breathe when you enter the hotel from the parking garage.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mezaland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Houston hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Great Uptown
Sheraton Suites Houston Near The Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Great Uptown
Omni Houston Hotel
Omni Houston Hotel
#22 of 508 in Houston
1,835 reviews
Hotel ZaZa Houston
#6 of 508 in Houston
1,648 reviews
Great Uptown
Hotel Granduca Houston
Hotel Granduca Houston
#2 of 508 in Houston
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Derek Houston Galleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Derek Houston Galleria

Property: Hotel Derek Houston Galleria
Address: 2525 West Loop S, Houston, TX 77027-4501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Houston
#34 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#62 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#89 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Derek Houston Galleria 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EXPERIENCE A NEW KIND OF SOUTHERN HOSPITALITY - ONE WHERE UNPARALLELED SERVICE AND DESIGNER AMENITIES ALLOW YOU TO APPRECIATE BEING IN THE MOMENT AND IN THE LOOP. Named for Houston's black gold roots, a play on the "derrick" drilling rig, Hotel Derek's bold styled guestrooms and suites are overflowing with modern details and stylish comforts inspired by fashionably chic Texas decor. Photography by world-renowned Arthur Meyerson adorns our public areas and guestrooms, capturing the spirit of Texas wildcatters; while everything from our black granite lobby floors to bold textiles and colors pays homage to our city's rich heritage in the oil industry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Derek Houston Galleria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derek Hotel Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing