We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your ordinary hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Derek Houston Galleria
Ranked #109 of 507 Hotels in Houston
GreenLeadersSilver level
East Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not your ordinary hotel”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

My first time in Houston was great and Hotel Derek was definitely a great pick. The hotel is well located near the Galleria and the shuttle service can take you to there. The decoration is beautiful, but a little too colorful for my taste. Unfortunately, the pool was getting renovated when I was staying. When I visit Houston again, I'm definitely coming back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Trung D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn G, General Manager at Hotel Derek Houston Galleria, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you for staying at Hotel Derek on your first visit to H-town. You will be pleased to hear that Splash and Terrace had reopened with a very cool new look and the addition of a drive-in style movie wall. Please visit us again when you travel brings you back to Houston.

Live Well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    420
    307
    213
    113
    105
See reviews for
119
346
72
441
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

Hotel Derek is really hip and well done contemporary! Love it! Definitely would recommend it!

Pros: front desk extremely helpful, clean, great location, comfortable, cool, quick valet service, THE BEST SHOWER I HAVE EVER HAD, very comfortable room, good view of downtown, breakfast good, great cozy bed.

Cons: valet $30/day, service in breakfast was not very efficient,

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Cindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn G, General Manager at Hotel Derek Houston Galleria, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you for your fabulous comments. It is always our intention to exceed your expectations in every way possible. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Live Well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mezcales, Nayarit, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Well located, great amenities, beds are like heaven! Im definitely comming back.. The decoration is beautifull, furnitures in excellent shape, the shuttle service is a huge advantage! they can take you to the Galleria!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Meli A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn G, General Manager at Hotel Derek Houston Galleria, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Meli, can’t wait to have you back as well at Hotel Derek! We hope that you enjoyed the wonderful Galleria location “In The Loop”.

Live Well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
71 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I have stayed a couple of times in the Galeria area of Houston and this is my favorite hotel - not your usual run of the mill chain hotel! I especially loved the nice decor, the rooms are really nice and so is the lobby and other areas. I also liked that the rom was really quite despite facing towards the interstate. The staff is polite and helpfull - all in all this was a good stay. The valet parking is expensive - but that not uncommon i think. On the plus side free WIFI (and thats very uncommon these days in mid level business hotels). I also had dinner in the restaurant a couple of time and i can really recommend the Hangover burger - the best burger i ever had (and im not kidding).

Room Tip: Rooms with an even number face towards downtime (away from the loop) and might be (even) quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MortenA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn G, General Manager at Hotel Derek Houston Galleria, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
We love to hear feedback like yours and also very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the newly renovated Hotel Derek. AND, you absolutely can’t go wrong with our very famous hangover burger. Look forward to welcoming you back real soon.

Live Well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I stayed here on a recent business trip to Houston.
We were upgraded to a beautiful suite..2 bathrooms ,nice sitting room..really a very nice quiet room away from the highway.
The bed was comfortable.
The room was clean.
The staff was very friendly.
I'd just like free breakfast but I really can't complain about anything.

Room Tip: ask for a high floor away from the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldneal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
118 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Only stayed 1 night, but the hotel stay was lovely. We stayed on the 15th floor (top floor) and had a wonderful view of downtown Houston. The room is quite lovely! Really liked the window seat the width of the room,. It made it very easy to keep suitcases open for use and no need to unpack.
We were attending a private party in the River Oaks area and the shuttle took us and picked us up after the event. That was quite nice.
The location is right off the Loop, so very easy to find.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KitAustin_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn G, General Manager at Hotel Derek Houston Galleria, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you for your wonderful feedback on your recent stay with us at Hotel Derek! We are so pleased that you enjoyed the view from your room and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Live Well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed here when I came to Houston for a celebration. This hotel was recommended by my friends. It has a beautiful entrance .... Made me feel great as I drove in well past midnight on the night of my checkin. It's a 20-min drive from Houston Hobby Airport (HOU). The hotel reminds me of the W in San Francisco. The room was awesome. Free wifi. Awesome restaurant - for breakfast steel-cut oats was in the buffet, for dinner seared scallops was incredible .....
Pick this hotel if you can get the one-hundred-per-night rate :)

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ssaikia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn G, General Manager at Hotel Derek Houston Galleria, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
We love to hear that you enjoyed the arrival experience at the newly renovated Hotel Derek! Definitely suggest that you come see us again soon, as we’re enhancing our menus and keeping them fresh with a seasonal rotation which you’re sure to enjoy again.

Live Well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Great Uptown
Sheraton Suites Houston Near The Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Great Uptown
Omni Houston Hotel
Omni Houston Hotel
#22 of 507 in Houston
1,833 reviews
Hotel ZaZa Houston
#5 of 507 in Houston
1,647 reviews
Great Uptown
Hotel Granduca Houston
Hotel Granduca Houston
#2 of 507 in Houston
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Derek Houston Galleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Derek Houston Galleria

Property: Hotel Derek Houston Galleria
Address: 2525 West Loop S, Houston, TX 77027-4501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Houston
#33 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#62 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#89 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Derek Houston Galleria 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EXPERIENCE A NEW KIND OF SOUTHERN HOSPITALITY - ONE WHERE UNPARALLELED SERVICE AND DESIGNER AMENITIES ALLOW YOU TO APPRECIATE BEING IN THE MOMENT AND IN THE LOOP. Named for Houston's black gold roots, a play on the "derrick" drilling rig, Hotel Derek's bold styled guestrooms and suites are overflowing with modern details and stylish comforts inspired by fashionably chic Texas decor. Photography by world-renowned Arthur Meyerson adorns our public areas and guestrooms, capturing the spirit of Texas wildcatters; while everything from our black granite lobby floors to bold textiles and colors pays homage to our city's rich heritage in the oil industry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Derek Houston Galleria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derek Hotel Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing