We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites
Ranked #255 of 506 Hotels in Houston
Celestun, Yucatan, mexico
Level Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Great hotel with good service, clean pool and rooms, the only negative is the area, i would not want to walk around this area alone at night

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    24
    16
    13
    13
See reviews for
18
19
9
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

I have stayed in many HIE and this is the first time I feel unsafe.
The cleanliness and condition of the room is about the same as other HIE. However the big problem is that the door lock was faulty and it can be opened from outside without needing a key. When I was inside the room, the only security I have is the latch. When I'm not in the room, there's no way to lock the door and anyone could open the door from outside.
Made a complain and the problem was fixed, but only for a day. It was faulty again on the following day. A second complain was made but nothing was done when I came back to my room in the evening.
Check you room door when you check in and insist on changing another room if you have the same problem.

Other than the above problem, this HIE is quite ok... KFC and Denny's are located in short walking distance, just across the street. There's a convenience stall at the Shell petrol station. USD35 taxi from the Galleria. No complimentary of bottle drinking water. WiFi was free and OK. Self service coin base laundry and dryer. Clean and comfortable room... JUST NOT SAFE WITH A FAULTY LOCK!!!

Room Tip: Make sure your door lock is checked upon check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kelvinyam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Dear kelvinyam,

Thank you for staying with us. Guest comfort and safety are of the utmost concern to us and our hotels are committed to making every possible effort to provide a secure environment, and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.


Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Montana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

This Holiday Inn property features the best rates of all the IHG hotels in the Houston area. It's still close enought to down town to be convienient. The hotel is older but has such a good remodel I was fooled into thinking it was a newer hotel. I'm biased toward Holiday Inn's, so I will judge this one based only on others:
Pros
Updated rooms are really pleasant
Upscale lobby spaces
Wonderful complimentary breakfast (closes at 9:30)
Fenced parking lot
Caring owner/manager

Cons
Vagrants freequent the gas station across the street
Southside means farther from the airport
Better rates means if books up quickly

Room Tip: Always ask for a free upgrade to a suite. The breakfast bar closes early (9:30) so don't sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdmiralNahohkta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Usa, Japan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2012

I was rather pleased with the armoire, it gave the room more space when a closet would have stolen square-footage. It was a cool part of winter and we didn't use the AC unit. The main thing I noticed is that the smell of the public rooms downstairs as well as the hallway outside our room and inside the room were pleasant smells. All too often, along the Gulf coast, I find the hotel rooms are stuffy, moldy-smelling, and/or just have yucky smells.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnaC26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Excellent guest service, great rooms, and very good good staff. I have stayed here twice already and on both occasions it was for business purposes. We got moved to a suite because the general manager Krupali Shah was kind enough to do so. The staff is polite and its one of the better Holiday Inn properties that we stayed at. Banking, shopping, recreation is all around the hotel. They give great concierge service as well at the front desk. Anne in paticular was very tolerant with our demands and she alongbwith her team did everything to make ends meet. Thankyou very much for a very pleasurable stay. I look forward to staying here in the near future.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnirudhJhunjhunwala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

My room was clean enough, it just wasn't all that great. This was an older property that a paint job couldn't update. I was bummed that my room didn't have a closet. It had tall box-like cupboards on each side of the TV with 3 hangers apiece. The heater/ac was also old and NOISY so I kept it off (thankfully it was February). So if you get a decent discount it would be OK, just not worth $100.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaGuy16830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
104 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

You get what you pay for...

The rooms are clean and of good size. The breakfast if adequate and prepared hygienically. The people here are always friendly and courteous but I personally hardly ever have problems with rudeness wherever I go. I guess it's about communication?

When I got into the room it was a little musty. This I think is from the airco. The airco is noisy but at this time of year it's not needed. Turning off the aico solved the problem. One other slight downside is the beds are soft. I like a hard mattress. At least there was a choice of pillows.

For the business traveller - the wifi is pretty good. It's fast, free and stable.

The price was fine for this level of hotel - in fact very reasonable.

What isn't good here? The neighbourhood. It's not really safe outside at night. There is no bar and as the only way to get around here is by car or cab then best to factor that into your stay.

I see a few negative comments about the gym. There are a couple of treadmills and a cross trainer. You could say that this is not a lot. I'd be more tempted to say "you get what you pay for".

All in all pretty standard and adequate.

Would I stay here again? Yes - it's very convenient for where I need to be and as I normally don't have a car then it's a no brainer.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the elevators on the left side of the hotel as you face the entrance (I think t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thurstonland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
1.2 mi away
Comfort Suites - Near the Galleria
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Houston Southwest
1.2 mi away
Best Western Galleria Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Houston-Galleria TX
Days Inn Houston-Galleria TX
#145 of 506 in Houston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
2.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Houston Galleria Area
2.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Houston by the Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites
Address: 6687 Southwest Fwy, Houston, TX 77074-2209
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #255 of 506 Hotels in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from the world famous Galleria Shopping Mall and a diverse variety of elegant cuisines. 11 Miles from downtown Houston, 18 Miles from William P. Hobby Airport (HOU), and 30 Miles from George W. Bush Intercontinental Airport (IAH). We are located at the Hillcroft exit on Hwy 59 South in between Beltway 8 West and 610 West. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Houston Hwy 59s/Hillcroft
Holiday Inn Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing