We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only if you have to”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Houston Northwest
Ranked #238 of 517 Hotels in Houston
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
393 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Only if you have to”
Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

With the other Marriott being booked, this was my only option, and what an honor to get a Motel 6 service! Check that, there is no service. Not a pair of slippers or a bathrobe. No bottled water in the room. Hy, the Internet is free, thanks for that! Staff is very friendly, and the room seemed clean, but poorly laid out, with a tiny bathroom and a very small kitchen. I suppose if you're on an extended work trip and don't need to live in the lap of luxury, this place would do just fine...

Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank hi_stick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
morgan_gurung, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Houston Northwest, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Thank you very much for the comment. We appreciate your business. We are sorry for not being able to provide you a pair of slippers and a bathrobe which you normally get it in a full service Marriott property. Being an extended service property, you may have noticed the genuine service from our staffs and a complete kitchenette full of utensils and a dish wash as well as large refrigerator. We are glad to see that you have noticed our staffs being friendly and hospitable and we provide clean rooms to our Guests. As always we appreciate your loyalty to Marriott.
Sincerely,

Morgan Gurung,CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    23
    13
    7
    6
See reviews for
23
3
Solo
0
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel for two nights. Only a few minor things to write about. One was the noise from the rooms above as it is very easy to hear the people walking on the floor above you. The wait staff is very friendly and helpful for trying to answer questions. My only other thought is if you are allergy sensitive, the fragrance used during cleaning/air freshening is very strong and stays for days in the room.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveA65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
morgan_gurung, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Houston Northwest, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
Hello DaveA65,

Thank you for your nice comments about our staffs. We really appreciate your nice feedback. We just have started to use the Febreeze as a room air refreshner which does not leave behind any fragrance smell. We are thankful for your comments because that is what help us to improve.
As always, we appreciate your business and look forward to serving you again in your next visit to Houston North west area.
Thanks a lot!

Morgan Gurung,CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Traveling with family? Want a great large studio or suite room with kitchen to save money on restaurants? This is the place!! Rooms are clean, large, and very inviting. Kitchens are completely equipped with utensils and cookware. Stores are nearby for grocery shopping. Complimentary breakfast is excellent and offers selections for any age group. I'd definitely stay here again..

Room Tip: Ask for fourth floor to avoid noise of people above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dolphin913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
morgan_gurung, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Houston Northwest, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
Hello Dolphin913,
Thank you very much for being a loyal guest to Marriott. We really appreciate your business and stay at our property Towneplace Suites Marriott Houston NW. We thank you for describing our property from customer point of view. Our staffs were so amazed to see those nice comments. It does really motivates our associates and we can't wait to serve you again in your future trip to Houston Northwest area.

Thanks a lot!

Morgan Gurung,CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

It will not live up to Marriott standards. Most of the people are nice, have a good attitude, and will try. But they cannot overcome the decisions made by poor management. TV came on during the night, only elevator out of commission for several days, no hot water in bath sink, etc.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rnblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
morgan_gurung, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Houston Northwest, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
Hello mr. rnblue,

Thank you very much for your continuous loyalty to Marriott. We really appreciate your business. I am very sorry for the inconvenience you had due to the elevator being out of order and hot water issue due to faulty circulation pump. Although both elevator and circulation pump were fixed but it was a bit too late and we are sorry for the trouble you had. As you may have seen that we do have a great staff and we take pride in what we do everyday. Please do not judge our property based on this incident. Please provide us another opportunity to serve you. In the mean while please contact me in our property and provide us an opportunity to compensate for the inconvenience you had.

Thanks a lot!

Morgan Gurung,CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

This property is across the street from the HP Houston Campus (the address should be Compaq Center Drive) and is a typical TownePlace Suites. I've looked at several of the other reviews and I really don't know what the others were expecting. Marriott has 3 tiers of long-term stay properties - Residence Inn, Springhill Suites, and TownePlace Suites and all of them feature studio or apartment layouts, LIMITED daily housekeeping, and expanded kitchen features. TownePlace is the most "economical" of the group and it is appointed as such - don't expect the Courtyard next door but you won't pay for it either.

This property has had some upgrades since I last stayed here but could probably use a few more since it has been around for a while. I stayed for a week on an HP rate for an event at their campus and I had no significant complaints. These were the minor glitches that I encountered: the granite kitchen counter and ledge near the coffee maker was filthy when I checked in and I had to clean off the sticky spills, rings, and stuff that nobody caught; the thermostat on the A/C mounted below the window was off by several degrees but it worked fine and was quiet enough; the window screens were torn up so leaving the window open was problematic; and there was some loud music from an adjacent strip mall pub on Thursday night. None of these were deal breakers, the daily towel and bed making service was reliable, the Ba was wiped down each day and the room was otherwise generally clean. I had a 3rd floor room in the South building on the South side so probably avoided any issues that might come from being on the ground floor. It was not noisy other than the Pub on Thursday night.

The staff were quite friendly in the office, I never saw any of the cleaning staff. The Breakfast was typical of what you find at other value chains (cereal, juice, fruit, pastries, etc.) and seemed to be well maintained. Parking was adequate and shares a large area with the adjacent Courtyard. The Courtyard now has their "Bistro" so you can walk next door for food or drink. It's a little farther to walk to the strip mall for other food options and beyond the adjacent highway to reach other restaurants. I think the hotel will shuttle you to nearby restaurants if you don't have a car.

Bottom line is I would stay here again knowing that this is not going to be a full service facility and knowing that it is an "economy" class property. It is very good for the class of property and the relative price.

Room Tip: Rooms facing north (even numbers) are probably quieter and I would avoid the ground floor. Either b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WilliamF1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granite bay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Stayed here the week of September 9th - for an entire week. Once I saw the red ants the minute I walked into my room (immediately after checking in) - I should've walked right out and checked in at the nearest Hilton.

Ants kept appearing throughout the week. The place was loud, meaning the building is poorly built. I heard every footstep, every door shut and the air conditioning unit and fridge were extremely loud. In order to get some sleep, I finally turned off the air conditioning, which made it tough to sleep because it got warm in my room.

The 4th day, I found giant cockroaches in the bathroom. I am not sure if they were cockroaches, actually - don't care - they were nearly 2 inches long, nasty and had no place in my room.

It poured one day last week, and when a colleague entered his room after a long day at the office, his room was flooded.

This is supposed to be a business friendly hotel. I needed to print a document before heading into the office. Went into the lobby where the computer and printer were. A guest was on the computer (watching women's wrestling, ok whatever) - so I asked the receptionist if she could print a file for me using one of their computers in the back. She couldn't because the computers were not turned on (and she's not sure how to log onto them). She asked around, but no one in the facility at the time knew what to do. So, she asked the women's wrestling fan to move aside for a minute (and he did). However, the printer was broken! Yep, very business friendly - eh? Good thing that this was my last day, meaning I already checked out, my stuff was in the car and I planned to never ever look back.

I thought I would stay here because it was very close to the office - and thought I would save the company a few bucks. Nope, never ever again! I would not wish this place to my worst enemy.

Another reviewer mentioned, "Run, Don't Walk" - I couldn't agree more. The only thing I want to do after 12-14 hours at the office, is to relax in my room (and not worry about bugs, flooding, etc)...

Hilton is a bit farther away and costs about $60 more / night. Next time I visit Houston (which will likely be in a few weeks), I will pay the extra $60/ night (out of my own expense if I have to).

Room Tip: Don't bother... It's not worth it - no matter which room they give you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tee c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TowneplaceNWHouston, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Houston Northwest, responded to this review, 18 September 2012
Dear tee c,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is through feedback from our guests that we can improve our product and service. I am deeply sorry that your experience at our hotel did not meet your expectations. We work closely with a professional pest control company to address and rectify any pest situation that might occur. Feel free to call me at your convenience at 281-374-6767, and discuss another opportunity to gain your business upon returning to Houston. Thank you again and am looking forward to speaking with you.

With Hospitality,

Danny Villarreal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2012

I stayed at this hotel in August 2012 because it was tucked away from the heavy traffic and not too far from family in the city. It has an apartment feel with 100 times the amenities. The staff is friendly and they fix a complimentary dinner 2 nights a week with a complimentary breakfast 7 nights a week. When I needed extra towels they went out of their way to bring them up to me even during late night hours. Super friendly staff too! I highly recommend this hotel if you want a Marriott property without the extra fees for food and/or other amenities. Great buy for the money!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GloRes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
1.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Houston Northwest
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Houston Northwest
Courtyard Houston Northwest
#218 of 517 in Houston
89 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Willowbrook
Comfort Suites Willowbrook
#272 of 517 in Houston
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Houston NW Vintage Park
0.9 mi away
Element by Westin Houston Vintage Park
2.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Houston NW Willowbrook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Houston Northwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Houston Northwest

Property: TownePlace Suites Houston Northwest
Address: 11040 Louetta Rd, Houston, TX 77070-1410
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #238 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Houston Northwest 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rest in comfort at TownePlace Suites Houston Northwest, with desired amenities and convenient services. Just minutes from Willowbrook Mall and Houston Premium Outlets, our hotel puts business travelers near Hewlett-Packard with spaces designed for today's modern traveler. Suites boast full-size kitchens with full-size appliances, plus desks with ergonomic chairs for a home-like environment. Start every day off on the right foot with our complimentary hot breakfast buffet, then socialize with fellow guests at our manager receptions from 5 to 7 p.m. Tuesday and Wednesday and enjoy a complimentary light dinner, beer and wine. Our 24-hour marketplace offers beverages, snacks and various sundries for late-night cravings. During downtime, take a dip in our outdoor pool, or work up a sweat in the upgraded fitness center with cardio equipment and free weights. Let TownePlace Suites Houston Northwest take the stress out of traveling and put the relaxation in your leisure or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your TownePlace Suites Houston Northwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Houston Northwest Hotel Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing