We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to the Medical Center”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Houston - Med. Ctr. - NRG Park - Braeswood Blvd
Ranked #368 of 511 Hotels in Houston
Ardmore, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Convenient to the Medical Center”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed here for 3 weeks while my husband had surgery. It is convenient, economical, functional and pretty clean. Having said this, we didn't feel like it lived up to it's "home away from home" moniker. The breakfast is VERY nominal, beds were not comfortable, the sheets didn't fit well in our queen room and there are no mattress pads on the beds. We had a couple of issues in the kitchen (dishwasher didn't work, light out on vent-a-hood, scorched pans), which were never fixed. But it allowed me to walk to the hospital and not have to deal with parking and it was a lot cheaper than Hampton Inn, our go-to hotel, and we didn't have to eat out every meal. If you don't plan to use the kitchen, a lot of these issues won't be a problem for you. The staff was very friendly and helpful, which was very nice. We were told they are planning to remodel the property, which needs to be done.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kayvj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    32
    35
    31
    51
See reviews for
54
28
12
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dauphin Island, Alabama
1 review
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We have been staying at this hotel since October 2011. With each return visit to MD Anderson every six months I have seen a great improvement with this hotel property. The staff is helpful. The beds have been replaced. The air quality and smells have improved with new air conditioners and cleanliness has improved. The shuttle bus is a great way to get to my medical appointments. My only disappointment is the breakfast has changed to "On the go", no more waffles.
For the price and location, its a great place!

Room Tip: Ask for a king or double room with a recliner, you have a little more space to move around in if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We have been staying at this hotel since Dec 2011 (This stay was over 5.5 months long due to my wife being treated at MDA.). Follow-up exams require us to return every 3-4 months. Each time we have been here, there has always been a cordial, helpful reception at the front desk. They have done many upgrades since we have been coming here.

DeShonna was very helpful and accommodating upon our arrival, Sept 15, 2013. She goes the 'extra mile' with each of the guests upon arrival.

Job well done for DeShonna and Leti.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayhawk79424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Houston - Med. Ctr. - NRG Park - Braeswood Blvd, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I'm glad that Leti and Deshonna were of great help. Thank you again for your kind words.

The staff and I would love to provide you with another comfortable stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

I travel to MDAnderson hospital several times a year and stay at the Estended Stay America - Braeswood location. In the past I've mainly stayed there because the price was reasonable - the condition of the hotel was not that good. However, this time I was pleasantly surprised - they've done a renovation of the hotel (appears to be under new management) with the following results: (1) lighting is much better in the room; (2) the beds are comfortable and (3) they've made the WIFI free (used to be a charge). Still have some cleaning issues (the dishes in my dishwasher were not clean when I checked in) but overall I would recommend this as a good choice for folks needing close access (you can walk) to MDAnderson and the Medical District. There is also a shuttle from the hotel to the various medical buildings.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room on the 3rd floor (there's a handy elevator). When on the lower floors yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TX
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

I will not return....hallway on the second floor smelled of "bathroom" doers the whole time. The coffee was always out in the morning, in the breakfast room....never did find any coffee or tea available. The rooms themselves were as billed. The internet was a problem, and several times required me to watch a Capital One video, before it would let me use the internet. I had to sign on, virtually every time I used it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelers2TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I had made a reservation for 3 days, a month in advance. I was taking the bar exam at Reliant. I had planned to check in at the posted time of 3:00 to have the evening to study. The test was 3 days and was to begin the next morning at 8:00 am. They called me at 1:00 on the day of my check-in to inform me that they would not honor my confirmed and paid for reservation. They gave me the name of another hotel. The other hotel was full. That was their extent of help. I spent my evening study time desperately searching the web for an available room. I ended up staying in a one star hotel, since it was the only thing available.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel. They do not honor confirmed reservations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank strivingtorelax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakemoor, Illinois, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Staying her because my sister in law is having surgery. We were not from houston so did not know where to stay. The hotel is old and outdated the service is decent the hotel definetely need to be updated over all it's ok but most likely wouldn't stay her again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Houston - Med. Ctr. - NRG Park - Braeswood Blvd, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
We appreciate your taking the time to write a review of your experience with us.

In response to your feedback, we are being remodeled in the very near future. Our team is committed to satisfying our guests, so we are very thankful for your feedback.

Please feel free to contact me directly at, HMR@extendedstay.com, with any additional comments or questions. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better experience the next time you're in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Medical Center
Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Houston - Med. Ctr. - NRG Park - Braeswood Blvd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Houston - Med. Ctr. - NRG Park - Braeswood Blvd

Property: Extended Stay America - Houston - Med. Ctr. - NRG Park - Braeswood Blvd
Address: 1301 Braeswood Blvd, Houston, TX 77030-4601 (Formerly Extended Stay Deluxe - Houston - Med. Ctr. - Reliant Pk. - Braeswood Blvd.)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #368 of 511 Hotels in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Houston - Med. Ctr. - NRG Park - Braeswood Blvd 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Extended Stay, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Extended Stay America - Houston - Med. Ctr. - NRG Park - Braeswood Blvd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay Deluxe Houston-Medical Center Braeswood Hotel Houston
Houston Extended Stay
Extended Stay Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing