We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Selection and Sangria” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Andalucia Tapas

Andalucia Tapas
Reserve with OpenTable
Andalucia Tapas is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #215 of 8,119 Restaurants in Houston
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: Spanish, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Belleville, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Selection and Sangria”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

The menu is huge and offered a great selection. Lots of hot tapas, some cold, paella, and a few dishes for the less adventurous gringo. I ordered 3 tapas that I have had at other Spanish restaurants: Spanish Omelet, Queso de Cabra (goat cheese with tomatoes), and Lamb Carpaccio (thinly slice rare lamb). The lamb meat was well seasoned, but it was covered in so many sundried tomatoes that it was hard to find the meat and it over powered the dish. It was more like a sundried tomato dish with hints of lamb. The Spanish Omelet had little flavor and was over cooked on the outside. The potatoes were well done, but there was no other flavors in the dish. There were three sliced of omelet that were reheated resulting in a cold center and burnt outer crust. The Queso de Cabra was the biggest disappointment for me. There was a nice sized slice of warm goat cheese in the dish, but it was hard to manage on the bed of sliced peppers and tomatoes. I would have liked more tomatoes and less peppers.

The Sangria was fresh and fruity. Nice to cool off with after a hot Texas day.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chleo05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    58
    15
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good ambiance - ok food ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

I'm staying downtown Houston for a convention and yelped for a nearby restaurant with different vibe. Andalucia looked great and when we arrive the ambiance was good, many people enjoying their good happy hour. Great tapas selection and by far our favorite was Pulpo a la Braza. Solomillo en higo/Nuez was also good. Slow service as the restaurant was very busy. Good house wine at affordable prices. Recommend to make reservations if you plan to arrive around 8pm.

Helpful?
Thank Gemsinvestments
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
63 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wide selection of hot tapas”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

FOOD:
*Empanadillas de Res (beef empanada) - very decent. Puff pastry was crispy and had a good flavor to it.

*Albondigas Morunos (Roasted Lamb meatballs) - lamb was gamey, couscous was good but too salty

*Pinchos de Res - marinated beef tenderloin was tough, no flavor

*Cola de Buey (Braised Oxtail) - good,but sherry wine sauce did not go well with the meat.

*Caracoles al Ajillo (Sauteed Escargot) - the best description I can give you is the escargot tasted similar to dirt.

*Queso de Cabra Horneado (Baked goat cheese) - can't go wrong with fried cheese!

COMMENTS:
* From Hostess @ 5:20 pm: "If i give you a table now are you going to stay until 8:00 pm?". I did not feel welcome at this point.

* After we were done with the first order, I ordered one more tapas. When the last dish came, instead of picking up the dirty dishes, the waitress just pushed the dirty dish to the side instead of taking it away.

*lack of experience with menu suggestions.

* asked for my bill for a 2nd time.

ADDITIONAL INFO:
*Parking lot across the street is $10-$15

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cindy5o4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

I wanted to like this place so bad, but couldn't. First, the place is way too big, bright and touristy. I was hoping for intimate and cozy. The 7or 8 tapas we ordered were fine, but not memorable. The flamenco music was just okay. The guitarist just wasn't technically very advanced. The percussionist was fine too, but frequently went off on his own playing I don't know what. The flamenco dancer wasn't nearly as agile as I expected. Sorry to be harsh, but she was I'm sure good in her prime, but definitely past it. A bit on the slow and out of shape side to really put on a memorable performance. If this is the best Houston has to offer Id suggest making the trip to San Antonio or Austin who have better musicians and dancers.

Helpful?
Thank Joeyavidtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Mixed review”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Ate at Andalucia for the first time today. Atmosphere was better than average but the food and service were mixed. Gazpacho was the worst I ever had as it was like glorified tomato soup, and lousy compared to my recipe. I understand there is no set recipe for gazpacho, as some are chunky, some not, but this was lousy. On the other hand house salad and lamb meatballs were very good. Service seemed inconsistent, as waitress came by frequently then rarely came by.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Andalucia Tapas also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Andalucia Tapas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing