We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel in a decent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Downtown Inn & Suites
Ranked #16 of 504 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
174 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Good Hotel in a decent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

I stayed here during a business trip to Houston. It is close to downtown, about 12 minutes from the Medical and Museum districts.

PROS: First, it is a pleasant place to stay. For the most part it is quiet and the staff was friendly and knowledgeable. Mondays through Thursdays they offer a small assortment of refreshments. Some nights they served egg rolls, other nights wraps or sliced up sandwiches. They also offered wine, beer, and soft drinks.

The room was nice, had a decent size LG flat-screen, desk to work at, King Size bed, refrigerator, microwave, sofa and a chair. The room was spacious, bed was comfortable and everything appeared to work fine.

It is located right off of 45 and easy to get to. I recommend you use a GPS if you have never been here before as it can be challenging to get around the first few times. There were plenty of places to eat within a 5-15 minute drive.

CONS: Well it is close to downtown which means for a Best Western it is a bit pricier than other Best Westerns you might stay at. However with that said their prices are lower than other hotels in the downtown area.

If, like me, you encounter guests that like to come back from a bar late at night and then are loud and noisy, well you will be able to hear them quite well. I was surprised how clearly I could hear other guests within the hotel. Now, if you are fortunate to not share the evening with guests who are up late and are loud, then the hotel is pretty much quiet.

Summary: Overall it is a good hotel in a decent location. If you find yourself in or around the downtown Houston area, and are looking for a nice hotel I would recommend giving this one a try.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jimmy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    112
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
84
68
24
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

The hotel looks amazing as soon as you step inside. It has a very modern clean lobby and newly remodeled bar / breakfast area with a nice view of the swimming pool. All staff were very friendly and helped out with recommendations of nearby good restaurants and attractions.

There was even a happy hour which really wowed us! It just got better when we got to the room. It was huge, clean and contemporary with lots of free perks inside! There was also a free local shuttle that took us into downtown. That was great and very convenient! There is also free parking at the hotel which is a bonus for being in a downtown hotel! Will definitely return when back in Houston!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dhavani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

when i walked into the hotel i was greeted by the front desk staff, it was before the time of check in but the young gentlemen and lady where more than helpful to expediate my check in. when i got to my room the room was huge, i liked that alot. The room come with all the normal thing- but then i noticed they gave two waters complimentary and milano cookies!!! i even had a kerug coffe maker which made my day, that made me feel right at home. the breakfast was amazing, fruit was fresh and waffles we my fav. overall i love this place and will be back!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pascale M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayonne, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Hotel is well maintained and cared for - I was surprised to find out that the property was 13 years old. Always changing and remodelling. The breakfast was nice - bottled water is always a plus and they have a happy hour as well .

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

The rooms are spacious. Refrigerator and microwave included. Front desk staff are courteous and helpful. The housekeeping staff didn't arrive to clean the room until after 4:00PM. We had to send them away because by that time, we had to prepare for our evening's scheduled event.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

We had a wonderful stay at this Best Western. Our plans had to be made very quickly and the staff was extremely gracious and went above and beyond to accommodate our request. The Manager, Ms. A. Desai, was wonderful and so personable and helpful. Our room was immaculate and comfortable. We had a great stay with a very nice breakfast for a reasonable price. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone, for business or pleasure. We will be back next time our travel plans take us to Houston. Thanks!

The Bakers ~ Dallas, TX

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dot B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garland, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

We stayed on the weekend of Jan. 18th. The room was immaculate and comfortable. The staff was extremely gracious and went above and beyond to help us. We had a great stay with a very nice breakfast for a reasonable price. The hotel is located close to most downtown attractions, museums etc. We plan to frequent this hotel.
Scott S

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#4 of 504 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Downtown
The Lancaster
The Lancaster
#1 of 504 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Downtown
Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Downtown Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Downtown Inn & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Downtown Inn & Suites
Address: 915 W Dallas St, Houston, TX 77019-4739
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Houston
#12 Family Hotel in Houston
#15 Romantic Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Downtown Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Hotel, close to Convention Center, Theaters, Ball Park, Restaurants, Museums, Parks and Medical Center. Free Onsite Parking, Free Full Breakfast, Large Rooms, Fast Wifi Included, Complimentary Weekday Happy Hour and Hotel Shuttle for a Drop off and Pickup around Downtown during the Weekdays. All rooms include Microwave and Refrigerator, Bottled Water and over 100 TV cable channel. Small Hotel so we can provide you the best service! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Downtown Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Downtown Inn And Suites Houston
Best Western Downtown Inn & Suites Houston Hotel Houston
Best Western Houston
Houston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing