We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Bad for the Price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carefree Inn Houston Medical Center
Ranked #337 of 518 Hotels in Houston
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We really did not know what to expect but we were not disappointed at all. The service was excellent and the people were great! We had an issue when we initially checked in with our room not being very clean. The front desk person immediately gave us another room and even came up to inspect the new room. Other then that, everything was great.

The rooms are nice with a unique decor. This is not exactly a fancy or elegant place, but it is definitely adequate and in a great location. It is located just off of highway 610 and on a main strip with a host of places to shop and eat. We stayed 4 nights and the place seemed to be very quiet. I recommend this place to anyone who is on a budget but can't do motel 6.

Oh, I must comment on the other amenities. The microwave and refrigerator in our room was very helpful. There is also a kitchen area fully stocked with pots, pans and utensils for guest use. We were able to use this are and reduce of cost buying food from restaurants.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cedric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Latehours, General Manager at Carefree Inn Houston Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear Cedric B,

We appreciate your honest feedback and are thankful for your descriptive review. Our service and value are a few of our strong points. We are delighted to read that you think so as well. We hope to be your next choice for your lodging needs in Houston, TX. Thank you for choosing Carefree Inn at the Medical Center.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2013

We are very thankful the Motel 6 across street was full, this place is just like home! Clean comfortable and quiet. Beds are so soft you dont even remember your in a motel. Refrigerator microwave and large television. Staff very friendly and helpful. We find very few rooms like this who also are pet friendly or have truck parking. We will definitely return.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
Thank Christine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Latehours, General Manager at Carefree Inn Houston Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

We truly appreciate your time in writing this positive review. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant and cozy lodging experience. Our various amenities and customer service make us a premier choice for leisure travelers. We will get in touch with you about your commercial truck plates soon. Thank you for choosing Carefree Inn. located in the Medical Center.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

My daughter and I stayed for a week at the Carefree Inn before she went back to college in the area.

PROS:

1) Price was less than $60 per night
2) Great central location to shops and restaurants and freeway
3) Rooms and bathrooms are super clean.
4) Staff is friendly and helpful
5) You can park right in front of the door to your room if you're on the first floor
6) Quiet inside the room
7) Plenty of room for storing luggage

CONS:

1) During peak traffic, it's a little hard getting out of the parking lot
2) AC cycles on and off so if you're a light sleeper, earplugs are recommended

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor have easy access. They don't have an elevator so if you're on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EileenBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Latehours, General Manager at Carefree Inn Houston Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Dear Eileen,

I would like to thank you for taking time to review our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your lodging with us and elated to hear that our staff was very helpful during your stay, as well as the price and cleanliness of your room. Please do visit us again when you come back to Houston in the future.

Best Regards,
Management, CareFree Inn at the Medical Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

If you are not going to use the bed, this place might be adequate. The bed did not have a bed pad on it so there was nothing but a stained sheet between me and the lumpy, yet hard mattress. To top it off the pillows smelled like they had been urinated on by a cat. Unless someone is using cat urine as mousse, there has to have been a cat going to the bathroom on those pillows.

The shower had very low water pressure.

The fridge and the microwave were fine, but there were no supplies such as coffee or cups with the coffee maker.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Latehours, General Manager at Carefree Inn Houston Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us here. We know your time is valuable, and that you had other options in lodging in the area.
We sincerely apologize for the conditional issue you faced during your brief experience with us. If you wish to speak more about your experience, we would certainly like to hear from you, so we can better target the problem areas and rooms. Coffee and coffee filters are kept in the office for hygienic reason. If a guest requests them we will bring it to the room.

Sincerely,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

The Carefree Inn Medical Center is the best motel that I have ever stayed in bar none, and I have stayed in 5 star hotels with all the amenities. Their patient, caring, hardworking staff are people who truly understand the needs of those suffering from long term health problems and are undergoing medical treatment/s and they go out of their way to meet their needs. They have a large kitchen with full size appliances that can be used by those who are on special diets if necessary. They also offer a free continental breakfast. One of their most helpful services is a free shuttle to the hospitals and other medical institutions within the Texas Medical Center—a service that when you are sick & traveling you need the most. Additionally, their fees are probably the most reasonable to be found in the area. I can only hope that they will always have a room available when I need one.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Latehours, General Manager at Carefree Inn Houston Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear Ruth,

First of all thank you for spending time in writing this informative review. Your review exemplifies how we specialize in caring for caregivers and their loved ones to ease their struggles in hard times. We look forward to be your first choice when lodging in Houston, TX.

Best regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Rooms have been remodeled to the point that they feel like home. Close to the Medical Center, they have a wonderful medical rate and to top it off, they have a shuttle to help you get back and forth. This is my second time staying here and will come here again when I need to come back to Houston. Love this place!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nonya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Latehours, General Manager at Carefree Inn Houston Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Madam Nonya,

We are overjoyed to hear that you had a great stay at our facility! We work daily to try to improve overall customer satisfaction and appreciate the time you took to review us. We hope to see you soon!

At your service,

Marie P.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

If you are looking for high prices don't look here. Lots of comfort. Feels warm and inviting and is reasonably priced. It looks like someone took time to choose the furniture, pictures etc. I had to ask if it was family owned. It is a great place to go if you need a place to stay and don't want to spend a fortune.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Langford791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Latehours, General Manager at Carefree Inn Houston Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2013

Mr. Langford,

We very much appreciate the time you took to review us! We work daily to improve overall customer satisfaction so we are glad to hear you had a great stay, please come visit us again!

At your service,

Marie P.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
3.4 mi away
MainStay Suites Texas Medical Center/Reliant Park
0.2 mi away
Motel 6 Houston Medical Center - Reliant Park
0.2 mi away
Palace Inn Medical Center
Palace Inn Medical Center
#336 of 518 in Houston
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Scottish Inn & Suites Reliant Park/Six Flags
3.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn Houston Greenway Plaza Medical Area
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Houston Medical Center - Reliant Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carefree Inn Houston Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carefree Inn Houston Medical Center

Address: 10015 Main St, 610 S. Loop and South Main, Houston, TX 77025-5209 (Formerly Carefree Inn Medical Center)
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #337 of 518 Hotels in Houston
Price Range: £62 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Carefree Inn Houston Medical Center 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Houston Medical Center Lodging.CareFree Inn is the best kept secret in Houston, TX. Our staff and service is top of the line and we offer comfortable and affordable accommodations. Our hotel is uniquely designed to embody an exotic place with a magical concept that represents the State of Texas. CareFree Inn is one of the leading hotels near Reliant Stadium and offers a family rate, group booking rate, government rate, Corp rate, student rate, AAA rate, AARP rate and TMC Texas Medical Center rate.Medical Patient Rate Hotels.When seeking accommodations near the Houston Medical Center, CareFree Inn provides recovering guests with a number of valuable amenities and services not found at many hotels. In addition to comfortable accommodations featuring a full continental breakfast, our guests will find they have access to a number of shopping and recreational opportunities. CareFree Inn is central to Reliant Stadium, shopping, dining and entertainment in Houston, TX.Houston Medical Center Lodging.Whether traveling to Houston, TX for business, medical treatment or vacation, CareFree Inn offers a friendly team of employees who make certain our guests have an enjoyable visit. As one of the leading Houston Medical Center hotels, our pledge is to provide customers with comfortable and affordable lodging. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Carefree Inn Houston Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carefree Inn Medical Hotel Houston
Carefree Hotel Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing