We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst motel I've ever stayed at.Never again!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carefree Inn Houston Medical Center
Ranked #334 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Reviewed 23 April 2009

Dirty,no running hot water at sink/shower.Only cold water side worked.One dirty towel & others so OLD & scratchy. No shampoo & teeny tiny soaps.No blanket on bed or in room, paper thin sheets.No cups to drink coffee from coffee maker.No alarm clock.Dirty toilet seat.Only 6 kleenex.Tv would turn off every half hour & then go back on after appx.3minutes.All evening long!
Phone but no cord to plug it in so it would work,what about the wake up call without a working phone??.This was a horrible experience.Never again.Will tell others about this place.DO NOT STAY HERE NO MATTER WHAT!!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juljenki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
There are newer reviews for Carefree Inn Houston Medical Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2008

This place was very nasty, not just dirty but really nasty.
Went here because of tests and treatment at the medical center.
Thought it was close to center and the pictures of it looked ok.
Not all that close and the pictures lied.
Linens dirty, room stank, feces on bathroom wall, hairs on toilet seat, sink had wads of something dried in it....not one thing was good at this place except the shuttle service.

  • Stayed: January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank ROSENETexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carefreeinn, Manager at Carefree Inn Houston Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2008

I would like to shed a more positive light on CareFree Inn at the Medical Center. We have made very successful accomplishments in the areas of improvement and renovation of our hotel over the past 1 1/2 to 2 months. We have also made significant monetary investments to improve the quality of our hotel in an effort to bring a higher level of excellence to the services we provide everyday. I would like to share some of those improvements with you.
The majority of our rooms have already been renovated: Freshly painted and decorated, with new furniture and beds, and increases in room sizes are only a few of the improvements we've made. Microwaves, refrigerators, personal hairdryers and coffee makers have been added to all the rooms that are now strictly reserved (which is every downstairs unit on our property) for our guests that frequent the Medical Center hospitals. We have also, with the exception of three rooms located upstairs at the back of our property, made each of our rooms non-smoking, as well as replaced the carpeting in some of our rooms with wood flooring; because we found out that certain cancer patients cannot tolerate either of those types of environments. We have also since that time replaced our entire housekeeping staff with new individuals that we feel are more qualified for the task. Our security system has also been upgraded; with thousands of dollars going into the installation of 24 hour camera surveillance of the entire length of our property. Our goal is to make CareFree Inn a relaxing, pleasant, and safe environment for all who entrust their lodging needs to us for whatever reasons; be it medical visits or leisure vacations. We receive lots of positive feedback everyday from new and return guests who can visibly see the upgrades we have made, and they are just as encouraged about them as we are. We sincerely welcome any and every style of comment or suggestion received from our guests; it helps to give us an idea of the areas which need improvement. We believe that our willingness to resolve matters such as these, without hesitation, shows how much we care; and we work diligently to ensure that all experiences here at CareFree Inn are wonderful ones.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2007

I was in town for Medical Examinations I needed at MD Anderson, traveled approximately 300+ miles. I checked in to the motel and I had the worst experience I've ever had. The motel is located on the bad side of town. I checked the room after I had registered and noticed that the door was not properly secure, I had a difficult time getting the lights on and the furniture was very outdated. I returned to the office not touching anything but the light switch and the door knob. I requested a refund as I didn't feel safe staying there. I was denied my request. I was told the manager was out of the country and their policy was strictly no refunds. I left the motel and got a room elsewhere. I contacted the manager-owner a week later, and the manager was very rude. She stated that it was my problem that I didn't feel safe and not hers. Said she would not give me a refund. Tried to explain to her that I was there for Medical reasons and that I had just gone in the room for about a minute. Manager insisted that that was my problem.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Discofreak12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
Thank GABRIEL ANTONIO L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank maria isabel f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Le camere vicino al numero 129 (la avevamo noi, al piano terra) sono dalla parte della struttura più...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rafael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
0.1 mi away
Palace Inn Medical Center
Palace Inn Medical Center
#306 of 517 in Houston
13 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel 6 Houston Medical Center - Reliant Park
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Houston Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Reliant Park/Medical Center
2.1 mi away
Scottish Inn & Suites Reliant Park/Six Flags
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Houston SW-Medical Ctr Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carefree Inn Houston Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carefree Inn Houston Medical Center

Address: 10015 Main St, 610 S. Loop and South Main, Houston, TX 77025-5209 (Formerly Carefree Inn Medical Center)
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #334 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Price Range: £43 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Carefree Inn Houston Medical Center 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Houston Medical Center Lodging.CareFree Inn is the best kept secret in Houston, TX. Our staff and service is top of the line and we offer comfortable and affordable accommodations. Our hotel is uniquely designed to embody an exotic place with a magical concept that represents the State of Texas. CareFree Inn is one of the leading hotels near Reliant Stadium and offers a family rate, group booking rate, government rate, Corp rate, student rate, AAA rate, AARP rate and TMC Texas Medical Center rate.Medical Patient Rate Hotels.When seeking accommodations near the Houston Medical Center, CareFree Inn provides recovering guests with a number of valuable amenities and services not found at many hotels. In addition to comfortable accommodations featuring a full continental breakfast, our guests will find they have access to a number of shopping and recreational opportunities. CareFree Inn is central to Reliant Stadium, shopping, dining and entertainment in Houston, TX.Houston Medical Center Lodging.Whether traveling to Houston, TX for business, medical treatment or vacation, CareFree Inn offers a friendly team of employees who make certain our guests have an enjoyable visit. As one of the leading Houston Medical Center hotels, our pledge is to provide customers with comfortable and affordable lodging. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Carefree Inn Houston Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carefree Inn Medical Hotel Houston
Carefree Hotel Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing