We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel in a beautiful city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Sonesta Houston Galleria
Ranked #17 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We visited Houston and so happy I booked this hotel. It's so pretty and the rooms are not large, but comfortable, clean, newly and beautifully furnished.
We had a problem with the bathroom A/C leaking as soon as we checked in, but they were so helpful and moved us to a new room within maybe 40 minutes. Staff is curteous and efficient. Was a little confusing finding it because we missed the turn from the expressway and the road in front is 1 way and very busy, so we had to loop and wasted another 15 minutes between looping and traffic. So definitely be careful when trying to get there with your GPS. There's also a CVS about a 5 to 10 minute walk (I needed Abreva for a cold sore!) so that was convenient. There are also shops nearby if you need to do shopping (higher end shops).
Definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuljaNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey F, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Houston Galleria, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear LukjaNYC,

We as a hotel would like to take the time out to personally thank you for such great feedback, it is much appreciated. We recently renovated, and I’m thrilled that you were able to experience our comfortable rooms. We have an amazing staff that loves what they do, not to mention our purpose is to add value to the lives of the people with whom we interact and it seems to me that we were able to do so during your stay with us. I truly hope we will see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Jeff Fuller

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,116)
There are newer reviews for Royal Sonesta Houston Galleria
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

879 - 885 of 1,116 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

I rated the hotel just before going to bed after the first day at Houston. I had a very good opinion at that moment, specially with Pedro, waiter at the hotel's restaurant. So good, I wrote a review at Tripadvisor.

I stopped at this hotel for some business meetings in a short two night trip and was delighted with the service at checkin. All the details covered, room ready at arrival, room amenities.

The room had a lot of power outlets (take note of this other hotel managers: lots of devices require lots of power outlets) and a well located desk (regarding natural lighting). Very comfortable bed and powerful shower completes what a business traveller need.

It was too soon. All of this went through the drain that last night. I arrived next day at night after dinner and the hotel had no electricity. I mean: NO ELECTRICITY, not even for the elevators. What kind of hotel don't have an electricity generator at least for the elevators?

Worst of all, the person who had to deal with us, the customers, had no information, nor he was looking for it. "I have not been updated" was all he had to say. I had to go to my room by myself, 21 floors. And there was no emergency light inside the rooms. I deleted my review as soon I had electricity.

I wrote an email to the manager (amissick), who left a personal card in my room the first night, offering assistance in any moment. I waited for a week for an answer to my email, but he was probably too busy to dedicate a couple of minutes to whom he said it was a vip client just a couple of days before. I know that he most probable will answer to this review, but know that I will never go back to your hotel.

Room Tip: Take lower floors in case there is another electricity outage
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diego L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey F, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Houston Galleria, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Diego L,

I would like to first thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to leave your much appreciated feedback as this is a great tool we us to learn and grow. I am ecstatic to hear that your check in and first impression of the hotel was delightful. Our employees really love what they do and it is priority for us to make our guests feel like they are at home away from home when visiting the Royal Sonesta. At this point I would like to extend my sincerest apologies for the inconvenience you had to experience with the power outage as this is not a typical issue that we experience here at the Sonesta. Unfortunately for everyone, the energy company for the city had technical issues and it impacted our hotel. Although I realize this is something that has already affected your viewpoint, I would really like to have a moment to speak with you to see if we can take care of any unresolved issues. Again. these are not normal circumstances for us and I have taken time out to come up with better approaches in case of another unfortunate mishap. Please email me at jfuller@sonesta.com at your earliest convenience, we would love to have you back with us to show you what the Royal Sonesta is truly about.

Sincerely,
Jeff Fuller

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Rooms are a little small but very nice. The dining room food and atmosphere is excellent. Located within walking distance of plenty of shopping. Great hotel! Re

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sonesta
1  Thank Rosalyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey F, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Houston Galleria, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Rosalyn H,

Thank you so much for leaving such wonderful feedback about our hotel, it is very much so appreciated. I am gladdened to hear that you were able to experience our amazing hospitality and rooms. Our food is one of a kind and is tastefully delicious. I really hope that we will have a chance to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Jeff Fuller

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The Hotel is nice, bedrooms are spacious and comfortable. The restaurant is a bit boring but food is delicious.
The only problema I experienced is regarding rate; had a conirmation with a certain rate and during check out received a rate 40 USD higher with no explanation!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sonesta
1  Thank Gabriela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey F, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Houston Galleria, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Gabriela B,

I would like to start off by saying thank you for taking the time to leave your much valued feedback, as it is a great tool to help us learn and grow. I am elated to hear that you were able to enjoy your room and be comfortable as this is key for our guests. I do apologize for the issue you experienced with the booking rate and would be more than happy to resolve this for you. Please email me at jfuller@sonesta.com at your earliest convenience and I can definitely look into this. I really hope that you have a chance to visit with us again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Jeff Fuller

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

My second stay at the Sonesta. The rooms are immaculate, roomy and comfortable. I found the employees to be friendly, accommodating and willing to please. The hotel is centrally located and a reasonable distance from the Airport. I strongly recommend staying for business or pleasure,


  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sonesta
1  Thank Carmine U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey F, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Houston Galleria, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Carmine,

Thank you so much for taking time out of your schedule to leave such great feedback, it is greatly appreciated. I am highly pleased that you were able to enjoy our wonderful rooms that we put such hard work into for each and every one of our guests. I am even more excited that you were able to experience our amazing hospitality. I really hope that you have another chance to stay with us in the near future.

Sincerely,
Jeff Fuller

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I stayed here for 5 weeks for a business trip. The room was very nice and I had a view of downtown Houston, it was really nice to have big open windows. Bed was soft and really comfortable. The staff were really nice and accommodating to my needs, even when I had an issue with my laundry & internet they rectified it right away. I spent a lot of evenings eating in the Bar and the bar staff, especially Sue, was excellent. Also, the girls who work at the coffee shop in the morning are so friendly. The restaurant has good food - the waffles for breakfast are divine. Although restaurant prices are not the cheapest in the area, so if your money conscious, eat elsewhere. Gym was good - better than most other hotel gyms I've used. Pool was too small, but still nice to wade in when there was no one else there.

Room Tip: Rooms facing east have a view of Downtown, rooms facing west have a view of Galleria.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donanap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey F, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Houston Galleria, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Donanap,

We as a team would like to personally thank you for leaving your much valued feedback. I am happy to hear that you were able to enjoy not only our rooms, but the view as well. There is so much to see in the Galleria area and it’s nice to wake up and be able to look at something other than a wall. Our staff is terrific at what they do because they truly enjoy providing service with a passion. Sue is definitely one our best employees and such a great asset to the team. I am thrilled you had such a wonderful time and cannot wait for you to return and visit with us again.

Sincerely,
Jeff Fuller

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I really enjoyed my stay this past weekend. The room and bath were very clean. The bed was extra comfy and furniture was well maintained. There is a fridge, safe and coffee but no microwave. The closet has robes and also an umbrella to use during your stay. The shower has a bath gel and shampoo dispenser (no need for bottles). The staff was very friendly and accommodated my request of extra towels and pillows.
The only concerns I had was the walking distance from the guest pay parking garage to the front desk (can be long with luggage) and the pool area was very small and had no towels or spa treatments. Other than that, it was a great stay. Make sure to order room service breakfast, very good!

Room Tip: choose a high floor away from elevator
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey F, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Houston Galleria, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear A S,

I would like to personally thank you for taking the time to leave such amazing feedback about our property, it is truly appreciated. I am ecstatic that you were able to enjoy our amenities and features of the room, and especially our superb hospitality by our amazing staff. We really hope that you will have another opportunity to stay with us as we will be looking forward to it.

Sincerely,
Jeff Fuller

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Great Uptown
Omni Houston Hotel
Omni Houston Hotel
#25 of 517 in Houston
1,927 reviews
Great Uptown
Hotel Granduca Houston
Hotel Granduca Houston
#3 of 517 in Houston
813 reviews
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Lancaster
The Lancaster
#1 of 517 in Houston
1,499 reviews
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#5 of 517 in Houston
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sonesta Houston Galleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta Houston Galleria

Address: 2222 West Loop S, Houston, TX 77027-3502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#14 Business Hotel in Houston
#34 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#48 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range: £92 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Sonesta Houston Galleria 4*
Number of rooms: 485
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual sophistication with modern appeal are what you’ll find at the Royal Sonesta Houston Galleria. Our AAA-rated Four Diamond property is at the heart of it all with dining and entertainment all within close reach. A premier destination among area hotels, Houston Galleria is yours to explore when you stay with us. Settle into our Galleria hotel in any one of the 485 freshly revamped guest rooms and suites—all thoughtfully appointed with your comfort in mind. Host a meeting, throw a gala or say “I do” with over 50,000 flexible square feet to choose from—an ideal spot for hotels near the Galleria in Houston, TX. Wind down with a cocktail at Axis Lounge or indulge in the globally inspired, locally wired fare at ARA restaurant. From the laid-back atmosphere and state of the art amenities to fine dining and location, our hotel in Houston Galleria is the perfect place to work, gather, rest or retreat. It’s all here at the Royal Sonesta Houston Galleria hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Sonesta Houston Galleria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Houston Hotel Houston
Houston Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing