We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disaster / No water”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Sonesta Houston Galleria
Ranked #17 of 516 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Deer Park, Texas
1 review
“Disaster / No water”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Royal Sonesta after getting a fair deal through Hot Wire. I should have known there would be problems when I called and they told me the hot tube by the pool was not working. When we got ready to leave for my niece's Christening. The water was not working in the hotel. We could not bathe to get ready for the Church and party. We had to check out early to get to a family members home to shower. I spoke with Janet Pena at check out and she was rude and told me we could not be compensated because we went through a 3rd party to make the reservations. It was a disaster. Construction was going on in the Hotel. Big huge pieces of equipment where in the lobby. Traffic by the hotel was awful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey F, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Houston Galleria, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Nadine V,

I would like to first and foremost thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to leave your much valued feedback, as this is a great tool to help us learn and grow. I do apologize for any inconvenience that you had to experience while at our hotel as these are not typical issues for the Royal Sonesta. Unfortunately, there was a water outage in the city surrounding our area that led to the cause of these mishaps. We would love to have you back with us so that we can show you what the Royal Sonesta is truly about. Please contact me upon any possible future reservations at jfuller@sonesta.com.

Sincerely,
Jeff Fuller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    675
    296
    76
    34
    16
See reviews for
176
189
40
555
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This was our families first stay at the Royal Sonesta during our recent visit to Houston. It is perfectly located right near the Galleria (check out our pictures). The hotel is simply elegant and perfect for a relaxing weekend and some shopping. I would say this hotel is definitely a good choice for the business traveler with its business center and it sits next door to major businesses. We had lunch at Launch Lounge and the staff was so friendly and accommodating.

We even made some new friends in the lobby area. The kids felt at home and comfortable. It was just a beautiful and amazing experience. And the view from the 10th floor gives you a birds eye view of most places you may want to visit in the area.

Room Tip: Great view of the area from the higher floors. We were on the 10th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shonda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey F, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Houston Galleria, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Shonda G,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave such wonderful feedback about our hotel as it is great appreciated. I am beyond pleased to hear that this was your first experience with the Royal Sonesta and we were able to assist in you enjoying your time in Houston. We truly hope that we will have another opportunity to have you stay with us as we all enjoyed your company.

Sincerely,
Jeff Fuller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

I make it a point to stay in this hotel every time I travel to Houston, TX. It's relaxing and the location is right in the middle of all the perfect places to eat and shop. Customer service was excellent. Jennifer S. in reservation did an awesome job at answering all of my questions and concerns. If you're looking for a place that makes you feel at home then this is the place to be!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naysamone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey F, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Houston Galleria, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear naysamone,

I would like to personally thank you for taking time out of your schedule to leave such great feedback about our hotel. It is so refreshing to hear that you have found somewhere that you can call your home away from home. Our staff truly enjoys what they do and it was everyone’s pleasure to help with whatever needs you may have had during your stay. We are looking forward to your next visit with us.

Sincerely,
Jeffrey Fuller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasant Hill, California
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Overall well - suited and situated for a trade conference in Houston. Professional, well-informed staff; easy check-in and check-out; rooms are well appointed; and location is very easily accessible from both airports. Plenty of great restaurants within a close drive. The only real downside is that, like most properties in Houston, a car or taxi is absolutely required.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erikallie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey F, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Houston Galleria, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear erikallie,

I would like to thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to leave your much appreciated feedback, it is truly appreciated. I am excited to hear that you were able to enjoy your stay with us at the Sonesta as our goal is to make sure each and every one of our guests is satisfied beyond measures upon check out. We really hope that you have another chance to stay with us so that we can welcome you with open arms.

Sincerely,
Jeff Fuller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Church Point, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My family took a mini vacation this weekend to Houston. We love Houston because it is a short drive from home and packed with tons of activities for the kids. We decided to mix things up a bit and stayed at the Royal Sonesta for the first time. We were very impressed! With a name like “Royal” Sonesta, I guess we should have expected luxury, but we weren’t expecting it like this! I was impressed right from the beginning with how easy it was to access from the interstate and how close it is to the Galleria. This meant that I wouldn’t be driving all over Houston looking for fun activities for the family; they were all right there!

When we walked in the Royal Sonesta; the elegance of the entry was amazing. There is a stunning chandelier that hangs the entire length of the entryway along the side of the lounge. I have never seen a chandelier like this one in my life! The staff were very helpful and check in was a breeze! We all grabbed sandwiches and chips from the Launch and were off! Well, before we were off; I have to tell you that my wife loved the chicken salad!

After a day of fun; we were ready to head back to the hotel and relax. Relax, we did! After relaxing in the room for a while, we decided to take the kids downstairs and let them explore the lobby. The lobby is massive and there was plenty of room for the kids to walk around without disturbing anyone.

The next morning, before we checked out, we took the kids to the pool, which is on the roof of the 5th floor. This was a lot of fun! The pool was a perfect way for us to start our last day in Houston. After getting out of the pool, cleaned up and packed up; we, sadly, had to check out. The Royal Sonesta has express checkout, which made our day run very smoothly. The Royal Sonesta is definitely our hotel of choice now when staying in Houston.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donzell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey F, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Houston Galleria, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Donzell M,

Thank you so much for leaving this wonderful feedback about our hotel, we really appreciate it. I am so happy to hear that you found our location to be accommodating for you, as we are definitely surrounded by lots of fun filled activities to get into. We put lots of hard work and dedication into our renovation so that each and every one of our guests would be able to enjoy everything down to the finishing touches. It was our pleasure to welcome you into our hotel and we anxiously await your next stay with us.

Sincerely,
Jeff Fuller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Round Rock
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This is a beautiful, fancy hotel near the Galleria. From the moment we drove up, we were greeted by warm, genuine, smiling faces. So despite being an upscale establishment, everyone made you feel welcome. This is not our first stay at the Royal Sonesta, nor will it be our last!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rblcastillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey F, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Houston Galleria, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Rblcastillo,

I would like to thank you for leaving such terrific feedback about our hotel, it is greatly appreciated. Our team really makes an effort for our guests to feel like they’re at home away from home. Everyone is valued here at the Royal Sonesta and we love interacting with each and every one of you. We cannot wait for your next visit with us.

Sincerely,
Jeffrey Fuller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunset, Louisiana
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Our family recently stayed at the Royal Sonesta, Houston. We couldn't have been more impressed! From the moment we stepped into the super elegant front doors to the fun we had swimming on the rooftop! The Royal Sonesta has everything for the business traveler, honeymooner, or family with children! The chandelier that runs the entire length of the entry way lets you know, right away, that you are in for a treat. The staff were very friendly and eager to help us get settled. It is not often that we can find a hotel that is elegant, yet caters to families with children. We were very comfortable allowing our children to be, well, children. The lobby is modern, beautiful, and full of room for our family to enjoy a late night of visiting. The location is PERFECT as it is just around the corner from the Galleria and tons of fun activities!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey F, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Houston Galleria, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Rachel M,

We as a team would like to personally thank you for leaving such wonderful feedback. I am happy to hear that you were able to enjoy all aspects of our hotel as we really put a great deal of hard work into our recent renovations for guests such as yourself. We have such an amazing location that surrounds us with activities for not only adults, but our children as well. We cannot wait to welcome you with open arms on your next stay with us.

Sincerely,
Jeffrey Fuller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Great Uptown
Omni Houston Hotel
Omni Houston Hotel
#25 of 516 in Houston
1,912 reviews
Downtown
The Lancaster
The Lancaster
#1 of 516 in Houston
1,485 reviews
Great Uptown
Hotel Granduca Houston
Hotel Granduca Houston
#2 of 516 in Houston
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#6 of 516 in Houston
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sonesta Houston Galleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta Houston Galleria

Property: Royal Sonesta Houston Galleria
Address: 2222 West Loop S, Houston, TX 77027-3502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#14 Business Hotel in Houston
#34 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#48 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Sonesta Houston Galleria 4*
Number of rooms: 485
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual sophistication with modern appeal are what you’ll find at the Royal Sonesta Houston Galleria. Our AAA-rated Four Diamond property is at the heart of it all with dining and entertainment all within close reach. A premier destination among area hotels, Houston Galleria is yours to explore when you stay with us. Settle into our Galleria hotel in any one of the 485 freshly revamped guest rooms and suites—all thoughtfully appointed with your comfort in mind. Host a meeting, throw a gala or say “I do” with over 50,000 flexible square feet to choose from—an ideal spot for hotels near the Galleria in Houston, TX. Wind down with a cocktail at Axis Lounge or indulge in the globally inspired, locally wired fare at ARA restaurant. From the laid-back atmosphere and state of the art amenities to fine dining and location, our hotel in Houston Galleria is the perfect place to work, gather, rest or retreat. It’s all here at the Royal Sonesta Houston Galleria hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Sonesta Houston Galleria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Houston Hotel Houston
Houston Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing