We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent -” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Sonesta Houston Galleria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Sonesta Houston Galleria
Ranked #15 of 501 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent -”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

What a surprise! I was in Houston on a business trip - After work I usually don't like to venture out to find a place to eat. The Royal Sonesta knocked it out of the ball park the food was fantastic! The atmosphere - modern. The beds are comfortable with great night lighting that came on when you get up during the middle of the nite. I wish every hotel would take note on what the Royal Sonesta has done- The Royal Sonesta is my new Favorite hotel in Houston. Do I need to add that I'm picky!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny77Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey F, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Houston Galleria, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Penny77Travels,

I would like to first say thank you for leaving such a marvelous review, we are very appreciative. I am so elated to hear that you were able to enjoy our delicious food. Our chef is truly one of a kind. It gives me great pleasure to hear about your wonderful experience here at the Royal Sonesta. Each and every one of our amenities took great time and effort so that we could make sure each and every one of our guests are completely satisfied upon checking out. Our goal is to add value to the lives of whom we interact with and it is an indescribable feeling to know that we did just that. We really hope that you have an opportunity to come visit with us again, it was our pleasure having you here.

Sincerely,
Jeff Fuller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    588
    268
    64
    33
    15
See reviews for
148
163
33
493
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

The Royal Sonata was recently refurnished and is is now is now one of the nicer hotels in the Galleria. I have stayed at the Hilton Post Oak a lot, as well as others, but I would now say the RS is nicer.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank funsunandsport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey F, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Houston Galleria, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you so much for leaving such wonderful feedback about our hotel as this is greatly appreciated. I am elated to hear that you will be staying with us as your hotel of choice and we are looking forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Jeff Fuller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

KLM put me in this hotel after a cancelled flight. A bar with a buzz which doesn't happen very often in a hotel bar. I found the reception staff were particularly helpful. Not sure of the surroundings as I was only stayed one night

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cuskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey F, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Houston Galleria, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Cuskie,

We as a hotel would like to say thank you for taking the time to leave such amazing feedback, it is greatly appreciated. We love our newly renovated bar and so does the surrounding area. This is a fantastic place to mingle with nice refreshments. I am thrilled to hear that out staff was helpful and it was our pleasure having you here. We hope you will have the chance to visit with us again.

Sincerely,
Jeff Fuller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

I was there for a baseball convention. If you are driving, then you should have no problems. In fact, you could rate the hotel experience a 5. But many of us came straight from the airport. It's about $25.00 per person one way to and from the airport using the shuttle. There are 2 airports, but the prices for the rides are only $2.00 difference. Unless you are used to walking in heat, its about a 1/2 mile to the galleria where you can enjoy a variety of dining and shopping experiences. The hotel itself was very nice. Staff was courteous. Rooms were clean. The dining was a bit steep as there was no competition. The only issue we had was that 2 out of the 4 elevators did not work Saturday evening into Sunday morning, so everyone from the convention checking out had a very difficult time getting an elevator.

Room Tip: My wife and I had a king bed and the room was spacious. It had a sectional sofa and chair. i'm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Armen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey F, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Houston Galleria, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Armen D,

I would like to say thank you for taking time out of your schedule to leave such great feedback about our hotel. This is greatly appreciated. I am happy to hear that you found the Super Shuttle to be beneficial to your traveling needs as we like to make sure all of our guests are accommodated to even if it it’s something that we do not necessarily provide. I am also thrilled to hear that you were able to experience our wonderful hospitality staff as well as your room and amenities. I do apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with our elevators and reassure you that this issue has been resolved. We really hope to have you visit with us again.

Sincerely,
Jeff Fuller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

I've stayed here twice and had an average experience one time and a pretty good experience the other time. Out of all the places I've stayed in the galleria this is one of the more comfortable and convenient hotels. The beds are comfortable and the rooms are clean. However, there was some plumbing issues and everything my neighbor turned their water on my entire room would vibrate. They have a coffee shop in the lobby that is great for a morning cup of coffee. Although, I do wish there was an in room coffee maker.

Overall, pretty decent experience and I would recommend a stay here if a quiet and comfortable night stay is what you're needing.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank atxtravelinman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey F, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Houston Galleria, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear atxtravelinman,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your much valued feedback. This is a great tool to help us learn and grow. I am elated to hear that we are one of the most convenient hotels for you here in the Galleria. We do actually offer the Keurig’s in each room for your coffee convenience so I apologize if there was not one available to you during your stay. It was our pleasure having you here and we really hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Jeff Fuller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrollton
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

This hotel is downtown and solves the parking problem with it's own gated parking garage with an attendant. I negotiated the rate to only $99.00/ night with complimentary parking! Very nice lobby with a quick and friendly check in. The included WIFI was a bit slow but adequate for my needs. If faster speeds are needed upgrades are available for a fee. The bed was very comfortable and room had it's own thermostat to control the temp. Small fridge and safe are in the room. My wife liked some of the "extra touches" like the nice liquid soap, shampoo & conditioner dispensers attached to the inside wall of the shower instead of a little soap bar and tiny bottles of shampoo most places have. She pointed out high end lotions on the bathroom counter, nice big towels and bath robes hanging in the closet. The room was very clean and had a Kurig coffee maker with coffee for the morning. A nice feature that was different is one of the night stands had a motion activated light at it's base (floor level) so if you get up at night to use the restroom the light shined along the floor so you could see without disturbing your spouse.
There were three negatives of which the first two didn't affect us. The desk phone didn't work. The bathroom phone didn't work. Not a problem for us because the phone next to the bed did work and our cell phones worked. The third could have been a "disaster". My wife noticed immediately that the toilet paper roll was almost empty and there was no backup! Thankfully a call to housekeeping solved that problem in minutes. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stokinoak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey F, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Houston Galleria, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Stokinoak,

I would like to start off by thanking you for leaving such amazing feedback about our hotel as we truly value your opinion. I am extremely delighted that you were able to enjoy our newly renovated hotel as well as our marvelous amenities. I’m happy to hear that you found our motion activated light quite impressive, we really wanted to give the room a special touch and thought this would be a special personal feature for our guests. I do apologize on the behalf of my staff and I for not proactively taking care of your needs and I reassure you that we will look into ways to prevent this from happening in the future. I am beyond excited that you will be back to visit us and we are all looking forward to welcoming you with open arms.

Sincerely,
Jeff Fuller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

We hadn't stayed in many hotels in Houston as we lived there for twenty years and didn't need lodging. As we returned for a brief visit on business I picked a hotel based on location, price, and appearance based on web site pictures. We were not there very long, but it was a great find, with friendly service, modern accommodations, great views of the downtown or Galleria skyline, and a great pool. The parking garage was roomy and close. The reception area was interesting and efficient. The bar seemed to be popular. Our room was wonderful and well maintained. I wish I had longer to explore the hotel, but we had to leave the next morning. It was convenient to everything; the Galleria, the Medical Center, Downtown, major highways. The price was exceptional and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Either direction is good. Ask for Galleria if you want that, but we wanted downtown. Upper floors ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey F, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Houston Galleria, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Mark P,

Thank you so much for leaving your much valued feedback about our hotel as we use this as a tool to help us learn and grow. I am thrilled to hear that you were able to enjoy not only our hospitality and accommodations, but our amenities and public spaces as well. we truly worked hard during our recent renovation and it is beyond satisfying to know that our guests are enjoying it. Thank you again for your amazing critique and we cannot wait to have you stay with us again.

Sincerely,
Jeff Fuller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#4 of 501 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Great Uptown
Omni Houston Hotel
Omni Houston Hotel
#21 of 501 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,697 reviews
Downtown
The Lancaster
The Lancaster
#1 of 501 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel ZaZa Houston
#5 of 501 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,598 reviews
Great Uptown
Hotel Granduca Houston
Hotel Granduca Houston
#2 of 501 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sonesta Houston Galleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta Houston Galleria

Property: Royal Sonesta Houston Galleria
Address: 2222 West Loop S, Houston, TX 77027-3502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#14 Business Hotel in Houston
#34 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#48 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Sonesta Houston Galleria 4*
Number of rooms: 485
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual sophistication with modern appeal are what you’ll find at the Royal Sonesta Houston Galleria. Our AAA-rated Four Diamond property is at the heart of it all with dining and entertainment all within close reach. A premier destination among area hotels, Houston Galleria is yours to explore when you stay with us. Settle into our Galleria hotel in any one of the 485 freshly revamped guest rooms and suites—all thoughtfully appointed with your comfort in mind. Host a meeting, throw a gala or say “I do” with over 50,000 flexible square feet to choose from—an ideal spot for hotels near the Galleria in Houston, TX. Wind down with a cocktail at Axis Lounge or indulge in the globally inspired, locally wired fare at ARA restaurant. From the laid-back atmosphere and state of the art amenities to fine dining and location, our hotel in Houston Galleria is the perfect place to work, gather, rest or retreat. It’s all here at the Royal Sonesta Houston Galleria hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, TravelUp, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Agoda so you can book your Royal Sonesta Houston Galleria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Houston Hotel Houston
Houston Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing