We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the Weekend Brunch Wait”
Review of Baby Barnaby's

Baby Barnaby's
Ranked #225 of 8,206 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: there are 2-3 locations for Barnaby's Cafe, the main one is on West Gray St., however there are 2 locations on Fairview - one serves lunch (Barnaby's) and the other serves breakfast (Baby Barnaby's)
Firenze
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worth the Weekend Brunch Wait”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I ate here for brunch and then returned to Barnaby's next door for dinner over a weekend stay in the area. Loved the walkable, neighborhood feel of the place and the servers and staff were all super friendly. Food was excellent and accomodated my vegan palate nicely. There was a (justifiable) wait for brunch but there were spots to sit and coffee to be had so no complaints.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joanna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    36
    5
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Hope, Minnesota
Level Contributor
226 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“The best breakfast, fresh ingredients”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

It is impossible to eat at Baby Barnaby's and still fully enjoy eating at chain breakfast places. Barnaby's uses fresh ingredients and the difference shows. The menu isn't very large but then again neither is the restaurant. We've been there two times, once with no wait and once with half an hour wait so it evens out. I once again ordered the Pink and White (Ham and Eggs). The eggs are fantastic with cheese and ham chunks inside. The breakfast potatoes are to die for. I put blackberry jam (out of a packet, not fresh fresh but still good) onto my toast and the side of bacon I ordered was superb. Also, don't forget fresh-squeezed orange juice. Any other breakfast plate just fails to compare favorably to Baby Barnaby's. Others with me had the Green Eggs (spinach and eggs), the French Toast, and the Breakfast Tacos. No one left unsatisfied. This place has a dog-friendly patio as well for those with a pet to tag-along. A perfect little place in Montrose. The next time we are in town I hope to try (non-Baby) Barnaby's cafe for lunch or dinner.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Knutey1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Green eggs and fresh orange juice!”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We arrived around 8:30 on a Friday and didn't have to wait for a table. A hot pot of delicious coffee was on our table immediately. The orange juice is so fresh, it is literally squeezed right after you order it and in front of your eyes by a juicing machine! The green eggs are amazing and everything I saw coming out of the kitchen looked delicious. The location in Montrose is off the beaten path but worth finding. The service was fast and friendly. Get their early or you will be in for a wait.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank jimandzoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bergen, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Super cool, cozy,lots of character and interesting people come to this place. Come hungry because the food is going to blow your mind. Green eggs platter, fresher than fresh Orange juice, great coffee, all of it amazing. The waiting for a table is considerable but they serve you coffee while you wait. Parking was not so bad but it was 8:30 am, most Houston was still asleep.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yizquierdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coppell
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“it doesn't get any better for breakfast!”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Atmosphere, food, service (and reasonably pricing) make for a wonderful morning breakfast. Dishes are not the typical ham/eggs,but rather very creavtive dishes that are simply delicious. And service? Wow. Amazing, friendly people to help you with everything.

Some hints: when you get there, go sign your name on the clip board hanging outside. Eat outside - much nicer, and less noisy. Enjoy a breakfast you'll remember for a long, long time.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Darrel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Baby Barnaby's also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Baby Barnaby's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing