We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy work happy hour hangout”
Review of Hearsay

Hearsay
Reserve with OpenTable
Hearsay is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #99 of 8,206 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Congress
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
576 reviews
417 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Noisy work happy hour hangout”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I think the title sums it up- though there were a few couples, most of the activity was around a few large work-related happy hours. Noisy, drinking revelers preparing for a 4th of July weekend. The overall atmosphere and mediocre level of service detracted from the food and overall experience- not that the food is any revelation (I have been here a few times now).

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JrMushroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    72
    19
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
92 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“I love this restaurant!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Hearsay is a great spot, especially for brunch! I have been here a few times, and all of my experiences have been great! My latest experience was awesome. My boyfriend and I were supposed to go to some other restaurant for brunch, but despite their web site saying they were open, they were not (long story, but not the point of this review). I suggested we go to Hearsay, because I knew it was close, and we had been there for after-dinner drinks a few months ago. I called to see if there were any openings, the hostess said there was an hour and a half wait (not shocking for Sunday brunch, really). I asked if there were spots at the bar, she said yes, and that she could put some reserved signs at two chairs for us! I was really surprised at this, and thought it was a great gesture!

The service was great! Our bartender was Jessica, and she took great care of us!! She was very friendly and attentive. I had the bacon mushroom omelet and it was delicious! Mimosas were great!

This restaurant is an old loft downtown, so it is not ideal for large parties, but the building and décor is absolutely amazing!! Can't wait to go back!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lyssa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nazareth, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
85 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great evening with a client”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Took a client out to this place during TechEd week in Houston. Great atmosphere in a building with a lot of history. Perfect noise level - Conversations were kept at the table without needing to yell to be heard. Interesting menu with lots of choices. Melise was our wonderful server. She asked about our tastes and gave recommendations. I had the BBQ brisket sandwich - Fantastic!

Nice place to take a client for a informal business meeting. Better for date night or a night with the fellas!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JessFuquay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The Byrd - Best Burger in Town”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

As one of my ideal road trips I would like to go on a U.S. tour seeking out the best hamburgers as designated by the various food-finding TV shows that we all like so much. Hearsay should be a stop - no doubt. The Byrd (the burger) is thick, juicy, loaded with flavor and piled with flavorful things. Best part is, you get to eat this burger while out on a nice, almost-fancy dinner with good cocktails and great friends.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OJT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
269 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A nice find”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The food here is good (the bacon and mushroom omelet was delicious, the chicken in the chicken and waffles overbreaded), the Bloody Marys delicious, but really, it's the atmosphere that's the draw. The building is unique and interesting. The service (this was Sunday at noon) was good. We'll be back to experience dinner soon.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dramady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hearsay also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Hearsay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing