We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice boutique hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sam Houston, Curio Collection by Hilton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Sam Houston, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #88 of 501 Hotels in Houston
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice boutique hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

Stayed last night at this hotel, nice chic boutique hotel - clean rooms and located downtown Houston. Easy to get taxi, friendly staff and affordable room. Nice to know there are options in Houston to stay in these sort of establishments.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbug_four
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    111
    58
    37
    28
See reviews for
60
119
29
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

The hotel was clean, the staff friendly, patient and helpful, the were rooms plenty big enough for me. I think I'd stay there again if I was on a budget. The bar is OK too. Downside? Not much really. One of the local churches has an outreach centre for the homeless which is great for people who need help. I made a small contribution to their fund. The sad thing is these people are sleeping rough on the pavements on the other side of the street to the hotel.

Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank djnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marshall, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

The hotel is an old hotel which has been updated to a botique hotel. The room was wonderful - a big, comfortable bed, lovely view of downtown Houston, and a superb European-syle bathroom. The only drawback at all was a noisy wedding celebration that didn't end until 11 pm. The hotel appears to be a favorite wedding venue. Other than that, it was restful and quite convenient to the downtown arts venues. They have a courtesy car that took us to and from the concert which was greatly appreciated. They have valet parking and it's pricey, but they waived the total valet charge when we complained about the late night party noise. I highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dinah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, General Manager at The Sam Houston, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
JonesvilleBag, so glad that you enjoyed your recent stay. We recently made the many of the room improvements that you mentioned, and are very proud that you liked them so much! I personally apologize for the noise disturbance you experienced - we are a favorite for wedding and other social celebrations, but we could have taken better care to prevent you from being disturbed. If you feel the matter needs further attention please contact me directly. Should your plans bring you back to downtown Houston, I would be happy to personally assist and ensure an even better experience than you had recently. Thank you again!

Nick Massad
General Manager
nick.massad@thesamhoustonhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
402 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

This hotel is nicely located near downtown and walking distance to a good selection of restaurants

The rooms were a bit small, but very clean and with very comfortable bedding.

The valet parking is very pricey. The regular room rates are very pricey too. But we had travelzoo vouchers which afforded us a good discount along with breakfast vouchers.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Omar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, General Manager at The Sam Houston, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Omar, thanks for staying at The Sam earlier this month! I'm glad you enjoyed our hotel, but I'm also glad you were able to experience some of the great restaurants downtown has to offer. Would love to share notes! Regarding parking, valet parking is our only option, but I trust the service was friendly and quick. Check out our website the next time you're staying downtown, we almost always have great package rates and other discounts for which you may qualify.

Thanks again!
Nick Massad
General Manager
nick.massad@thesamhoustonhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013 via mobile

I originally booked one night to stay here and I was so impressed that I decided to stay another night.
It's newly remodeled all the details are done with perfection including the accoutrements in the bathroom lotions and soaps.
From my Bell cap Mario to the front desk Martin and even my room service gal Amber... all of the staff made you feel like they were there to help you with a smile and a "no problem".
The beds sheets and pillows are first rate and comfortable.
They also exceeded my expectations when I got room service they said it would be about 20 minutes and It got here in 10 way to go guys
Thanks guys I'll be back

Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, General Manager at The Sam Houston, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Tom, thanks for the recent stay, and sounds like you met some of my favorite people in the hotel - Mario, Martin and Amber bring 100% every day, and will be very excited to read your comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Drop me a note the next time you travel to Houston.

Nick Massad
General Manager
nick.massad@thesamhoustonhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

Recently my wife and I had the privilege of staying at the SHH. I set up the night as a chance to celebrate my wife's first Mothers Day. I wanted to have a night alone, with out our daughter.
I contacted the concierge about some thoughts I had for the room and she exceeded any and all expectations. The staff is wonderful and professional. Not just the staff inside the Hotel but even the valets are fantastic. The room was amazing, clean and comfortable. All major amenities were there as well as perks like 2 flat screen TV's and free wifi.
I highly recommend the SHH to anyone. They definitely gave us a night we won't soon forget.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, General Manager at The Sam Houston, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Darren, thank you for your recent visit and glad we were able to help you take care of Mother's Day! When she is ready to pay you back on Father's Day, let us know and we'll blow it out for both of you :) Lots of fun recommendations our Concierge can provide, no matter what you like - live music, bar scene, arts, history, food snobery, whatever. Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Nick Massad
General Manager
nick.massad@thesamhoustonhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beach city
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

great service and great rooms ..very close to clubs and resteraunts on main street..short walk away from party`short trip to Sambuca resteraunt great food and great music on weekends..still typing to get all 200 characters so i can post this review i really hate having to put 200 hjfgkhjf in to post review

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tlee_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
Club Quarters Hotel in Houston
Downtown
Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection
Downtown
The Westin Houston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel Houston
Magnolia Hotel Houston
#22 of 501 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sam Houston, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sam Houston, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: The Sam Houston, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 1117 Prairie St, Houston, TX 77002-3118 (Formerly Alden Houston)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#56 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#78 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sam Houston, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sam Houston Hotel, first opened in 1924, has completed a complete renovation in the Spring of 2013. A perfect mixture of contemporary design and Texas culture, The Sam meets all of your business or leisure needs. Each of The Sam's spacious rooms come equipped with the latest conveniences, such as LED TVs, WiFi with up to 20mb of bandwidth, and Keurig coffee makers. Our hotel is ideally located downtown in the central business district, walking distance to all major event venues, restaurants/bars, and the Metro light rail. A truly Houston boutique hotel, the new Sam Houston Hotel is one-of-a-kind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct and Odigeo so you can book your The Sam Houston, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alden-Houston Hotel Houston
Houston Alden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing