We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Sam Houston, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #65 of 518 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We had never been to Texas before and decided to visit Houston on July 4th. After comparing prices of hotels in the area, we decided to stay at The Sam Houston. We were greeted by valet who took care of the vehicle so that we could begin our vacation right away. We were pleasantly surprised with the city views from our ninth floor room and found the room itself to be very spacious, modern and clean. The attention to detail was impeccable. From the gorgeous flooring, to the textured wallpaper and even the finishings in the bathroom---I can honestly say I have never stayed in such a luxurious hotel. Also, The Sam Houston is located within a short distance to lots of major attractions and even though we did not know the area, we walked most everywhere we went and felt safe. There was a beautiful wedding taking place on the Friday night during our stay and we didn't find the noise to be an issue at all. We even enjoyed a little dancing in our room before the party died down in the evening:) The front desk staff was beyond helpful and provided us with local magazines, directions and advice for places to see in the area and even ice for our cooler. Our experience at The Sam Houston was far superior to our previous night's stay at the Hilton and we will definitely be staying here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor to get a good view of downtown Houston!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edwards1329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley B, Public Relations Manager at The Sam Houston, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Thank you so much for sharing your excellent experience at The Sam Houston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton with the rest of the world! We are grateful to have had you as our guest and we hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (516)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

476 - 482 of 517 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2013

I can't say enough about the service that we received while staying at the Sam Houston Hotel. The entire staff was wonderful and you couldn't ask for anything that wasn't done with pleasantness, smiles & a follow-up question as to what else can we do for you.... My trip was memorable and I will definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Nothing to add. Everything was GREAT!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darien H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley B, Public Relations Manager at The Sam Houston, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Thank you for your feedback and for recognizing our team for the friendly and helpful service they provided you during your stay with us. We appreciate your business and we look forward to the opportunity to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

There are a couple boutique hotels in downtown Houston with bigger names, but the Sam Houston is a great option. For me - it doesn't have a "wow" factor, so there are a couple other places in the area I stay more frequently, but the Sam Houston is a nice solid hotel. The name seems more fitting than when it was The Alden, although you still see a few remaining references to the old moniker here and there.

The property is on the small side, so it's been quiet the couple times I've stayed. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable. Lots of lighting and electrical options - which are sometimes at a premium in older buildings like this. The amenities are in line with what you'd expect with a hotel of this class. The location puts it in walking distance to the downtown sporting venues as well as lots of food and drink options.

Room Tip: The hotel is on a street that is not as heavily traveled as others downtown, so road noise doesn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ATXMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley B, Public Relations Manager at The Sam Houston, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Thank you for recognizing the value we provide our guests with the high quality of service and products we offer. We appreciate you staying with us and we look forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Sam Houston Hotel for our 4 year anniversary! We were greeted by friendly staff and glad to see that the hotel was just as it appeared online. The gentalman who checked us in was very personable attentive and asked us why we chose to join them and we explained that it was our anniversary! Later that night we were surprised to see that he sent us up some champagne along with chocolate covered strawberrys and a card in celebration of our special day! It has only been a week since our stay and I've already recommended this hotel to my family and friends. Great pick!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saundra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley B, Public Relations Manager at The Sam Houston, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Thank you for your feedback and for recognizing our team for the friendly and helpful service they provided you during your stay with us. We appreciate your business and we look forward to the opportunity to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Preface this with the fact that we did not actually stay at this hotel, HOWEVER, our friends got married there on July 5, 2013 so we were at the hotel A LOT over a period of 4 days and we found the accommodations, staff, and food amazing. The concierge is very informative and helpful. We are not from Houston so had no idea where to find very basic services and they made calls and reservations for us, no issue. Martin was particularly helpful and Sameed as well. All of the managers and staff were wonderful in fact. Even though we were not staying in the hotel, they helped us with every need and also allowed us to use the shuttle when we were leaving from the hotel. They were also very attentive to detail throughout the wedding process from what we can tell and it was a great atmosphere all of the time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClairAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley B, Public Relations Manager at The Sam Houston, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Thank you for sharing your excellent experience with others and for recognizing our courteous and friendly team. We appreciate you staying with us and we look forward to the opportunity to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Upgraded rooms, very helpful staff and wonderful, central location. Parking is tight (valet available for $28 a day), but the metro a only a block away. Lots of street people in the area, so you may want to keep a couple of loose ones in your pocket if you feel so inclined. Check out the downtown tunnels if you have time and want to beat the heat; restaurants and shops in some of them. Overall really fine hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley B, Public Relations Manager at The Sam Houston, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to compliment our great location as well as our clean, spacious rooms. I am so happy that we could accommodate you during your stay in Houston, TX. Our staff hopes to welcome you back to our hotel again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Decided to spend the birthday downtown Houston. check in was fast and a great experience. Martin was fantastic and finding out about my big day upgraded us.
Then after a night out on the town we came back to a nice surprise to find champagne and desert in the room. Wonderful !!
Great service all around

Room Tip: Corner rooms bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank khunkajonsak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley B, Public Relations Manager at The Sam Houston, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Thank you so much for such a detailed review and we are so pleased on how much you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate you choosing us on your trip to Houston and we look forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel Houston
Magnolia Hotel Houston
#40 of 518 in Houston
2,835 reviews
Downtown
Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Club Quarters Hotel in Houston
Downtown
The Westin Houston Downtown
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#8 of 518 in Houston
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sam Houston, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sam Houston, Curio Collection by Hilton

Address: 1117 Prairie Street, Houston, TX 77002-3118 (Formerly Alden Houston)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#56 Romantic Hotel in Houston
Price Range: £98 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sam Houston, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sam Houston Hotel, first opened in 1924, has completed a complete renovation in the Spring of 2013. A perfect mixture of contemporary design and Texas culture, The Sam meets all of your business or leisure needs. Each of The Sam's spacious rooms come equipped with the latest conveniences, such as LED TVs, WiFi with up to 20mb of bandwidth, and Keurig coffee makers. Our hotel is ideally located downtown in the central business district, walking distance to all major event venues, restaurants/bars, and the Metro light rail. A truly Houston boutique hotel, the new Sam Houston Hotel is one-of-a-kind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Sam Houston, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alden-Houston Hotel Houston
Houston Alden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing