We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (609)
Filter reviews
609 results
Traveller rating
307
148
74
47
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
307
148
74
47
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews homeless people front desk minute maid park boutique feel boutique hotel easy walking distance valet service astros game valet parking ball park bars and restaurants the theater district stay downtown heart of downtown two blocks diamond member free shuttle
Filter
Updating list...
341 - 346 of 609 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2016

This hotel is way overpriced! The room was very sparse with nothing on the walls and little furniture. The service was lacking and room service took longer than we were promised. The bed linens were not very nice - duvet had no cover and was dirty. The 8th floor smelled like an old cheap hotel. The air conditioner did not keep our room cool. There was a loud banging noise that occurred at least once an hour. The valet parking was expensive at $36 a day and they were often delayed in bringing our car to the hotel. The food was good.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Curio – A Collection by Hilton
1  Thank Beth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley B, Public Relations Manager at The Sam Houston, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.
 
I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2016

We were very impressed with the service and cleanliness of this hotel. The lobby and bar are beautiful and the room was nicely appointed. All staff went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. The hotel is in a great location with many restaurants and a nice park in walking distance. They also accept pets and we brought our dog. They provided a treat and poop bags for him.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Curio – A Collection by Hilton
Thank Erl803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyson L, Manager at The Sam Houston, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2016

Hello Erl803,

I am thrilled to see you enjoyed your time with us. We strive to provide our guest with exceptional service and I am happy to see we are doing so. We look forward to seeing you and your family back during your next visit to Houston. Thank you again and have a great day.

Best Regards,

Tyson Lachniet
Director of Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2016

We were there for a wedding and the hotel was just gorgeous. The rooms were beautiful and very accommodating. The wedding reception was beautiful and not a detail missed. Would definitely return ! Classy and trendy!

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley B, Public Relations Manager at The Sam Houston, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your awesome experience at The Sam Houston, Curio Collection by Hilton with others on TripAdvisor. We greatly appreciate your business and your recommendation. We look forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2016

I have never been totally sure of just what constitutes a "boutique" hotel. But I think I do now. The Sam Houston hotel or "the Sam" as locals call it is in a simply great location for downtown Houston. Great bar in the hotel and wonderful eateries and other establishments next door and across the street. If you are going to the ballpark or historic district or just out on the town you cannot beat this location. Valet parking and VERY reasonably priced self parking very nearby is available. The staff were over the top excellent. Top shelf service from the curb at arrival to departure. The room was large, clean and comfortable and furnished with.....boutique furniture. You know, very unique looking even at the abject expense of functionality. It all sort of comes together in a way even someone like me, with limited knowledge or even cognizance of art appreciation could grasp. It was errrrrrrr...nice! Desk was a little small but usable, not sure why that couch was cut short but very cool looking....I think. Great bathroom and shower. Upper floor rooms like mine have a city view. Reasonably priced too, especially considering the "boutique" factor. Check it out!

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 950claudep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley B, Public Relations Manager at The Sam Houston, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to send such a considerate review of your recent stay at The Sam Houston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton. We look forward to providing you the same level of luxury service during your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2016

We were beyond pleased with our stay! The hotel's location made it a great choice for our weekend getaway. We were able to enjoy downtown's nightlife, exploring on the train, and a ballgame all within walking distance. We really enjoyed our morning coffee both in our room (Keurig coffee maker and Coffee-Mate creamer, not the powder) and in the lobby before heading out for the day, as well as our evening drinks in the bar before heading out at night. The hotel is well maintained and stylishly decorated. The lobby was inviting and had plenty of furniture which made it easy to chat with other guests and the staff. The staff is beyond accommodating. Everyone from the valet, to the bartender, to the front desk staff (special shout out to our buddy, Chad) helped make our stay a true vacation. Looking forward to returning…

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Curio – A Collection by Hilton
Thank C4758BGfrankl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley B, Public Relations Manager at The Sam Houston, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Thank you so much for sharing your excellent experience at The Sam Houston Hotel with the rest of the world! We are grateful to have had you as our guest and we hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews