We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good basic stay”
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Comfort Suites
Ranked #211 of 518 Hotels in Houston
Reviewed 24 July 2012

A small hotel (about 50 rooms) tucked away behind a couple of restaurants. Actually, the entrance of the hotel shares the driveway with a Jack in the Box. It is behind a Pappas BBQ. Very clean but starting to show a little age (matresses could use a changing, AC units are older). It is billed as a place to stay for the Medical Center which is not far and the hotel offers a shuttle, but it’s also a stone’s throw from Reliant Park so it’s a good bet for a game stay. Lots of fast food and some shopping within walking distance (Target across the street) but don't stray too far from the main road as it’s still the inner city. There is a guard on duty at night if that tells you anything. Standard C-Suites breakfast. Good TV line-up. Quiet since its back a bit from the street. The outdoor pool does not seem to get as much attention as the inside as it needed a good cleaning but it also did not get much use while I was there as its right along the drive way.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrBigTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2012

This is an excellent value for the price a med Center visit. We are long-term repeat guests (up to a week or two at a time for several months). Rooms are clean, staff is friendly, and they are excellent about providing Med Center shuttle service and accommodating Med Center visitors. Near plenty of restaurants. Refrigerators and microwaves in the rooms so there are a few options for longer-term guests to not have to dine out for every meal. Free fruit at the front desk 24-7. Sleeper sofas in the room are suitable for sitting, but not great for sleeping (not comfortable to sleep on).

This is not a perfect 5-star hotel, but I got what I would expect and more for the price. Highly recommended for Med Center visitors.

Pros
Reliable and reasonably prompt Med Ctr shuttle service
Sensitive to Med Center visitor needs
Clean rooms
Responsive staff
Small hotel with a friendly atmosphere
Good location, near Med Center and restaurants
Fenced parking
Refrigerators and microwaves in the rooms

Cons
Breakfast is ok, but not great
Pool is small
Parking is limited, but we have always been able to find a spot
Walls aren't as thin as in a house, but if you are an exceptionally light sleeper you may have an issue with the noise. Should be ok for normal to heavy sleepers
Sleeper sofas are not comfortable. Do not count on using them for extra people if you want to sleep comfortably

Overall, we have been really happy with this place.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hes T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2009

My wife and I spent one night at the Comfort Suites here outside of Houston. Our room faced Reliant Park home of the Houston Texans. I used reward points so the room was free. The front desk was friendly, the room was clean, but other than that, there was nothing to make this hotel stand out. The pool was SMALL, and the hot tub was SMALLER! Our room had a king suite with hot tub.
The hotel had a free breakfast which was not worthy of being free. They would have been better to serve donuts. There are some shopping centers around, and the hospitals are close by as well. Pappas BBQ next door was tasty. The other problem is the website says the hotel is .1 of a mile from the Metro Rail. You need to take a shuttle to the rail station and the shuttle only runs every couple hours. Frustrating!
Overall, I was not impressed with this hotel. I would definately look elsewhere if staying in the greater Houston area!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rjkcpktrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2008

I recently stayed at this hotel after the Houston Texans Monday night football game. Overall, the hotel is typical for a comfort suites location. The location to Reliant Stadium was great as it was within short walking distance. The rooms were clean and well kept and overall the hotel seemed in good condition.

The continental breakfast was okay but nothing too exciting. It consisted of sausage patties, an assortment of pastries, eggs, juices, coffee, yogurt and 'do-it-yourself' waffles. It was enough to fill my belly and tide me over until lunch.

Two big downfalls of this hotel are the pool and the price. The pool is a very small, laughable, pool located in the parking lot of the hotel. It has an attached hottub which looks to seat about 4 people.

The price, I paid $160 plus tax for 2 queen beds, is WAY too much for what you get. I'm not sure if it's because this hotel is located right next to Reliant Stadium or if it's because it's located in the medical district of Houston, but they are making a killing by overcharging on their rooms. I've stayed at way better hotels in downtown metropolitan cities for much less.

On the flip side, I couldn't find any better hotels for less money in the same area...

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Reddon14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2008

We had a business trip in Houston near Reliant Park and wanted a hotel close enough to walk. This Comfort Suites had everything we needed - a reasonable price, sitting area in the room with free wireless, refrigerator, microwave, makeup mirror, free breakfast and friendly staff. The furnishings are basic and the walls are thin but we will stay here again next year.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank k2sunrise2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2008

I booked three nights at this room in early November. Like many hotels in the Hoston area, it seemed overpriced (50% more than what I'd pay for comparable accomodations in the outskirts of Chicago).

The hotel is run down, with below average bedding, decor, plumbing, and cleanliness. The pool is a joke, it's basically a rectangular hot tub in size and right next to the parking lot. The iron didn't work and they were not able to provide me with a working iron since housekeeping goes home at 8pm. I was reduced to finding some other way to prepare my clothes for meetings the next day.

The breakfast was even poorer than the usual continental, with bagels that seemed like worn out insulation.

I checked out that night and went to a more expensive hotel that at least had an iron (and also CNN).

I won't go back to this Comfort Suites, even though I have stayed at many others.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ItinerantGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2007

We booked this hotel on the weekend of the Houston Quilt Festival when just about every hotel near downtown was completely sold out. We were a bit nervous because this Comfort Suites had rooms available. What a pleasant surprise this hotel was! The location is great for both the medical center, Reliant Center (you could walk) and the George R. Brown Convention Center. Service was very good, the room was spacious and very clean, bathroom toiletries were replaced daily and the breakfast was much better than the standard continental fare of a cold muffin and coffee. There are great restaurants within an easy drive; Rice Village is only minutes away. We would definitely recommend this hotel and we will be staying here again.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank grayhog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Medical Center
Staybridge Suites
Staybridge Suites
#237 of 518 in Houston
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Address: 1055 McNee Rd, East of Main Street, Houston, TX 77054-1712
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #211 of 518 Hotels in Houston
Price Range: £91 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Houston
Houston Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing