We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Boutique Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Magnolia Hotel Houston
Ranked #26 of 507 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Pleasant Boutique Hotel”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I stayed here Friday through Monday in October. I had a nice quiet room with a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was well appointed. The pool is much smaller than the photographs suggested! They offer happy hour and free cookies/milk; neither of which I experienced. The free breakfast is extensive and of an excellent quality for a hotel. Although there isn't a specific restaurant (it is tied in with the bar on the second floor), the food was surprisingly good. There is also a library and a pool room. The hotel offers a shuttle to the downtown area, which is also within walking distance. No real complaints. Nice hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RunnerJac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,787 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,708
    750
    205
    68
    56
See reviews for
419
978
197
818
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
La Porte, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

Check in was terrible. Staff not friendly at all. Wine not delivered as ordered....had to call down for it. Was suppose to be in our room upon arrival. Breakfast was a crazy mess....no food and what was left looked terrible. Very disorganized....The Hampton Inn has a better breakfast. Will NEVER stay there again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank CScottRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2013

The Magnolia staff was helpful and attentive upon arrival. The momment we pulled up the valet service unloaded my belongings while I checked in. My luggage was delivered and unpacked in the room promptly.The suite was large, clean and very presentable. The hotel is perfectly located downtown and the views are nice. The service was impecable and the rooms were very comfortable. I will most definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atolbe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaumont, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

As a disclaimer, we have to state we arrived late, did not check out their restaurants nor any offerings. This review is based entirely upon checking into our reserved room whereupon my S.O. announced, " This room smells dirty." No question it was: the black print rug no doubt hid many things as I left the next AM with 12 flea bites around both ankles which I just had lazered today. He kept his socks on the entire time. We do not know if they are pet friendly and treat for fleas with their deposit as the best hotels do. Not saying I got bitten there but after room service breakfast (pretty good), I started itching, went to my hairdresser, my dentist for teeth cleaning and then home. Not too many options there. The bed had the thinnest down comforter I had ever seen. Felt like plastic was present in the bedding somewhere during the night. Ran my finger on top of the framed picture next to the bed and viewed a thick coating of dust (fur?). Sorry, first and last time for us.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newsanddeals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed at the Magnolia hotel while moving our daughter to Houston. Contemporary and cool decor. However, there was an overwhelming smell of mildew or something similar throughout the lobby. It actually carried over to the 2nd floor where they were serving breakfast. The odor stayed throughout our visit. Unfortunately it tainted our feeling about the hotel .

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PamS15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I go to Houston every year for Quilt Market and this was my first stay at the Magnolia. I loved it. It was such a friendly, relaxing and comfortable place. I will definitely stay here again. With free wifi, breakfast, happy hour and milk and cookies - it is an excellent value. The shuttle service to and from the convention center was quick and easy.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cam11Raleigh_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurnee, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Stayed here for four nights for a convention. Can't be beat for value compared to previous stays at the Hilton. As I can see it,t he only advantage the Hilton has is the enclosed bridge tot he convention center. Magnolia perks included free WiFi, free hot breakfast buffet, free wine/beer happy hour, free milk & cookies in the evening. Comfy beds with a plethora of pillows and spares in the closet. Helpful and friendly staff at desk,in the lounge, and in housekeeping.

It's about a mile to the George Brown Con Center, and we walked every morning we could. Nice start to the day.

Room Tip: From the seventh floor, we could hear a little traffic noise, so higher up might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection
Downtown
The Lancaster
The Lancaster
#1 of 507 in Houston
1,433 reviews
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Club Quarters Hotel in Houston
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#6 of 507 in Houston
401 reviews
Downtown
The Westin Houston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel Houston

Property: Magnolia Hotel Houston
Address: 1100 Texas St, Houston, TX 77002-3114
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#13 Family Hotel in Houston
#15 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#16 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Magnolia Hotel Houston 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel in downtown Houston, Texas offers accommodations for leisure travel and extended stay guests, as well as space for meetings, wedding receptions, conferences, and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Magnolia Hotel Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Houston Magnolia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing