We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magnolia Hotel Houston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Magnolia Hotel Houston
Ranked #20 of 501 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

Stayed an entire week on a business trip. Great location and staff was extremely helpful. Emenities were very nice. My only complaint would be that there is no refridgerator space for any personal items, only items for sale. I would still strongly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: No refridgerator space for any personal items, only items for sale are in the refridgerator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Houston, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Hey Jim S,

Thanks for taking the time to write the review, and we're happy that overall you were pleased with your experience. Next time you're with us, call down to the desk and say you need to rearrange the fridge - we'll help. That's what we do.

Thanks again,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,750 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,696
    733
    199
    66
    56
See reviews for
413
965
195
805
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

We decided to stay the night here while at the theater district instead of driving home. So glad we did - the hotel is lovely, the rooms are big with an elegant, luxurious look. Bathroom huge for a hotel. You can walk to the theater district in about 10 minutes and its convenient to places to eat as well. The 'Happy hour' was a great touch and although I didn't make it up for breakfast, my husband told me it was great. Great value for a classy hotel like this. I would recommend it to anyone and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irishgalintexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Houston, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Hey irishgalintexas,

Reviews like yours make us feel great! Thank you so much for taking the time to list the ways we made your stay memorable, and we hope we get another chance to make more memories. Maybe next time you'll make it for breakfast to complete the package. Until then, we'll be here.

Regards,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

The hotel was well-located. The service was excellent. I had no problem while checking in, even I came earlier than expected. The personnel was wonderful. They were all warm and welcoming. The room was clean and elegantly decorated. I would strongly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Houston, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Sandy B,

When we read reviews like yours, we're wondering why all of our guests aren't named Sandy B? Our warm and attentive staff will be here for your next stay, and we hope it's soon. Until then, thanks for the review and be well.

Cheers,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
109 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Was really impressed with this conveniently located Houston hotel. We were in Houston for a wedding, and the location was perfect. Our two rooms were excellent. Staff was extra helpful when we needed a wheelchair for my dad. No problem with a late checkout on Sunday. I would definitely stay here again. Only odd thing was the "wedding fee" that was applied to our wedding discount rate.

Room Tip: Nicer views on the front of the hotel. Work on the street behind the hotel was noisy Saturday night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank golformeca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Houston, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Hey golformeca,

We're so happy we got a chance to take care of you and your family, and we're even more happy that you decided to review your stay with us. All of the positive things you mentioned have been forwarded to our staff, and in regards to the extra "fee" - I have forwarded your review to the higher-ups - they'll be able to clarify the processing.

Thanks again and we hope to see you soon.

Cheers,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

This was a great hotel stay, I felt very relaxed the moment I got into the room. Very nice and friendly staff. Big clean rooms and nice showers. There are so many places that are in walking distance to go too. Food, drinks, night clubs, its in the perfect location. Hop on the metro rail and you are a skip and a hop to any destination. All around great service and a wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaQuesha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Houston, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Hey LaQuesha B,

That was awfully nice of you to drop us such a positive review, and we want to thank you for it. Here goes.

Thank you.

We're glad you found the location convenient and that your interaction with the staff and condition of your room were perfect.

We hope to see you next time.

Cheers,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnie, Texas
Level Contributor
129 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

First, the facts. Very nice hotel. Very clean and updated room with plenty of room. A very large bathroom with separate dressing area. The shower was large, good hot water and excellent water pressure. Hotel is in the middle of downtown and there are parking garages adjacent to the hotel. The front desk was friendly at check-in and out. Concierge' were friendly entering the building. Good hotel with a good room.
Now, my personal opinion. We wanted to stay downtown to have a nice city view. Our view was from an interior room and was a disappointment. After reading the hotel's website, we understood king rooms to have a large jacuzzi-style tub. Again we were disappointed when our room had just a shower tub. There wasn't a fridge in the room to use. The coffee in the room was terrible. Overall, while this is a very nice hotel we left disappointed with no reason to stay here next time.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dlbydb1100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Houston, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear dlbydb1100,

Thank you. Reviews like yours are absolutely essential to helping us improve as a business. I understand that your view wasn't what you anticipated, the coffee left you hanging, and that you were looking forward to having a fridge in your room. We have noted your review and have shared your concerns with our staff.

Other than those concerns, it seems that you were very balanced in your review and enjoyed the room and the staff interaction. We appreciate this and would love to have another chance to serve you.

Next time, and we hope you'll try us again, call down to the front desk and see if we can arrange to have your concerns addressed. We're here to help.

Regards,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection
Downtown
The Lancaster
The Lancaster
#1 of 501 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#4 of 501 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Hotel ZaZa Houston
#5 of 501 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel Houston

Property: Magnolia Hotel Houston
Address: 1100 Texas St, Houston, TX 77002-3114
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#13 Family Hotel in Houston
#13 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#16 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Magnolia Hotel Houston 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel in downtown Houston, Texas offers accommodations for leisure travel and extended stay guests, as well as space for meetings, wedding receptions, conferences, and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp and Booking.com so you can book your Magnolia Hotel Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Houston Magnolia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing