We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Houston's Best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Magnolia Hotel Houston
Ranked #40 of 518 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Lovely sparkling clean rooms and oh so comfortable beds! We would not consider staying anywhere else than the Magnolia while in Houston. Entire staff greeted us with smiles and made us feel very welcome. First class all the way! I didn't want to leave but promise I will be back.

Room Tip: Took what I was given each time and had no complaints!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara762014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Houston, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Hey Barbara762014,

Every once in a while we get a review and it makes me wonder if you work for us, or if you're a stockholder, or your our manager's mother. You're just too nice!

Seriously thank you for taking the time to write a review. These help us big time. We hope you will come back and that we get to do this whole thing again.

Cheers,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,835)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

943 - 949 of 2,835 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Magnolia Hotel over Christmas. When we arrived, there were cookies and eggnog in the lobby -- a taste of things to come. Our room was lovely,spacious,
and immaculate. The evening reception was pleasant, and the breakfasts plentiful. Even the
staff working on Christmas was pleasant and helpful. The location of the hotel is great for downtown events and easily accessible to highways. Parking here is pricey, but we parked right
across the street at night for free -- just had to feed the meter at 7 a.m. We were visiting our
son and he was jealous of the hotel room we had!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1955jam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Houston, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Dear 1955jam,

Nice review! I like the style and composure, and the title was very nice. A little foreshadowing in there!

We're so happy our staff and your stay inspired such a great review and we hope we get to write another chapter soon.

Write On,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We visited Houston last December and this hotel was a perfect choice. It's location in downtown allowed us to be close to everything, from shopping malls to museum district. Its atmosphere is really warming and welcoming, and the room was absolutely lovely and wide. Special mention for the valet parking staff; one of the best services I had ever have, ever. Congratulations to all Employees; we hope you all have a wonderful 2014.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank LeopoldoBarran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Houston, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Dear LeopoldoBarran,

Congratulations to you, for writing such a nice review! Happy New Year!

We've passed on this review to our staff and valet services - we're just so pleased we got to make it happen for you.

Let's do it again sometime.

Best,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

the room was not ready when the groom arrived to get dressed, he was made to wait in the lobby, and nobody came to get him, after waiting an additional 30 minutes he had to go back to the check in and wait again to see if the room was ready. The room was nice and clean. After arriving back at the hotel with the wedding party around 1030 pm, the hotel facilities were all closed to any after party or hotel reception, so we were unable to continue visiting with our guests. The staff were not helpful and did not direct you or guide you in any way. For the end to our wedding night, I believe the staff and hotel could have done a much better job of receiving us and making us feel great. The hotel missed an opportunity to host our guests and make much more money, and we ended our wedding night on a low note here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Houston, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear sjterry,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us. Your review has been forwarded on to our Guest Services and we appreciate the role we played in hosting you and your guests. While we were unable to accommodate the late night revelry, and our Housekeeping Staff took their time ensuring that the groom's room was up to snuff, we are happy that you chose to stay with us.

We hope that in the future we'll be better prepared to provide the level of service we've come to be associated with, and if there is anything special we can organize for you, let us know ahead of time and we'll work to make it happen.

Regards,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

The Magnolia offers understated elegance and subtle sophistication. Excellent accessibility to downtown Houston"arteries". Customer service-excellent; lounge - exceptional;cookie bar-scrumptious;breakfast-ROCKS!;valet service-the best. Great getaway. Dr. G.

Room Tip: The King suite was a life saver; had everything I needed....The fluffy robes are great too!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chenchen_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Houston, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Dear chenchen_10,

Nice alliteration in the title! 10 points!

We're so happy you had such a wonderful time! Thank you for taking the time to review. We hope to see you again!

^Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Great place , great service ! Wonderful location !! I would recommend this place to friends and family and I would definitely consider staying again when we return to Houston. Our trip was perfect and the Magnolia was one of the reasons!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lourdes c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Houston, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Dear lourdes c,

Reviews like yours are why we do what we do here. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and next time you're in town, let's do it again.

Best,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Had a company party at the hotel and decided to stay the night. Beautiful hotel & room. Excellent service. FOR SOME UNKNOWN REASON I WAS BILLED LATER A $6 CHARGE FOR NO REASON! My advice, enjoy your stay but check your final bill for hidden charges!!

Room Tip: The room with a king size bed was very comfortable. I would highly recommend this type of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Houston, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Dear Albert V,

Thank you for taking the time and reviewing your stay with us. While we take this review and use it to help improve our services, we hope you'll take another chance on us. We're in the business of satisfying customers and we look forward to doing just that during your next stay.

Thanks again,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection
Downtown
The Westin Houston Downtown
Downtown
Club Quarters Hotel in Houston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#8 of 518 in Houston
502 reviews
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Houston
Hyatt Regency Houston
#34 of 518 in Houston
2,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel Houston

Address: 1100 Texas St, Houston, TX 77002-3114
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#11 Family Hotel in Houston
#16 Business Hotel in Houston
#22 Luxury Hotel in Houston
Price Range: £101 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Magnolia Hotel Houston 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel in downtown Houston, Texas offers accommodations for leisure travel and extended stay guests, as well as space for meetings, wedding receptions, conferences, and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Magnolia Hotel Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Houston Magnolia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing