We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent amenities and stellar service!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Magnolia Hotel Houston
Ranked #41 of 518 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I have stayed at The Magnolia in Houston numerous times and can always get top notch service from Jennifer K. in Sales, Valet and Bellmen, Wait staff and anyone running the front desk. I am generally in town for business but the rare occasion I am able to bring my family the experience is always first class. I have spread the word regarding this hotel to my colleagues and friends and have also hosted a few meetings in the meeting rooms. I am looking forward to my next stay here!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jabbott13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Houston, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Hey Jabbott13,

Thank you for making us your go-to hotel in Houston! We thank you for staying with us, and for taking the time to review. We look forward to your next stay, business or pleasure, we'll be here.

Cheers,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,841)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

909 - 915 of 2,841 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2014

I had a one night stay at the Magnolia while on business in Houston. Overall, it was a nice stay. The hotel location is superb, the breakfast was tasty, and the service was first class. I will stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LonelyCruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Houston, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Hey LonelyCruiser,

We're so glad you chose to stay with us, and that you wrote a review! We hope to see you again soon - till then -

Cheers,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I am a Marriott guy through and through, but when I couldn't get into one this past trip to Houston I stayed at the Magnolia. WHAT A WONDERFUL HOTEL. The people that were there are every bit as nice; the rooms are actually somewhat bigger than a traditional Marriott; you could practically do cartwheels in the bathroom of my standard room; they have a free cocktail hour from 5-7 which is great compared to an honor bar at a Marriott; it was close to everything that I needed within a short walking distance; and the gym is on the top floor and the pool is on the roof! I was leery of this place because it didn't have the Marriott name, but boy was this a solid hotel.

Room Tip: The elevators tend to get very busy in the mornings, so the lower you are, the fast you can get down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Houston, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Hey Dave,

We know all about customer loyalty. And Marriott was lucky to have you. We're elated you found everything you were looking for and we're proud to be a part of your standard hotel regimen. We won't let you down! We look forward to the next stay -

Cheers,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I recently stayed at the Magnolia for a business trip and would highly recommend staying here, the staff was friendly and professional, the rooms were well appointed, clean and a nice size. The breakfast was great so was the reception in the lounge. Will definitely stay here again, and look forward to trying their other locations.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Houston, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Jayne F,

Thank you for staying with us and for noticing all of our awesomeness. We noticed how awesome you are. We look forward to your next stay, where the awesomeness will be overwhelming. Til then -

Cheers,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We were in Houston to celebrate a wedding at the co-cathedral followed by a reception at Minute Maid Park. This hotel and it's staff made a wonderful day, even better. All the other little perks, like the free shuttle, breakfast, happy hour and cookies and milk made our stay in Houston all the more carefree and fun. If you need to be downtown Houston...this is the place to stay!

Room Tip: stay on one of the lower floors. with 20 plus floors, the elevator can be a little slow if you are i...
See more room tips
Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank donna b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Houston, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Hey donna b,

We are beyond happy that you were happy and we thank you for staying with us, and for writing such a glowing review. We look forward to repeating this entire process, soon. Till then -

Cheers,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

My family and I stayed at the Magnolia for one night on a quick leisure trip to Houston. I have stayed many times at the Dallas Magnolia, and wanted to give this historic boutique hotel a try.

Due to a wedding event, we did not experience the lounge. We did not work out, but there is a rooftop pool deck and workout room. We missed all of the food and beverage at the hotel, so I'll leave those to be covered by other reviewers.

Pros
Nicely appointed rooms with comfy beds. My kids did not want to get out of them!
Quiet-no disruptions from other guests; little noise from street (high up)
Good location, particularly if you want to try metro rail to other areas
Wi-Fi for general purposes was free and easy to use.

Cons
Valet parking is pricey, and at check-out times is overwhelmed by demand.
Wi-Fi for heavier use requires $6 per device. (Dallas is free)

I liked it, and would definitely be willing to stay here during my next trip to Houston.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank treyleah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Houston, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Hey treyleah,

Thanks for staying with us and thanks for the balanced review - besides the valet and WIFi fees it seems you dug it. Well thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and we look forward to the next, soon.

Cheers,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Magnolia Hotel is such a lovely hotel with a great location. We were able to get around easily and take cabs for little cost because of the central location.The staff and service were exceptional and very accommodating to such a large group of girls. The little extras they provide for their hotel guests is what really makes them stand out. Their breakfast was delicious and who doesn't like free milk and cookies as a bed time treat. Will definitely be returning for some more of those goodies! I would highly recommend this hotel for any type of occasion.

Room Tip: Whether you are traveling with one companion or a larger group, I would highly recommend getting the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leslie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Houston, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Hey Leslie H,

Thank you for staying with us and for writing such a great review. Anytime you want to come back, we'll be here -

Cheers,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
The Westin Houston Downtown
Downtown
Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#9 of 518 in Houston
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Downtown
Club Quarters Hotel in Houston
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Houston
Hyatt Regency Houston
#32 of 518 in Houston
2,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel Houston

Address: 1100 Texas St, Houston, TX 77002-3114
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#11 Family Hotel in Houston
#16 Business Hotel in Houston
#22 Luxury Hotel in Houston
Price Range: £104 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Magnolia Hotel Houston 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel in downtown Houston, Texas offers accommodations for leisure travel and extended stay guests, as well as space for meetings, wedding receptions, conferences, and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Magnolia Hotel Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Houston Magnolia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing