We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Magnolia Hotel Houston
Ranked #22 of 504 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Gaylord, Michigan
2 reviews
“Hotel Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Great place to stay downtown. Close to many things. Morning breakfast is a plus. Rooms are nice size and are clean. Nice workout area, but can be busy in the morning. Pool is on the roof and you get a pretty good view of the skyline at night

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Houston, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
That pool area is the coolest! Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to review - we hope to have you back again soon -

Best,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,701
    737
    200
    66
    56
See reviews for
416
968
196
807
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Central Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

This hotel has a nice modern decor. It is in a downtown location and there was construction going on so the only options for parking while we were there were valet. The area felt and looked clean and safe. There didn't seem to be too much within walking distance, maybe that was also due to the construction, but it is in a great central location and close driving distance to other places.
Our room had a nice view and was comfortably quiet. I don't recall being bothered by footsteps in the hallway, audible murmurings, or door slams. And the room was very clean.
The milk and cookies evening service was a cute touch, even though I couldn't partake because of food allergies. The complimentary breakfast was very nice, enjoyable, and filling. They had a variety of warm and cold foods and the entire area was clean and constantly monitored for cleanliness.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VFlower2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Houston, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for reviewing your experience. We're glad you found your stay well appointed and appreciate your patience with the construction.

We hope to have you back soon -

Cheers,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
117 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I've been into the Magnolia Hotel several times, but had never stayed prior to last weekend. The decor is outstanding - modern, clean and beautiful!

Check in at the front desk was easy and the staff was personable. The room was clean and private, as we requested. The bathroom was modern and large - so nice!

The only thing barring this hotel from a 5-star rating would be the "above and beyond" factor - that little something extra (staff!) that really wows you. For example, the bartenders at the 2nd floor bar take care of you, but don't go out of their way to interact with you.

Overall, awesome stay - if I could, I'd give it 4.5 stars!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in a private location...this hotel has awesome little quiet hallways!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XCrun12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Houston, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for staying with us, for reviewing your experience, and for having an awesome weekend! I have shared your review with the staff and we hope to have you back soon so we can show that we have barrels of that "Wow" service, readily available.

Cheers,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I am from Houston so I haven't had the need to stay here before. We stayed here for a wedding we were in. The food was really good. It's really nice that they have milk and cookies and Breakfast provided. Usually at a hotel of this caliber the breakfast isn't free. We got a king room and were very happy with the cleanliness and comfort. We slept great. The location is ideal for downtown activities. I didn't give it five stars just because there was construction next door that was annoying and the view from our room on the backside was non-existent. Ask for a room in the front.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaclyn13805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Houston, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Your comments in regards to noise level have been noted. We appreciate your staying with us and we hope to have you back soon.

Cheers,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great location for downtown, the rooms were very clean and the beds were very comfortable. Pool is somewhat small, but well kept. Staff is very friendly. They have a complementary shuttle service that will take you to close venues and pick you up which is nice instead of having to pay for a cab. I was impressed and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachGoerJess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Houston, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Hey BeachGoerJess,

Thanks for the review and thanks for staying with us! We look forward to the next time -

Cheers,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendswood, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed here recently and had an amazing time! Had a reunion with a military friend and we totally enjoyed ourselves. Cookies and milk at 5?? Sounds silly but not when your really enjoying cookies and milk at 5! Also a cool happy hour every day, which was nice to mingle with others visiting Houston (I'm a local). The suite and bathroom were fantastic! Great little mini kitchen and tub/shower, nice amount of space. Also great view of the city. Additionally the drivers were a great help and very professional. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Houston, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Hey Alison F,

We're happy to be the venue for such reunions! Thanks for the review and thanks for staying - we'll see you next time -

Best,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
122 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at the Magnolia Hotel in Houston for 2 nights before we went on a cruise. The staff was friendly and helpful, the decor was warm, interesting and contemporary. There was a happy hour every night and the food was good overall. The rooms are a good size and everything was clean.

The hotel is in downtown Houston and they have a service that will take you anywhere you want to go in the downtown area.

The only negative was on Saturday morning at breakfast when it seems everybody in the hotel was there at the same time and there was not enough seating for everybody.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Houston, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Hey Ina S,

Thanks for the review and thanks for choosing to stay with us. Next time, we hope you get a seat for Sunday breakfast and if there's any issue, speak to one of our staff. Thanks again -

Cheers,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection
Downtown
The Lancaster
The Lancaster
#1 of 504 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,365 reviews
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#4 of 504 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Downtown
The Westin Houston Downtown
Downtown
Club Quarters Hotel in Houston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel Houston

Property: Magnolia Hotel Houston
Address: 1100 Texas St, Houston, TX 77002-3114
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#13 Family Hotel in Houston
#14 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#16 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Magnolia Hotel Houston 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel in downtown Houston, Texas offers accommodations for leisure travel and extended stay guests, as well as space for meetings, wedding receptions, conferences, and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Magnolia Hotel Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Houston Magnolia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing