We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay in Houston”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Magnolia Hotel Houston
Ranked #41 of 518 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2014

First class all the way. I really have nothing bad to say about this Hotel and our experience. We flew into Houston from Chicago for a International Rugby game at the BBVA Compass Stadium. We were within walking distance of the Stadium but the Magnolia offered a free shuttle which we took since it was 96 degrees outside. Loved the European bedding, the free cookie buffet and complimentary buffet breakfast. They also offered a complimentary happy hour which we missed both nights because of scheduling. Room was large and comfy, Tub was big enough for two. Loved the infused water offered daily in the lobby. And the French café downstairs. If I have anything negative to say it would be the cost of the parking at the Hotel. But, we found cheaper 24hr parking around the block. The only negative is not about the Hotel but the area. There is absolutely nothing to do there. It is in the Financial District so not much in the way of sightseeing, restaurants or things to do especially for a family. But LOVED the Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karinab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Houston, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

As long as the family loved it! Thank you for staying, and thank you for reviewing. Your comments in regards to location and attractions have been noted, as well as all of the perks you found. We're proud to be the place to stay in Houston, and we hope to do it again soon -

Best,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,841)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

844 - 850 of 2,841 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

I travel a lot and the Magnolia is one of the best hotels I have stayed at. First class all the way. Will not stay anywhere else when I travel to Houston. From the complimentary happy hour, to the evening milk and cookies, and then an amazing breakfast buffet, you can't ask for a better experience. The pool/hot tub on the roof level over looking the city of Houston is beautiful at night. It's only a few blocks away from Minute Maid Park. Close to great area dining and family friendly activities, you can't go wrong by staying at the Magnolia!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GiocosaGlenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Houston, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you so much for the review - and thanks for staying with us.

We're glad you dug our vibe, location, pool area - we hope to have you back again soon -

Best,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Excellent service, wonderful accommodations and delicious breakfast food. My husband and I will return. We attended a nieces wedding and reception held at the hotel. It was very nice. Food for the wedding....was okay. Hotel is a lovely place close the Christ Cathedral where we attend church service the next day!

Room Tip: We were on the 16th floor, not a good view. Ask for king with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Houston, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for staying with us and for reviewing! We're so glad to host these wonderful occasions and we're very happy you and the husband will be coming back.

We look forward to your next stay -

Cheers,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Comfortable, spacious rooms. Great place to stay downtown and within walking distance to many venues. Great shuttle service. Clean for the most part. Milk and cookie bar was nice each evening. Convenient garage parking nearby.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silver_Knight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Houston, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Nice and succinct! We're glad you were happy with the location and services - we hope to have a repeat performance soon - thanks for staying and for reviewing -

Best,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Great place to stay downtown. Close to many things. Morning breakfast is a plus. Rooms are nice size and are clean. Nice workout area, but can be busy in the morning. Pool is on the roof and you get a pretty good view of the skyline at night

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Houston, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

That pool area is the coolest! Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to review - we hope to have you back again soon -

Best,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This hotel has a nice modern decor. It is in a downtown location and there was construction going on so the only options for parking while we were there were valet. The area felt and looked clean and safe. There didn't seem to be too much within walking distance, maybe that was also due to the construction, but it is in a great central location and close driving distance to other places.
Our room had a nice view and was comfortably quiet. I don't recall being bothered by footsteps in the hallway, audible murmurings, or door slams. And the room was very clean.
The milk and cookies evening service was a cute touch, even though I couldn't partake because of food allergies. The complimentary breakfast was very nice, enjoyable, and filling. They had a variety of warm and cold foods and the entire area was clean and constantly monitored for cleanliness.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VFlower2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Houston, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you for staying with us and for reviewing your experience. We're glad you found your stay well appointed and appreciate your patience with the construction.

We hope to have you back soon -

Cheers,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I've been into the Magnolia Hotel several times, but had never stayed prior to last weekend. The decor is outstanding - modern, clean and beautiful!

Check in at the front desk was easy and the staff was personable. The room was clean and private, as we requested. The bathroom was modern and large - so nice!

The only thing barring this hotel from a 5-star rating would be the "above and beyond" factor - that little something extra (staff!) that really wows you. For example, the bartenders at the 2nd floor bar take care of you, but don't go out of their way to interact with you.

Overall, awesome stay - if I could, I'd give it 4.5 stars!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in a private location...this hotel has awesome little quiet hallways!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XCrun12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Houston, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you for staying with us, for reviewing your experience, and for having an awesome weekend! I have shared your review with the staff and we hope to have you back soon so we can show that we have barrels of that "Wow" service, readily available.

Cheers,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
The Westin Houston Downtown
Downtown
Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#9 of 518 in Houston
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Downtown
Club Quarters Hotel in Houston
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Houston
Hyatt Regency Houston
#32 of 518 in Houston
2,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel Houston

Address: 1100 Texas St, Houston, TX 77002-3114
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#11 Family Hotel in Houston
#16 Business Hotel in Houston
#22 Luxury Hotel in Houston
Price Range: £105 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Magnolia Hotel Houston 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel in downtown Houston, Texas offers accommodations for leisure travel and extended stay guests, as well as space for meetings, wedding receptions, conferences, and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Magnolia Hotel Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Houston Magnolia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing