We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magnolia Hotel Houston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Magnolia Hotel Houston
Ranked #20 of 501 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel as part of a package from Buffalo to watch the Bluejays play the Astros. There is not one bad thing I can say about the hotel. The breakfast buffet had a decent variety and was fresh. There was an American Legion conference going on in town at the time and the hotel was quite busy but this did not seem to have an impact on the quality of our stay at all. No extra noise or lack of anything. Probably made it more fun :) The cookie bar was a neat idea and they were even tastier than Double Tree cookies. At least there was a variety. We only made the happy hour get together once, before the ball game. Nice little start to the evening. If I was forced to choose something negative I'd say the rooftop pool was small but it's not like there was space for a bigger one and I wasn't there to swim. The gym was pretty decent too. All in all this was an amazing hotel. The rooms were spacious and clean, the beds comfortable, and all the little perks were great. I'd definitely recommend this to anybody.

Room Tip: The view in our room kind of sucked, but you can always go up to the rooftop patio to look out over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Houston, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Thank you for the great and comprehensive review - you are correct about the Legion conference, it did make the hotel a little more fun! We look forward to having more fun in the future with you - till then,

Cheers,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,750 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,696
    733
    199
    66
    56
See reviews for
413
965
195
805
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
210 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

It was my first time staying in this hotel... It is perfectly situation downtown with quick access to all the hot spots you can imagine. The rooms were excellent and nicely laid out and I got a great sleep and even enjoyed hanging out in the lounge area on one of the floors and throwing back some drinks and food with friends and colleagues in a great atmosphere! I'll be staying here again for sure!

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank DoubleOIncognito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Houston, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
A great review! We're so happy you found your stay pleasurable, and socially invigorating - we hope to provide more at a future date - #LookingForward!

Thanks again for taking the time to review -

Best,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinidad
Level Contributor
691 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 460 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

This was only our second experience with Magnolia in the space of a week. Not sure why we never tried Magnolia hotels before, but now that we have, we're hooked!

Elegant, comfy hotel with a homey feel. The evening hot chocolate or milk with cookies must play a part in that! Loved the decor of the lobby here with the colourful hanging glass light fixtures over the very modern fireplace! Very unique interior decorations here like the Texas silhouette behind the front desk!

Room was very spacious – lots of floor space for our 3 cases. I like how the housekeeping staff display the amenities and soap on and inside towels…cute!
Breakfast was a hearty buffet with lots of cooked options! Nice rooftop pool with spectacular views in all directions. It was crowded with families when we visited, but even if you’re not swimming, make sure to go up as you get a great overview of the city from up there.
You can see that the area in which Magnolia hotel is located on Texas Street, is in the process of being revitalized. We liked the story boards on the lamp posts along the sidewalks which explain about the buildings in the area and their history.

Magnolia occupies the old Post-Dispatch Building. Its 22 stories took just 11 months to build and was completed in 1926. The building still looks very good for its age! We had an old black & white photo of the front entrance in our room, so it’s nice to see that the hotel highlights the building’s history.

We loved Magnolia but must advise that unless you're in Houston on business in downtown, then it may be best you stay outside of this area. The hotel is simply lovely but it's just a shame that there is not much for tourists to do.
We chose to stay here so we could do some shopping at Macy's around the corner, only to learn that it had closed down.

Houston is a sprawling city and now that we've been, we would likely stay further out and closer to the Galleria Mall than in the depressed downtown area. Vagrants, beggars, drug addicts....it's all here in this part of Houston.

Thankfully we only spent 2 nights and despite our ill choice of location, Magnolia was a lovely hotel which provided excellent sleep quality.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Concierge_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Houston, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
What an excellent and thorough review! Your comments in regards to location have been noted, and we definitely appreciate the balance you struck with your review - you have an excellent eye for details and we hope to have you back soon to continue the praise train! Until then,

Cheers,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

First class all the way. I really have nothing bad to say about this Hotel and our experience. We flew into Houston from Chicago for a International Rugby game at the BBVA Compass Stadium. We were within walking distance of the Stadium but the Magnolia offered a free shuttle which we took since it was 96 degrees outside. Loved the European bedding, the free cookie buffet and complimentary buffet breakfast. They also offered a complimentary happy hour which we missed both nights because of scheduling. Room was large and comfy, Tub was big enough for two. Loved the infused water offered daily in the lobby. And the French café downstairs. If I have anything negative to say it would be the cost of the parking at the Hotel. But, we found cheaper 24hr parking around the block. The only negative is not about the Hotel but the area. There is absolutely nothing to do there. It is in the Financial District so not much in the way of sightseeing, restaurants or things to do especially for a family. But LOVED the Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karinab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Houston, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
As long as the family loved it! Thank you for staying, and thank you for reviewing. Your comments in regards to location and attractions have been noted, as well as all of the perks you found. We're proud to be the place to stay in Houston, and we hope to do it again soon -

Best,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

I travel a lot and the Magnolia is one of the best hotels I have stayed at. First class all the way. Will not stay anywhere else when I travel to Houston. From the complimentary happy hour, to the evening milk and cookies, and then an amazing breakfast buffet, you can't ask for a better experience. The pool/hot tub on the roof level over looking the city of Houston is beautiful at night. It's only a few blocks away from Minute Maid Park. Close to great area dining and family friendly activities, you can't go wrong by staying at the Magnolia!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GiocosaGlenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Houston, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you so much for the review - and thanks for staying with us.

We're glad you dug our vibe, location, pool area - we hope to have you back again soon -

Best,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lufkin, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Excellent service, wonderful accommodations and delicious breakfast food. My husband and I will return. We attended a nieces wedding and reception held at the hotel. It was very nice. Food for the wedding....was okay. Hotel is a lovely place close the Christ Cathedral where we attend church service the next day!

Room Tip: We were on the 16th floor, not a good view. Ask for king with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Houston, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for reviewing! We're so glad to host these wonderful occasions and we're very happy you and the husband will be coming back.

We look forward to your next stay -

Cheers,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marble Falls, TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Comfortable, spacious rooms. Great place to stay downtown and within walking distance to many venues. Great shuttle service. Clean for the most part. Milk and cookie bar was nice each evening. Convenient garage parking nearby.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Silver_Knight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Houston, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Nice and succinct! We're glad you were happy with the location and services - we hope to have a repeat performance soon - thanks for staying and for reviewing -

Best,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection
Downtown
The Lancaster
The Lancaster
#1 of 501 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#4 of 501 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Hotel ZaZa Houston
#5 of 501 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel Houston

Property: Magnolia Hotel Houston
Address: 1100 Texas St, Houston, TX 77002-3114
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#13 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#13 Family Hotel in Houston
#16 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Magnolia Hotel Houston 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel in downtown Houston, Texas offers accommodations for leisure travel and extended stay guests, as well as space for meetings, wedding receptions, conferences, and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and TravelUp so you can book your Magnolia Hotel Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Houston Magnolia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing