We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stroll through Houston's past” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Heritage Society

The Heritage Society
Book In Advance
More Info
US$97.17*
and up
NASA Space Center and Houston Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #65 of 283 things to do in Houston
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Welcome to The Heritage Society where our collections of historic buildings and artifacts tell the fascinating stories of the people, opportunities, and events that came together to build the nation's fourth largest city - Houston, Texas. Tour authentically restored buildings that span the city's history from before statehood to the oil boom of the early 20th century. See furnishings that reflect the lifestyles and cultural influences of Houston's earliest residents. Enjoy fun, family-friendly activities for learning about the growth and development of the city. Hear experts tell the stories of the people who came to Houston seeking new opportunities. Experience Houston's history through exhibitions about the city's diverse population. Celebrate Houston here! Admission to The Heritage Society Museum is free. Guided tours are $15 for adults, $12 for seniors, $6 for students and children 5 yr. and under are free.
Texas
Level Contributor
82 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely stroll through Houston's past”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

These buildings were salvaged or donated and lovingly restored and maintained. They reflect different periods in Texas (and Houston's) history from the log cabin up until about the turn of the century. The docents also host a Christmas tour of these historic homes on certain December evenings, with them lit by candelight. A wonderful walk through history! Take the tour and visit the museum.

Helpful?
2 Thank Melusine13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    8
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
109 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Friendly Volunteers and a Nice small museum”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

Nickolodeon and old fashioned store museum. We had visited the Houston Visitors Center and the Museum was nearby, so we stopped briefly. Parked behind the City Hall Annex for a very reasonable fee. We did not tour the homes, which charged a fee. Time spent abou an hour.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank NHwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
88 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Cool Downtown Attraction”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

They have these old houses that were saved from the wrecking ball in a park in downtown. They used to have Christmas time tours of the houses but they didn't have one this year. There is a gazebo in the center of the park and really great views of downtown. The main building has a museum with exhibits of yesteryear Houston. I recommend that you call ahead for info about tours. If you have kids, they would be bored to tears. If you want to treat your grandmother or elderly aunt to a nostalgia trip, they would enjoy it.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank HungryDave1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
132 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“More and Less than expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

We started at the visitors center where we expected to find something about the history of the city of Houston. We found not much about the city, but instead saw a very entertaining recreated general store and a few interesting displays of hats. Not what we expected, but enjoyable nonetheless. We did not have time to wait for the guided walking tour (small fee), so we explored on our own, peeking though the windows of the historic homes that are in the park area. That was fun, but still did not give us much in the way of Houston heritage. If you are in Houston with a couple hours to fill, this is worth the stop, but we wished there was more about Houston's heritage.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie32159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Hidden Gems Amongst the Sky Scrapers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2009

As visitors from the UK, we really enjoyed the opportunity to see some "historic" houses in Houston.

Although you can look at the outside of the houses and peek through the windows for free, we went to the visitors' centre, where you can sign up for a tour. It looked as though we 3 would be the only ones taking a tour, and we were given the chance to pick the 4 houses to be toured. Our guide was kind enough to add in the church as an extra, since we expressed interest in it.

Our guide was very young and extremely knowledgeable. It was a hot and humid day, and she took us along at a gentle pace with lots of time to look at the houses and ask questions.

I would recommend this museum and especially the tour to anyone.

Helpful?
6 Thank UKFlame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Heritage Society also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Heritage Society? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing