We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent piece of history you don't want to miss” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holocaust Museum Houston

Holocaust Museum Houston
Ranked #11 of 277 things to do in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Holocaust Museum Houston educates visitors about prejudice and tolerance. You can see archival film, a Danish rescue boat and a World War II railcar used to transport victims to concentration camps.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
89 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent piece of history you don't want to miss”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

This is a place you need to go to know from first hand this tragic part of history and maybe guided for one survivor of holocaust . They always have somebody to tell you the story behind any exhibit, and they tell the story with passion and the guides are very knowledgable about the history before and after the holocaust. Your will have the opportunity to see the place where the nazis transport people by train and also a see a boat where people try to fled.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sjveles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    443
    154
    36
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
“First class!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

A museum of the highest caliber. Very moving and touching. A must see if you are in the Museum District.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank passtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornville, Ohio
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A Peaceful Walk Through a Horrible Time in History”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

A very well thought out presentation of the atrocities of the Holocaust. It is worth your time and money if you are in the greater Houston area.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Queeniedsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomball, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Must Visit For A Part Of History We Must Never Forget”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Have visited the museum on two occasions, once by myself and once with my son. We were in awe of it as you will be once you go. It is such an important piece of history that we should never forget and to pay homage to all of our Jewish brothers and sisters that was lost during this terrible time. My father was in WWII and help liberate some of the camps and to hear him talk about it brought tears to your eyes. Strongly suggest you mark yourself out for at least half a day to see it and take in all the museum has to offer. You will find yourself going back to the more memorable displays as I did as it seems each one holds a different significance. You will walk out a different person........Shalom.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Military felt appreciated”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

visited during Memorial Day Weekend. The military admission was $8 but it was waived. Also waived was my group's admission fee. It was very much appreciated. Museum was not as big as expected but it was clean and materials educational.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Holocaust Museum Houston also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Holocaust Museum Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing