We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst sleep in a long time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Houston - Memorial Park Area
Ranked #231 of 504 Hotels in Houston
koolchic_1
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worst sleep in a long time”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

After seeing the reviews from others, I made sure to get a room on the back side of the hotel. While I didn't hear the highway traffic, I had a bright light right outside my room which was annoying. Also, the air conditioner never turned off. To keep the room cool, you would hear the loud AC all night. If you turn it off, it's stuff and hot. The insulation between the rooms is non-existant as not only could I hear the people above me walking around, I could hear the people on one side of me every time they used the bathroom. The bed and pillows were horrible. I have a pain in my neck from trying to find a comfortable position with these pillows. I travel almost every week and I am used to sleeping on different styles of beds and pillows and can adjust very easily but not here. I was supposed to stay 2 nights but cut it short to one because of the horrible conditions with the bed, AC and noise.
The furniture was in good condition and the front desk woman was pleasant...the hotel stay was just not restful.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank koolchic_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Houston - Memorial Park Area, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
Dear koolchic_1,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our staff and furniture.

However, We’re sorry about the air conditioning and for the bed. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    31
    23
    7
    6
See reviews for
23
16
4
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013 via mobile

Other than the location, I had no problem with my stay at this hotel. Good price, breakfast was not bad, and the rooms were clean. Can't ask for much more than that. My parents enjoyed their stay here, as well.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thorspaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edgarcia79, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Houston - Memorial Park Area, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We are sorry that the location may have been either difficult to find or to get to. Although by the sounds you of it I'm glad that your stay was not all bad. I hope that if you ever in the area again that you will visit once again. We appreciate you staying with us and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

The hotel was good. It was clean and staff was friendly.

I was happy to see how brightly lit the parking lot was until I realized that placement and brightness of the lighting affected my sleep. The large amount of light seeping in around the curtains made it look that the sun had risen and negatively affected my sleep. I was on the 3rd floor, north side of the hallway, 3 or 4 rooms from the west end of the building. This made me downgrade from a 4 to a 3 in the rating.

Other people with my company who stayed there did not have this issue. It must have been the placement of my room.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kriv99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C_MaddenHouston, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Houston - Memorial Park Area, responded to this review, 3 February 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel and for taking the time to comment on your stay. Our rooms do have blackout shades which is usually enough to lower contain the light.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Del Rio, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

Centrally located and convenient location just off the Katy Freeway. Prices are reasonable considering the location. It is easy to get to local attractions. Memorial Park is a 10-15 minute walk, or a 5 minute drive, away, which is plus--a great place to go for a run.

Staff was very friendly and helpful. There is a LA Fitness across the street you can use for free as a hotel guest--a nice feature not advertised on the hotel website. The availability of guest washers and dryers on the 3rd and 5th floor is also a helpful convenience.

Negatives: not much in the way of dining options within walking distance, unless you like Jack in the Box. Even though my room was on the top floor of the hotel, I could hear freeway traffic throughout the night.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edgarcia79, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Houston - Memorial Park Area, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Being so close to Memorial Park is nice especially when the Festivals start in the summer.
We have lots of guest that enjoy the LA Fitness especially the great saunas they have.
Although we have sound proof windows and concrete all around. Being off of one of the most major freeways in Houston does sometimes provide an issue. We are lucky that within two to three blocks more restaurants have been built. We also have a few places that deliver as well. I hope that you stay again and give you a chance to explore the area more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

This Holiday Inn Express motel is on the Katy Freeway, near Houston's Texas-sized Memorial Park. We've stayed there twice, both in December, three years apart and it was a fine place to say both times. The location is excellent, out of the intensely crowded Galleria area but close enough to all the places you want to visit in Houston.
The hotel is superbly well maintained with the furniture and equipment showing no signs of wear after three years' use. Despite its proximity to the busy Katy Freeway, the rooms are amazingly quiet. The fitness center is small for a six-story hotel but the equipment is in excellent condition.
The only less than five-star feature was a relatively limited breakfast choice which was probably due to the Christmas holiday rush.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wolfg981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2012

The convenient location comes with a price - IH 10 (aka Katy Frwy) has traffic noise 24/7 so I highly recommend packing some earplugs. In addition, the walls (and floors) are not very sound proof, and they have some kind of power-assist toilet flush that is extremely loud - even through earplugs!

I was disappointed that during our entire 5-day stay over Thanksgiving weekend the pool was "out-of-service"; the adjacent workout work was stifling hot and unusable, and then the NBC Channel did not have sound ("a problem with their cable supplier"). It would be nice if they had the HGTV channel in addition (or instead of) the 4 ESPN and Speed channels. There is a strong room freshener smell in the 5th floor hall that could be a problem for those with respiratory ailments.

Most of the staff was friendly and the free breakfast was decent. We'll probably stay there again but next time I'll ask in advance about hotel amenity issues.

Room Tip: Take earplugs! Top floor may be a little less noisy - at least from above. If you use the (free) L...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lonestar610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edgarcia79, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Houston - Memorial Park Area, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
Thanks for your honest criticisms with out your point of view we can not make ourselves better.
We do admit for some of out guest the rooms facing the freeways can be noise. This is precisely why we added Kings to the rear of the building. We also provide some of our deluxe accommodations such as our two room suite that help most of our guest sleep like a baby.

I have to agree it was very disappointing to us as well as we struggled to get our pool up and running that weekend. Unfortunately Thanksgiving being such a big holiday causes a lot of breakdown in getting repairs done. Most people do not want to work the holiday.

We strive for a better hotel every day. We can not accomplish that with out you.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandeville, Louisiana, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

I felt very welcome at this hotel and the staff was very friendly. Lovette, the front desk clerk was especially helpful and made this stay worth writing a review about. The indoor pool was nice and warm and the bed comfortable. Not to mention, I ate a cinnamon roll every morning.

Room Tip: Request a room on the back side of the hotel to reduce any highway noise you may encounter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBLlabanane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edgarcia79, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Houston - Memorial Park Area, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
Thanks for the great compliments. I will make sure Lovette gets a chance to read your comments. I know the good comments will make her day. The Cinnamon rolls are so good any chance I get to stay at an express I grab me one too. We know you have many choice when staying in Houston hopefully you will stay with us next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Great Uptown
Crowne Plaza Houston Galleria Area
Great Uptown
Hampton Inn Houston - Near The Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Great Uptown
Extended Stay America - Houston - Galleria - Westheimer
Great Uptown
Drury Inn & Suites Houston Near The Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Houston - Memorial Park Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Houston - Memorial Park Area

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Houston - Memorial Park Area
Address: 7625 Katy Fwy, Houston, TX 77024-2000
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #231 of 504 Hotels in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Houston - Memorial Park Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refreshed and changing the look of our property for you. We are working hard and would love to have you stay with us. Welcome, we want our home to be yours. With free breakfast get your day started on the right foot. Enjoy our indoor pool without getting the sunburn or sand. Our staff is here to make your day incredible and if we are unable we will make it right. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Houston - Memorial Park Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Houston - Memorial Park Area Hotel Houston
Holiday Inn Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing