We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate downtown hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Houston Downtown/Convention Center
Ranked #121 of 517 Hotels in Houston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 30 November 2012

The hotel is just fine. An old building has been redone to accommodate a modern hotel. The rooms are fairly spacious with modern conveniences including a dorm-style refrigerator and free wi-fi. The lavatory is outside the room containing the tub/shower and commode. Therefore, noise and light can be problems for those sleeping while others are using the lavatory and hair dryer.

The public areas are spartan. The furniture is not particularly comfortable. There are limited breakfast and lunch selections, as well as room service. There is no bar. Platinum amenities of breakfast and afternoon snacks are not available.

My wife and daughter used the gym and found it to be more than adequate. They said the outdoor pool looked nice too.

Part of the problem with any hotel in downtown Houston is just that, downtown Houston. The place is dead. I can't believe that Houston is the fourth largest United States city. There are few shopping opportunities, few restaurants, few churches, and very few sights to see. Most of the town consists of office buildings. There is little motor or pedestrian traffic, even on Black Friday. An occasional vagrant asks for money. Taxis do not line up in front of hotels, even the Four Seasons. The bellman must phone for one.

So, if you find yourself staying in downtown Houston, the Courtyard will do. You will have most of the amenities that you expect. The place is clean, and the staff are friendly, although not terribly knowledgeable.

One might ask why we were in Houston. We went to the Bill O'Reilly Dennis Miller show at the Hobby Center. The lady at the desk had to check her resources before she could even point us in the direction of the Hobby Center.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 452CraigS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 326 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2012

The hotel I wanted to book for my entire stay in Houston was full some nights, so I spent my first night at this Courtyard by Marriott. It was easy to check in when I arrived after 9pm. The room was basic, what I expected. The ceiling was very high - that was unique. I could see the mall across the street from my window. Free in room wifi was nice! There was a Starbucks just outside the entrance. The conference provided shuttle service that stopped at the hotel, so I didn't have to walk in the morning. Overall, no issues with this visit - it was easy and predictable.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

I travel to a lot of Marriott properties around the country, mostly staying at Courtyards, and this one just isn't up to the standard that has been set by the brand around the country. The employees are incredibly friendly, the location is good for business meetings, but there isn't much to do nearby at night. So if you are visiting on a personal trip, you should look for another location in a different part of town. I am guessing that the hotel is going through the phased approach of updating the property, and they started with the lobby, but haven't made it to the rooms yet. Traveling there for business, I typically have a little lower standards, but if I went on a personal trip and paid $250+ per night, I would be very disappointed with the room condition. Until they update, I would say, choose somewhere else unless proximity to a particular business is important to you, as was the case for me.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Loved the hotel and the staff, we could not have asked for lovelier and helpful people. The hotel was kept up very well. Loved having the light rail right outside our door and for walking or relaxing the park was just a few blocks away. The restaurant in the lobby was just what we needed for a bite to eat. The rooms were so comfortable and clean!! Would we come back to this hotel again? You bet!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KDabs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Good location and friendly staff make this a good option. The downtown surrounding area was specific for work but otherwise it isn't the most pleasant place to pass the time between work. It was far from all the other areas that I wanted to visit.

Hotel itself is clean and was quiet so I got all the rest I needed. Don't take the breakfast included option since breakfast is really just a few hot and cold items that you can get much cheaper on the go.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nthirion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Hotel is conveniently located downtown. A 10 - 15 minute walk from the convention center. Near the hotel was shopping and a number of restaurants to choose from.

Check-in was fast and accurate. Courteous and helpful staff. The hotel is an old office building from the 20's so it does not have the same 'cookie cutter' lobby, hallways, and rooms that a traditional Courtyard has which was a nice change.

My room had a king-size bed (which was comfortable), couch, coffee table, business desk and desk chair. Bathroom contained tub/shower combo and toilet with sink/counter outside the bathroom itself. The room was clean and well-maintained. Plenty of convenient electronic outlets in the room for electronic gear. Wi-Fi was free, and fast, during my entire stay.

Room service is available if needed.

What I did not like was the parking (valet only) fee of $24 a night and the room-rate that I believe is a bit high -- even considering it was downtown.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rogerwny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

The staff at this hotel is wonderful! They are very helpful and willing to go above and beyond to make sure you are happy. They have a shuttle van that can take you to places you need to go downtown free of charge. The hotel has been decorated to fit the modern times and is well located downtown.

The rooms are a bit pricey for the size. No major issues, just mostly average hotel room. Fairly clean with a few small issues here and there. Parking is really expensive at the hotel but there are public lots close by that are much cheaper!

There is no breakfast but there is a small cafe on site. The cafe has a limited selection of the basics and is only open for a few hours in the morning and at night. The food is not bad though and they have a wide selection of beers.

The staff is what made my trip so enjoyable if it wasn't for them I probably wouldn't recommend at all.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thewiseone4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
SpringHill Suites Houston Downtown/Convention Center
Downtown
Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center
Downtown
Holiday Inn Houston Downtown
Holiday Inn Houston Downtown
#148 of 517 in Houston
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Aloft Houston Downtown
Aloft Houston Downtown
#188 of 517 in Houston
84 reviews
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Houston-Downtown Convention Center
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Houston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Houston Downtown/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Houston Downtown/Convention Center

Address: 916 Dallas St, Houston, TX 77002-6320 (Formerly Courtyard Houston Downtown /Convention Center)
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Houston
#142 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range: £103 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Houston Downtown/Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old-style luxury and state-of-the-art technology converge at the recently-updated Courtyard Houston Downtown hotel just a 10-minute walk from the George R. Brown Convention Center. A true stand-out among downtown Houston hotels for our historical ambiance housed in the 1921 Humble Oil Building's neo-classical exterior with newly-renovated rooms equipped with modern amenities. Guests enjoy in-room perks such as free WiFi and HDTVs. The gem of our historic building is our renovated Presidential Suite. Originally the office to the Humble Oil CEO, we've updated this stunning suite with stylish furnishings while keeping the original marble fireplace. The highlight of our lobby experience is The Bistro. Eat. Drink. Connect., Which offers guests food and beverage selections in the morning and new dinner service. Our downtown Houston hotel is within walking distance or a free shuttle ride to Minute Maid Park, Convention Center and Toyota Center. A short ride on the Metro Light Rail takes you to NRG Park and the Museum District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Houston Downtown/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Houston Downtown Hotel Houston
Courtyard Houston Downtown
Houston Courtyard
Houston Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing