We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Courtyard Houston Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Alessandra(Houston)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (332)
Filter reviews
332 results
Traveller rating
95
124
76
24
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
95
124
76
24
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstypical courtyardcourtyard marriotthouse of bluesfront deskvalet parkinglight railoffice buildingtoyota centerhouston downtownwithin blocksmetro railmain stnice hotelbars and restaurantsbaseball gameminute maid parkrooftop pool
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
210 - 215 of 332 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Was recently here for 3 nights for a convention. The location is perfect relation to the convention center, only a short walk down the street. There is a forever 21 located right next door and several really great restaurants near by including The House of Blues. The staff at this place is amazing! Everyone was extremely nice and friendly. The staff really made this place 4 stars instead of 3. The cons is the room. Very small, dreary and lack luster. The bathroom is in desperate need of an upgrade. The tub and shower is very shallow and not up to par with other marriotts. There are no functioning windows either. However we were in the room much so it was not too much of an issue. This is a great place to stay if your here for something at the convention center but do not expect a luxurious room.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsRobinson915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, General Manager at Courtyard Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel! It was great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us while you were in town for a convention at the Convention center!

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit!

Ryan Frederick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We were in town for the marathon, and this was the best priced hotel in the downtown. Still pricy, but the best in downtown. The location was perfect. We were able to walk to the race start/finish area, expo, and all of the bars and restaurants. The lobby, elevators, and common areas had a wonderful smell. I'm not sure if it was the cleaning products or if they were pumping it out through the vents, but it was great. We bought coffee at the café in the hotel, but that was all, but the coffee was excellent. Price to park is expensive per day, but there are a few other parking garages nearby that are more reasonable. Street and lot parking isn't for overnight. The hotel is also located right near the metro rail, which might be convenient for travel. The rooms were clean, but the bed was really soft. We had a hard time sleeping, but we typically sleep on a firmer bed. Staff was friendly and helpful. Check your bill before you leave. I was charged for valet parking, which was refunded, but annoying to be charged incorrectly in the first place. The pool is outdoor, but open in the 50 degree weather.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wirfelch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, General Manager at Courtyard Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel!

It was great to hear you say you enjoyed our clean, friendly and convenient hotel for the Houston Marathon!

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit!

Ryan Frederick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Nice hotel for business travelers - small Gym, heated swimming pool and self laundry services, but no restaurant. The coffee shop near the reception is small and doesn't serve breakfast - this was one of the biggest drawback, the hotel should consider providing breakfast services. There was a bit of mix up of laundry but eventually sorted, ususally not expected from a hotel of this category. Not a bad experience overall, but surely not value for money compared to other hotels in the vicinity.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on 3rd Floor near the Gym & Pool, if interested..
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akdudeja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, General Manager at Courtyard Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel!

I was thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We offer breakfast in our Lobby Bistro daily with a wide variety of options all made to order. I also wanted to let you know that by 2/1/14 we will have a newly expanded fitness center with a lot more equipment!

We truly appreciate your business and look forward to your next visit with us!

Ryan Frederick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

My family and I stayed here recently and overall were pleased with the stay. However, there was the inherent issue of parking where we had to pay $30/night on top of the rather high room rates. The other negative was the location. Immediately outside the hotel are all the street people that make you feel kind if uncomfortable when you venture out in the evening. But overall it wasn't too bad and I may stay here should I be in the area again.

Room Tip: Depending on how long you are staying, you may wish to secure a room close to the laundry and gym. Failing that, you will have quite the walk to arrive at your destination. The front desk staff were extremely helpful and always went out of their way to provide advice regarding attractions etc. So apart from the location, this was the typical classy Marriott hotel.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RandyR48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, General Manager at Courtyard Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel!

I was thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! You may already be aware but our valet prices are the lowest of the Downtown Hotels.

We truly appreciate your business and look forward to your next visit with us!

Ryan Frederick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The staff was wonderful. Above and beyond. Know when you stay here you are downtown, lots of homeless. Starbucks right next door. Wonderful bistro right in the lobby. The one drawback we had was having to pay $28.00 a night to park our car. But it was protected,

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Mjw1259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, General Manager at Courtyard Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel!

I was thrilled to hear you enjoyed our teams service and our location!

We truly value your business and look forward to your next visit!

Ryan Frederick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews