We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Courtyard Houston Downtown/Convention Center
Nearby Hotels
US$485
US$294
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$257
US$236
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$273
US$222
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks(Houston)(Great Value!)
US$303
US$247
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Club Quarters Hotel in Houston(Houston)(Great Value!)
US$294
US$279
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$290
US$226
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$389
US$364
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$267
US$210
TributePortfolio
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$542
US$385
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Houstonian(Houston)
US$480
US$451
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (332)
Filter reviews
332 results
Traveller rating
95
124
76
24
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
95
124
76
24
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstypical courtyardcourtyard marriotthouse of bluesfront deskvalet parkinglight railoffice buildingtoyota centerhouston downtownwithin blocksmetro railmain stnice hotelbars and restaurantsbaseball gameminute maid parkrooftop pool
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
208 - 213 of 332 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2014

First the good: nice sized room, clean, friendly staff at check-in and check-out;

Now the bad, but not the hotel's fault: if you are planning a stay here anytime in the near future, please be aware there is A LOT of construction in the area directly across and next to the hotel, with the resulting traffic backup and noise;

Finally, my only problem with the hotel had to do with the very poor quality and selection of the Market (snacks and sundries) and I was especially unhappy with the Bistro - again, poor selection and quality, a full bar was promoted and visible, but there was no bartender and no one was able to poor even the basic mixed drink, and the staff at the Bistro was totally disinterested in helping; the food was for the most part frozen and microwaved, many items on the menu not available. Disappointing.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keb248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, General Manager at Courtyard Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel! It was great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us!

I sincerley apologize for the Bistro experience. I can assure you this is not norml for us and I will be addressing with the team today.

We look forward to your next visit!

Ryan Frederick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

My wife and I were going to the Houston Rodeo cook off and decided to treat ourselves to a hotel downtown. We chose this hotel because of the location being close to a train stop. The rooms were great, clean as expected at a courtyard. We would stay here again. The only negative and I don't think there is anything that could have been done but the valet line was long took about 20 minutes to get the car up to the stand. I think the problem was everyone was coming back at the same time or checking in at the same time.
I would stay here again!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AGRandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, General Manager at Courtyard Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! I was thrilled to hear you enjoyed our clean and friendly hotel while you were in town for the Houston Rodeo!

We look forward to your next visit!

Ryan Frederick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Was recently here for 3 nights for a convention. The location is perfect relation to the convention center, only a short walk down the street. There is a forever 21 located right next door and several really great restaurants near by including The House of Blues. The staff at this place is amazing! Everyone was extremely nice and friendly. The staff really made this place 4 stars instead of 3. The cons is the room. Very small, dreary and lack luster. The bathroom is in desperate need of an upgrade. The tub and shower is very shallow and not up to par with other marriotts. There are no functioning windows either. However we were in the room much so it was not too much of an issue. This is a great place to stay if your here for something at the convention center but do not expect a luxurious room.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsRobinson915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, General Manager at Courtyard Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel! It was great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us while you were in town for a convention at the Convention center!

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit!

Ryan Frederick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We were in town for the marathon, and this was the best priced hotel in the downtown. Still pricy, but the best in downtown. The location was perfect. We were able to walk to the race start/finish area, expo, and all of the bars and restaurants. The lobby, elevators, and common areas had a wonderful smell. I'm not sure if it was the cleaning products or if they were pumping it out through the vents, but it was great. We bought coffee at the café in the hotel, but that was all, but the coffee was excellent. Price to park is expensive per day, but there are a few other parking garages nearby that are more reasonable. Street and lot parking isn't for overnight. The hotel is also located right near the metro rail, which might be convenient for travel. The rooms were clean, but the bed was really soft. We had a hard time sleeping, but we typically sleep on a firmer bed. Staff was friendly and helpful. Check your bill before you leave. I was charged for valet parking, which was refunded, but annoying to be charged incorrectly in the first place. The pool is outdoor, but open in the 50 degree weather.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wirfelch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, General Manager at Courtyard Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel!

It was great to hear you say you enjoyed our clean, friendly and convenient hotel for the Houston Marathon!

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit!

Ryan Frederick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Nice hotel for business travelers - small Gym, heated swimming pool and self laundry services, but no restaurant. The coffee shop near the reception is small and doesn't serve breakfast - this was one of the biggest drawback, the hotel should consider providing breakfast services. There was a bit of mix up of laundry but eventually sorted, ususally not expected from a hotel of this category. Not a bad experience overall, but surely not value for money compared to other hotels in the vicinity.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on 3rd Floor near the Gym & Pool, if interested..
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akdudeja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, General Manager at Courtyard Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel!

I was thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We offer breakfast in our Lobby Bistro daily with a wide variety of options all made to order. I also wanted to let you know that by 2/1/14 we will have a newly expanded fitness center with a lot more equipment!

We truly appreciate your business and look forward to your next visit with us!

Ryan Frederick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews