We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Here If You Don't Need Your Car!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Houston Downtown/Convention Center
Ranked #119 of 518 Hotels in Houston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I meet this review with mixed feelings. First, the hotel met my our family needs on a recent visit. It is conveniently located to the light rail system, the downtown tunnels, sporting venues and convention center. The staff was great and the rooms inviting. This building is the old Humble Building built in 1921. It was a nostalgic trip for my family as my father worked in the building in the 50's and 60's. Therefore, the emotional ties to this property maybe too positively slanted. We loved staying here and the opportunity to explore downtown Houston. But there is one glaring problem that the hotel needs to address--VALET PARKING! The charge is $30 a night (tax included). We had to wait multiple times for 30 minutes or more for them to bring our car and often times they came back saying they couldn't find the car. The valet service is contracted out and not run by Marriott, but it made our stay at the hotel stressful as we tried to get to our appointments on time. If you don't need a car, then I highly recommend a stay here (or the Residence Inn adjoining this property). Otherwise, the recommendation goes to 1 star because of the inability of controlling your transportation needs.

Room Tip: Ask for a city view. Inside rooms just face the interior facade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, General Manager at Courtyard Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! I was thriled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that your father used to work in the building when it was Humble Oil!

However, I sincerley apologize for long wait time with our valet. This is not normal and I have addressed the issues to ensure this is not an issue in the future.

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit!

Ryan Frederick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (324)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 324 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2014

This hotel is in a very good location just in downtown and not so far from the Convention Center, there are many restaurants around, the only down size is the fact that going to the mall if you don't have a car it is a bit far from there but it is ok you can take the bus.
But in general the hotel is very good, the staff is friendly, and it looks like the hotel has been renovated recently because it looks very new.
The price is ok for a hotel in downtown but not so cheap.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iram77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, General Manager at Courtyard Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel!

It was great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us!

We truly value your business and look forward to your next visit!

Ryan Frederick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

First the good: nice sized room, clean, friendly staff at check-in and check-out;

Now the bad, but not the hotel's fault: if you are planning a stay here anytime in the near future, please be aware there is A LOT of construction in the area directly across and next to the hotel, with the resulting traffic backup and noise;

Finally, my only problem with the hotel had to do with the very poor quality and selection of the Market (snacks and sundries) and I was especially unhappy with the Bistro - again, poor selection and quality, a full bar was promoted and visible, but there was no bartender and no one was able to poor even the basic mixed drink, and the staff at the Bistro was totally disinterested in helping; the food was for the most part frozen and microwaved, many items on the menu not available. Disappointing.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keb248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, General Manager at Courtyard Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel! It was great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us!

I sincerley apologize for the Bistro experience. I can assure you this is not norml for us and I will be addressing with the team today.

We look forward to your next visit!

Ryan Frederick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

My wife and I were going to the Houston Rodeo cook off and decided to treat ourselves to a hotel downtown. We chose this hotel because of the location being close to a train stop. The rooms were great, clean as expected at a courtyard. We would stay here again. The only negative and I don't think there is anything that could have been done but the valet line was long took about 20 minutes to get the car up to the stand. I think the problem was everyone was coming back at the same time or checking in at the same time.
I would stay here again!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AGRandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, General Manager at Courtyard Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! I was thrilled to hear you enjoyed our clean and friendly hotel while you were in town for the Houston Rodeo!

We look forward to your next visit!

Ryan Frederick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Was recently here for 3 nights for a convention. The location is perfect relation to the convention center, only a short walk down the street. There is a forever 21 located right next door and several really great restaurants near by including The House of Blues. The staff at this place is amazing! Everyone was extremely nice and friendly. The staff really made this place 4 stars instead of 3. The cons is the room. Very small, dreary and lack luster. The bathroom is in desperate need of an upgrade. The tub and shower is very shallow and not up to par with other marriotts. There are no functioning windows either. However we were in the room much so it was not too much of an issue. This is a great place to stay if your here for something at the convention center but do not expect a luxurious room.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsRobinson915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, General Manager at Courtyard Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel! It was great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us while you were in town for a convention at the Convention center!

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit!

Ryan Frederick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We were in town for the marathon, and this was the best priced hotel in the downtown. Still pricy, but the best in downtown. The location was perfect. We were able to walk to the race start/finish area, expo, and all of the bars and restaurants. The lobby, elevators, and common areas had a wonderful smell. I'm not sure if it was the cleaning products or if they were pumping it out through the vents, but it was great. We bought coffee at the café in the hotel, but that was all, but the coffee was excellent. Price to park is expensive per day, but there are a few other parking garages nearby that are more reasonable. Street and lot parking isn't for overnight. The hotel is also located right near the metro rail, which might be convenient for travel. The rooms were clean, but the bed was really soft. We had a hard time sleeping, but we typically sleep on a firmer bed. Staff was friendly and helpful. Check your bill before you leave. I was charged for valet parking, which was refunded, but annoying to be charged incorrectly in the first place. The pool is outdoor, but open in the 50 degree weather.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wirfelch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, General Manager at Courtyard Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel!

It was great to hear you say you enjoyed our clean, friendly and convenient hotel for the Houston Marathon!

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit!

Ryan Frederick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Nice hotel for business travelers - small Gym, heated swimming pool and self laundry services, but no restaurant. The coffee shop near the reception is small and doesn't serve breakfast - this was one of the biggest drawback, the hotel should consider providing breakfast services. There was a bit of mix up of laundry but eventually sorted, ususally not expected from a hotel of this category. Not a bad experience overall, but surely not value for money compared to other hotels in the vicinity.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on 3rd Floor near the Gym & Pool, if interested..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akdudeja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, General Manager at Courtyard Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel!

I was thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We offer breakfast in our Lobby Bistro daily with a wide variety of options all made to order. I also wanted to let you know that by 2/1/14 we will have a newly expanded fitness center with a lot more equipment!

We truly appreciate your business and look forward to your next visit with us!

Ryan Frederick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
SpringHill Suites Houston Downtown/Convention Center
Downtown
Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center
Downtown
Holiday Inn Houston Downtown
Holiday Inn Houston Downtown
#140 of 518 in Houston
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Aloft Houston Downtown
Aloft Houston Downtown
#195 of 518 in Houston
81 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn Houston Downtown
Downtown
Club Quarters Hotel in Houston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Houston Downtown/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Houston Downtown/Convention Center

Address: 916 Dallas St, Houston, TX 77002-6320 (Formerly Courtyard Houston Downtown /Convention Center)
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Houston
#142 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range: £91 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Houston Downtown/Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old-style luxury and state-of-the-art technology converge at the recently-updated Courtyard Houston Downtown hotel just a 10-minute walk from the George R. Brown Convention Center. A true stand-out among downtown Houston hotels for our historical ambiance housed in the 1921 Humble Oil Building's neo-classical exterior with newly-renovated rooms equipped with modern amenities. Guests enjoy in-room perks such as free WiFi and HDTVs. The gem of our historic building is our renovated Presidential Suite. Originally the office to the Humble Oil CEO, we've updated this stunning suite with stylish furnishings while keeping the original marble fireplace. The highlight of our lobby experience is The Bistro. Eat. Drink. Connect., Which offers guests food and beverage selections in the morning and new dinner service. Our downtown Houston hotel is within walking distance or a free shuttle ride to Minute Maid Park, Convention Center and Toyota Center. A short ride on the Metro Light Rail takes you to NRG Park and the Museum District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Houston Downtown/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Houston Downtown Hotel Houston
Courtyard Houston Downtown
Houston Marriott
Houston Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing